Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 4:03 am 
Super Star
Super Star

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:21 pm
Posts: 930
Frenzysomething.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 4:23 am 
Legend
Legend

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 9:53 am
Posts: 2465
Location: Deciding whether or not to redo the 24...
Cat, meet pigeons.

Hypothetically, are you allowed to have frenzy and multiple block and stab on the same character?

If so, could the player declare a block, choose the push die, then follow up (frenzied, remember), THEN choose to stab instead of the second frenzy block action?

_________________
I'm not buying anything from GW. Ever.
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 6:19 am 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2074
Location: Pasadena California
you can
they will not all work together
I would have to get out the book to look at the matchups

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 10:07 am 
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 11:10 am
Posts: 1718
Location: Bristol, UK
CRP Multiple Block Description: ...The player cannot follow up either block when using this skill, so Multiple Block can be used instead of Frenzy, but both skills cannot be used together...

IIRC, the only player who could get Stab and Frenzy (without cards being involved) is the DE Assassin and the rules don't forbid it (unlike Chainsaw which expresssly says it cannot be used with Frenzy/Multiple Block). However putting Frenzy on the Assassin so you can get an extra block before stabbing does not sound to me to be 'playing the percentages'.

_________________
Time flies like an arrow, Fruit flies like a banana.
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 1:09 pm 
Legend
Legend

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 9:53 am
Posts: 2465
Location: Deciding whether or not to redo the 24...
Ah, my bad for typing wrongly.

I meant to ask:
Player with all three skills blocks am opponent (with ST assist), chooses push result, follows up because he is frenzied, then finds himself next to two opponents and chooses to multi block stab both of them.

Possible or not?

I guess it boils down to whether or not a frenzied assassin HAS to choose to throw the second block and not stab.....

_________________
I'm not buying anything from GW. Ever.
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 1:45 pm 
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 11:10 am
Posts: 1718
Location: Bristol, UK
I think the rules text is pretty clear Multiple Block can be used instead of Frenzy, but both skills cannot be used together

Furthermore, as I understand it you have to choose Multiple Block at the start of the action so once you get to that second block you cannot choose to then use Multiple Block.

Edit: Following up the other half of the question; I don't think there is anything to stop a Frenzied Assassin throwing a normal block and then stabbing but he must follow the other requirements in the skills text, must be against same opponant as first (normal) block, if it is a blitz he cannot then more further.

_________________
Time flies like an arrow, Fruit flies like a banana.
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 8:46 pm 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15848
Location: Indiana, USA
You cannot block with Frenzy, follow-up and then use Multiple Block to stab twice. The rule do not allow you to use both skills (Frenzy and Multiple Block) on the same turn.

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 9:20 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:46 pm
Posts: 26
Not to mention, from Multiple Block: "at the start of a Block Action a player who is adjacent to at least two opponents may choose..." (emphasis mine)
If a player frenzies into another player due to blocking him and then following up, he is no longer at the start of his block action. You would have to declare this at the start of your action, and once declared, the skill also reads "The player can not follow up either block when using this skill." Thus, not only is it simply disallowed by another sentence of the Multiple Block skill, but the mechanics don't allow it either.

Also, from Frenzy: "...the player must immediately throw a second block against the same opponent so long as they are both still standing and adjacent." (emphasis CRP's) meaning that you couldn't block (or stab) a different opponent.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Fri May 10, 2013 1:05 am 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2074
Location: Pasadena California
2 angeles
Stab part of a blitz action cannot move further
so
if you Block - Frenzy stab are you forced to stop or do you make the second block
and
if you Frenzy Block can you change back and forth between stab and Block (stab first Block second - Block first stab second)

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Fri May 10, 2013 1:34 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:46 pm
Posts: 26
If you Block - Frenzy stab you won't be able to throw the second block at all, based on the following wording from frenzy: "If a 'Pushed' or 'Defender Stumbles' result was chosen, the player must immediately throw a second block against the same opponent so long as they are both still standing and adjacent." If you stab first, you will not get a pushed/defender stumbles result and you will lose your second block.

As for the second question, the first part is identical to the above situation, and accordingly the response applies. I honestly don't see anything that prevents you from blocking first, getting a push, then taking a stab on the second block. Frenzy gives you a second free block, and stab can replace a block with a stab. Stab doesn't reference a Block action, just a block, which is all frenzy gives you.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: