Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:47 am 
Super Star
Super Star

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 7:55 pm
Posts: 844
Following on from the tentacles/hypno gaze thread, it got me thinking about Take Root.

If you are caught by tentacles, you can't do anything, so if you wanted to blitz, you couldn't hit the tentacled player once you'd failed, or if you wanted to pass, you couldn't pass after you were held etc

But I think that if a tree Takes Root, then unless it was a blitz action (as it is specifically mentioned), then he can carry on with his turn, so could TTM (or hand off, or pass, or foul)?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 7:00 am 
Veteran
Veteran

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:58 am
Posts: 203
Location: Munich, Germany
... Or Block

So yes

_________________
"most often loser of the Dungeonbowl final"
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Sat May 31, 2014 9:34 pm 
Rookie
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 12:51 pm
Posts: 41
If my tree is rooted, can I use my Blitz in the next round to use Juggernaut ?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Sat May 31, 2014 10:16 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2067
Location: Pasadena California
hmmm
good question
he may not use the current turn's Blitz
and if you are rooted you do NOT roll take root (until you fall down)
you may block adjacent players

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 12:27 am 
Legend
Legend

Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 3:02 am
Posts: 3372
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
[Edit: My apologies. I appear to have mis-read the question, and also I make a persistent rules error in this thread. So please feel free to treat my following posts as for entertainment only... Some would say "what's new" :D .]

Aliboon wrote:
If you are caught by tentacles, you can't do anything, so if you wanted to blitz, you couldn't hit the tentacled player once you'd failed, or if you wanted to pass, you couldn't pass after you were held etc

Being in a Tentacled Tackle Zone doesn't prevent a player from doing anything, it just forces him to make an "escape" roll if he attempts to dodge or leap away. A player can take any action you wish while in a Tentacled TZ (Block, Blitz, Pass, Hand-Off, Foul etc.). He may Block or Blitz the Tentacled player, for example.

If a player loses his own Tackle Zone by being Hypno-Gazed, he likewise is not prevented from doing anything, and may make take any action you like. The restriction is that the player does not regain his TZ until he takes an action.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Smeborg the Fleshless


Last edited by Smeborg on Thu Jun 05, 2014 11:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:36 am 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23513
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Smeborg wrote:
A player can take any action you wish while in a Tentacled TZ (Block, Blitz, Pass, Hand-Off, Foul etc.). He may Block or Blitz the Tentacled player, for example.

Not if it's failed to escape, which is what Aliboon said.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 9:02 am 
Ex-Cyanide/Focus toadie

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:55 pm
Posts: 2430
Location: Near Reading, UK
You don't make the tents roll until you attempt to leave the TZs, so you can block him (either through a Block Action or a Blitz Action where you don't move first) without taking a tents roll. The moment you try to get out of those TZs though (dodge or leap are specified, so you could sidestep away on your opponent's turn) you make the tents roll and, if 5 or less is rolled, your action ends.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:12 pm 
Legend
Legend

Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 3:02 am
Posts: 3372
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Darkson wrote:
Smeborg wrote:
A player can take any action you wish while in a Tentacled TZ (Block, Blitz, Pass, Hand-Off, Foul etc.). He may Block or Blitz the Tentacled player, for example.

Not if it's failed to escape, which is what Aliboon said.
The player may take all of these actions without attempting to leave the Tentacled TZ. Or he can take all of these actions when he has attempted to leave the Tentacled TZ and has failed to escape. For example, he may pass or hand of the ball (if he is holding it), or he may take a Blitz action and block the Tentacled player (or another adjacent player), and so on. There is no restriction on the actions that he can take.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Smeborg the Fleshless


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:18 pm 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23513
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Actually, that's not what Tom has said - if you declare a Blitz, try to move away from the Tents and fail you can't then re-direct the blitz onto the Tents player. If you fail a Tents roll you action ends.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 1:40 am 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15844
Location: Indiana, USA
Darkson wrote:
If you fail a Tents roll you action ends.
Correct

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:51 am 
Legend
Legend

Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 3:02 am
Posts: 3372
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Darkson wrote:
Actually, that's not what Tom has said - if you declare a Blitz, try to move away from the Tents and fail you can't then re-direct the blitz onto the Tents player. If you fail a Tents roll you action ends.
I agree, but I'm not aware that anyone has suggested you could ever change the target of your Blitz after you have declared it.

_________________
Smeborg the Fleshless


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:30 am 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2067
Location: Pasadena California
Actually
You declare a Blitz action
You do not decide whom to throw the block against until you are adjacent to your desired target.
Aka a Mini blitz into thin air


Smeborg wrote:
Darkson wrote:
Actually, that's not what Tom has said - if you declare a Blitz, try to move away from the Tents and fail you can't then re-direct the blitz onto the Tents player. If you fail a Tents roll you action ends.
I agree, but I'm not aware that anyone has suggested you could ever change the target of your Blitz after you have declared it.

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:43 am 
Legend
Legend

Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 3:02 am
Posts: 3372
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
You declare the target of the Blitz when you are adjacent to the target and roll for a Block. So this can be the Tentacled player, for example after you have failed a Tentacles roll.

_________________
Smeborg the Fleshless


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:45 am 
Legend
Legend

Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 3:02 am
Posts: 3372
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
GalakStarscraper wrote:
Darkson wrote:
If you fail a Tents roll you action ends.
Correct
I stand corrected, that is indeed what is says in the rulebook.

_________________
Smeborg the Fleshless


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Take Root Query
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:16 pm 
Super Star
Super Star

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:05 pm
Posts: 766
You confused me...
If the very first step of the blitz is to block the adjacent beast of nurgle first: there is no tentacule roll to do at this moment? but directly the block roll, right?

It was logic to me, that the blitz was lost only we first target to move from a tackle zone of the beast (when we dodge, we have to target the square...)

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: