Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:51 pm 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23526
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
No, £35 is correct. It's not Finecast yet.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 6:10 pm 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:10 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Can someone direct me to the listing in the faq where it states you cannot multiple block and stab on a blitz? I just want to have it handy cause I had a query from my dark elf coach.

Thanks,
Michael

_________________
If you could be anyone would you be yourself? ~ yup it's mine!

Michael aka Da Big Green 'Un (commissioner Regina Flatland BB League - RFBBL)
http://www.reginaflatland.bloodbowlleague.com


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 6:29 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:59 pm
Posts: 5824
Location: The Fast Lane
celticgriffon wrote:
Can someone direct me to the listing in the faq where it states you cannot multiple block and stab on a blitz? I just want to have it handy cause I had a query from my dark elf coach.

Thanks,
Michael

Not being able to use Multiple Block it's part of the different action rules: Multiple Block can only be used as part of a Block Action, which is different from a Blitz Action.

The FAQ does confirm you can use Stab as part of a Multiple Block, page 77, 7th Q.

_________________
Image

The Exiles Blood Bowl League and Tournaments use the Icepelt rulebook, for complete BB rules and fluff. Download here.
SW England Regional Co-ordinator for the NAF lunchmoney@thenaf.net
@Lunchmoney_Al for me @ExilesBBLeague for #TeamExiles news


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 6:50 pm 
Ex-Cyanide/Focus toadie

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:55 pm
Posts: 2430
Location: Near Reading, UK
LRB6 page 66 Multiple Block skill description wrote:
Multiple Block (Strength)
At the start of a Block Action a player who is adjacent to at least two
opponents may choose to...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 8:22 pm 
Veteran
Veteran

Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:15 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Oklahoma City, OK USA
A Blitz Action is a block Action with Movement.

CRP pg9 wrote:
You may not make a block against a standing player - you may not block a player who has already been Knocked down... A blitz allows the player to move and make a block. the block may be made at any point during a move, but costs...


Blitz = Block + Movement.

_________________
"Never trust the Manlings."
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 8:39 pm 
Ex-Cyanide/Focus toadie

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:55 pm
Posts: 2430
Location: Near Reading, UK
Sorry to be contrary here W_H, but I find "A Blitz Action is a block Action with Movement" to be a confusing statement. If forced to precis I prefer to say:
  • A Block Action allows you to make a block.
  • A Blitz Action allows you to move and make a block at a cost of one square of movement.
There is a difference between an act (blocking, moving, passing, fouling etc) and an Action (Block, Blitz, Move, Pass, Foul etc).


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 8:40 pm 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23526
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Winged_Human wrote:
A Blitz Action is a block Action with Movement.

Wrong - a Blitz Action is a block with movement.
A Block Action is a block with no movement (apart from follow up).

A Block Action is not part of a Blitz Action.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 8:57 pm 
Veteran
Veteran

Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:15 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Oklahoma City, OK USA
The problem with specifying that the "Actions" are separate, is just that. The CRP doesn't state that the two are separate in any way, except for the fact that A blitz can include movement, and a block cannot.

Aside from that, and the fact that each coach can only perform one blitz per turn, and they're the exact same thing.

If you can find somewhere in the CRP/FaQ that states Multi-block cannot be used during a blitz, therefore not allowing the Stab/Multiplock, then I'll rescind my point.

_________________
"Never trust the Manlings."
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 9:10 pm 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23526
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Compare:
Quote:
Multiple Block (Strength)
At the start of a Block Action a player who is adjacent to at least two
opponents may choose to throw blocks against two of them.

with (for example):
Quote:
Nurgle's Rot (Extraordinary)
This player has a horrible infectious disease which spreads when he kills
an opponent during a Block, Blitz or Foul Action.


Also note the italics and capitals - these were deliberately put in by the BBRC to differentiate between the block (the process of rolling block dice etc) and the Block Action, the declaration.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 9:14 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:59 pm
Posts: 5824
Location: The Fast Lane
Winged_Human wrote:
If you can find somewhere in the CRP/FaQ that states Multi-block cannot be used during a blitz, therefore not allowing the Stab/Multiplock, then I'll rescind my point.

List of actions on page 7 defines difference between a Block and a Blitz action.
Multiple Block on page 66 states the skill may be used only on a Block action.

_________________
Image

The Exiles Blood Bowl League and Tournaments use the Icepelt rulebook, for complete BB rules and fluff. Download here.
SW England Regional Co-ordinator for the NAF lunchmoney@thenaf.net
@Lunchmoney_Al for me @ExilesBBLeague for #TeamExiles news


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 9:17 pm 
Veteran
Veteran

Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:15 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Oklahoma City, OK USA
Point taken... and now I agree that Stab/Multi-block shouldn't work on a blitz.

_________________
"Never trust the Manlings."
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 9:27 pm 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:10 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Hey everyone,

So to clarify if a player has STAB and MULTIPLE BLOCK you can:

1) Only use both on a Block (not a Blitz)
2) The strength modifier is ignored

Is this correct?

Cheers,
Michael

_________________
If you could be anyone would you be yourself? ~ yup it's mine!

Michael aka Da Big Green 'Un (commissioner Regina Flatland BB League - RFBBL)
http://www.reginaflatland.bloodbowlleague.com


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 11:05 pm 
Ex-Cyanide/Focus toadie

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:55 pm
Posts: 2430
Location: Near Reading, UK
1. Yes.
2. ST is irrelevant on a Stab, so yes. You only make an AV roll.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 12:33 am 
Super Star
Super Star

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:21 pm
Posts: 929
If there is ever a rules update, please make sure Actions and acts do not share words. ;) There is enough proof (over and over) pointing it only causes confusions, capital letter is not enough. :smoking:


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does stab and multiple block stack?
 Post Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 3:03 am 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2067
Location: Pasadena California
so...
How many Blocks can a block Block block, if a Block block can block Blocks?

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: