Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Blitzing and Bloodlust
 Post Posted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 6:35 pm 
Power Gamer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 4:08 pm
Posts: 9229
Location: ECBBL, London, England
Just to clarify, a Vampire who fails Bloodlust on a Blitz action eats a thrall after making the block part of his action, and indeed after he continues moving if needs be. Correct? The second part of the skill description I have highlighted red might vaguely imply not. But I have always played it as I described. FYI a search revealed no help on this specific topic.

Quote:
Blood Lust (Extraordinary)
Vampires must occasionally feed on the blood of the livi ng. Immediately
after declaring an Action with a Vampire, roll a d6: On a 2+ the Vampire
can carry out the Action as normal. On a 1, however, the Vampire must
feed on a Thrall team-mate or a spectator. The Vampire may continue
with his declared Action or if he had declared a Block Action, he may
take a Move Action instead. Either way, at the end of the declared
Action
, but before actually passing, handing off, or scoring, the vampire
must feed. If he is standing adjacent to one or more Thrall team-mates
(standing, prone or stunned), then choose one to bite and make an Injury
roll on the Thrall treating any casualty roll as Badly Hurt. The injury will
not cause a turnover unless the Thrall was holding the ball. Once the
Vampire has bitten a Thrall he may complete his Action.
Failure to bite a
Thrall is a turnover and requires you to feed on a spectator – move the
Vampire to the reserves box if he was still on the pitch. If he was holding
the ball, it bounces from the square he occupied when he was removed
and he will not score a touchdown if he was in the opposing end zone.

_________________
*This post may have been made without the use of a hat.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Blitzing and Bloodlust
 Post Posted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:17 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2067
Location: Pasadena California
he must feed FIRST if he is ready to pass, handoff, or score. The rest he does after

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Blitzing and Bloodlust
 Post Posted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 8:19 pm 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15844
Location: Indiana, USA
daloonieshaman wrote:
he must feed FIRST if he is ready to pass, handoff, or score. The rest he does after


This is correct ... let me phrase it another way.

A vampires who has failed a Blood Lust roll must to everything he wants to do first OTHER THAN pass, handoff or score ... those 3 items he may do only after he has successfully drank. The act of biting ends his action other than for the final acts of throwing the ball, handing off the ball or scoring a TD.

Tom

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Blitzing and Bloodlust
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:11 pm 
Emerging Star
Emerging Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 4:29 pm
Posts: 375
Location: Your endzone
Just to get things straight...

When the vampire declare, for instance, a pass and fails his bloodlust roll:
- the vampire can move to stand next to a Thrall
- bite the thrall
- continue moving to get in position for the pass
- perform the pass

Is this correct?

Now, also back to a blitz action. When you declare a blitz action and the vampire fails his bloodlust roll, is he still allowed to blitz?
The reason I ask is because 'blitzing' is not specifically mentioned in the available actions (passing, handing-off, scoring) after having a drink. And since you can blitz and do a pass in the same turn, this leave me a bit confused about the blitz action. Also, it clearly says that he can convert his block action to a move action (but not a blitz).

I agree with Joemanji that - reading between the lines - the rules imply that he cannot blitz.

_________________
Nuffle Sucks !!!
Certified Ghoul Killer

T.A.N.A.H.E.R
2007 Flanders Chainsaw Massacre - 2nd place
2006 Flemish Foulfest - 4th place & Most Touchdowns Award


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Blitzing and Bloodlust
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:29 pm 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23526
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Nighthawk wrote:
Is this correct?

You bite at the END of the action, but before throwing the ball. If you bite then move, it wasn't the end.

Quote:
And since you can blitz and do a pass in the same turn,

Not with the same player.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Blitzing and Bloodlust
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 8:10 pm 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15844
Location: Indiana, USA
He can blitz ... he moves ... throws the block and then after the block is resolved ... he bites.

That is how it is described in the skill.

Tom

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Blitzing and Bloodlust
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:11 pm 
Emerging Star
Emerging Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 4:29 pm
Posts: 375
Location: Your endzone
Darkson wrote:
Nighthawk wrote:
And since you can blitz and do a pass in the same turn,

Not with the same player.


Uh... that "can" should have been "can't", typo.

All clear now... thx Darkson & Tom

_________________
Nuffle Sucks !!!
Certified Ghoul Killer

T.A.N.A.H.E.R
2007 Flanders Chainsaw Massacre - 2nd place
2006 Flemish Foulfest - 4th place & Most Touchdowns Award


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Blitzing and Bloodlust
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 10:55 am 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:07 pm
Posts: 271
GalakStarscraper wrote:
He can blitz ... he moves ... throws the block and then after the block is resolved ... he bites.


But if the vampire has movement left after the blitz? I have always played according to a) below but is that right? Some off your answers can be read as b) or c) is the correct way, but it might be a "lost in translation" moment for me.

a)
1. he/she move -
2. block(blitz) -
3. may continue moving -
4. bite thrall, end action

b)
1. he/she move -
2. block(blitz) -
3. bite thrall -
4. may continue moving, end action

c)
1. he/she move -
2. block(blitz) -
3. bite thrall, end action
4. may not move even if the vampire has movment left.

_________________
Image

EUROBOWL 2016 and EUROOPEN 22-23 October in Örebro, Sweden.

My guide to non-GW teams on SweBBA


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Blitzing and Bloodlust
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:39 am 
Super Star
Super Star
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:27 am
Posts: 797
Location: Glasgow
Lard wrote:
a)
1. he/she move -
2. block(blitz) -
3. may continue moving -
4. bite thrall, end action.


Option a) is correct, although if I was being pedantic I'd re-write line 4 as 'end action, bite thrall'.
The bite takes place after the action is complete (with the exception of pass, handoff and scoring). Moving after the block is still part of the blitz action, so you can do that before the bite.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: