Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re:
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:27 am 
Star Player
Star Player

Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2002 12:24 pm
Posts: 575
Location: Brussels, Belgium...left of the middle
Shteve0 wrote:
Tom - that still feels very situational, and there may equally well be times where you don't want the turnover (so the 2+,2+ would be favourable over a 3+ in that only 5 results in 36 cause a turnover without a reroll). There's not enough of a benefit over comparable skills, for me, to see it as a good pick or even synergistic... Id personally rather take Pro for the animosity player instead, and leader on a marauder. Just my two cents :)


Keep those ideas coming, I'm playing pact in my next league ;)

_________________
Image
Fighting signature size creep ;)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:27 pm 
Experienced
Experienced

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 12:03 am
Posts: 118
Shteve0 wrote:
Tom - that still feels very situational, and there may equally well be times where you don't want the turnover (so the 2+,2+ would be favourable over a 3+ in that only 5 results in 36 cause a turnover without a reroll). There's not enough of a benefit over comparable skills, for me, to see it as a good pick or even synergistic... Id personally rather take Pro for the animosity player instead, and leader on a marauder. Just my two cents :)


If the comparison is between a receiver with Extra Arms vs Diving Catch, then it should be 2+/2+ versus 4+, since the empty-square Diving Catch attempt is not considered accurate. The DC work-around is really only useful to AG5 (or AG4+XArms) receivers. But then if you've got a +AG Marauder, you're using him to pass in the first place, since he's got P and no Animosity...

Hilarious that Chaos Marauders are more open-minded than Dark Elves and Skaven. :)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re:
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:29 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 7:19 am
Posts: 19
fidius wrote:
since the empty-square Diving Catch attempt is not considered accurate.


Why not?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re:
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:38 pm 
Emerging Star
Emerging Star
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:24 pm
Posts: 396
kk wrote:
fidius wrote:
since the empty-square Diving Catch attempt is not considered accurate.


Why not?


Because diving catch says: " The player may add 1 to any catch roll from an accurate pass targeted to his square."


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re:
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:49 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 7:19 am
Posts: 19
Rolex wrote:
kk wrote:
fidius wrote:
since the empty-square Diving Catch attempt is not considered accurate.


Why not?


Because diving catch says: " The player may add 1 to any catch roll from an accurate pass targeted to his square."


Says also: "...can attempt to catch any pass .. that would land in an empty square in one of his tackle zones as if it has landed in his own square...".

So if the pass was targeted at the empty square you should get the +1 bonus to catch for accurate pass, but not the additional +1 bonus for Diving Catch. AG3 player would catch the ball on 3+ then right?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re:
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 12:30 am 
Experienced
Experienced
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:23 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Hatching a dastardly plan, like a bird with a dastardly egg.
kk wrote:
Says also: "...can attempt to catch any pass .. that would land in an empty square in one of his tackle zones as if it has landed in his own square...".

So if the pass was targeted at the empty square you should get the +1 bonus to catch for accurate pass, but not the additional +1 bonus for Diving Catch. AG3 player would catch the ball on 3+ then right?


That's right. That's how I read it.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 1:03 am 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23579
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
kk is correct. If the pass to the empty square is accurate the DC player will catch with the +1 bonus.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Sat May 21, 2016 9:45 pm 
Rookie
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 12:51 pm
Posts: 41
How can you determinate race of a star player ? (Do goblin can pass to Boomer Morvonez without roll animosity ?)

Do you think goblin and troll or orque are of the same race? (Do goblin can pass to Troll without roll animosity ? Do goblin can pass to Ugroth Tranchegrots without roll animosity ?)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Sun May 22, 2016 2:45 am 
Veteran
Veteran

Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 1:52 am
Posts: 186
Star players technically have no race. Animosity applies to all of them.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:11 pm 
Legend
Legend

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 9:53 am
Posts: 2457
Location: Deciding whether or not to redo the 24...
Shteve0 wrote:
Tom - that still feels very situational, and there may equally well be times where you don't want the turnover (so the 2+,2+ would be favourable over a 3+ in that only 5 results in 36 cause a turnover without a reroll). There's not enough of a benefit over comparable skills, for me, to see it as a good pick or even synergistic... Id personally rather take Pro for the animosity player instead, and leader on a marauder. Just my two cents :)


Are you qualified to use big words like that Steve? :wink:

_________________
I'm not buying anything from GW. Ever.
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: