Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:36 pm 
Rookie
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 12:19 pm
Posts: 54
Location: Paris, France
Hi guys !

Quote:
A player with this skill does not like players from his team that are a different race than he is and will often refuse to play with them despite the coach's orders. If this player at the end of his Hand-off or Pass Action attempts to hand-off or pass the ball to a team-mate that is not the same race as the Animosity player, roll a D6. On a 2+, the pass/hand-off is carried out as normal. On a 1, the player refuses to give the ball to any team-mate except one of his own race. The coach may choose to change the target of the pass/hand-off to another team-mate of the same race as the Animosity player, however no more movement is allowed for the Animosity player, so the current Action may be lost for the turn.


If an animosity roll is failed ! Can the player throw the ball in an empty square ?

What if the empty square is in the tackle zone of a player of a different race that has the skill "Diving catch"...

Galak ! Your opinion would be valued ! :)

_________________
Image
NAF Rewards Committee Member (2014)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:41 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:59 pm
Posts: 6025
Location: The Fast Lane
Quote:
The coach may choose to change the target of the pass/hand-off to another team-mate of the same race as the Animosity player

An empty square is not a team-mate of the same race.

_________________
Image

The Exiles Blood Bowl League and Tournaments use the Icepelt rulebook, for complete BB rules and fluff. Download here.
SW England Regional Co-ordinator for the NAF lunchmoney@thenaf.net
@Lunchmoney_Al for me @ExilesBBLeague for #TeamExiles news


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 3:31 pm 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15853
Location: Indiana, USA
Correct ... an empty square is not a team mate. Diving Catch works well with Animosity for this reason.

Galak

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 4:06 pm 
Rookie
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 12:19 pm
Posts: 54
Location: Paris, France
So can you throw to an empty square ? Or not ?

I don't really understand your sentence... ^^

_________________
Image
NAF Rewards Committee Member (2014)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 4:10 pm 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:10 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
I think I misunderstood things... my comments have been revoked...

_________________
If you could be anyone would you be yourself? ~ yup it's mine!

Michael aka Da Big Green 'Un (commissioner Regina Flatland BB League - RFBBL)
http://www.reginaflatland.bloodbowlleague.com


Last edited by celticgriffon on Thu Mar 13, 2014 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 4:42 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:59 pm
Posts: 6025
Location: The Fast Lane
ssb wrote:
So can you throw to an empty square ? Or not ?

I don't really understand your sentence... ^^

ssb wrote:
If an animosity roll is failed ! Can the player throw the ball in an empty square ?

lunchmoney wrote:
Quote:
The coach may choose to change the target of the pass/hand-off to another team-mate of the same race as the Animosity player

An empty square is not a team-mate of the same race.

After a failed Animosity roll you cannot change the target to an an empty square.



ssb wrote:
What if the empty square is in the tackle zone of a player of a different race that has the skill "Diving catch"...
Targeting an empty square next to someone with DC avoids the Animosity roll, but it has to be the first target.

_________________
Image

The Exiles Blood Bowl League and Tournaments use the Icepelt rulebook, for complete BB rules and fluff. Download here.
SW England Regional Co-ordinator for the NAF lunchmoney@thenaf.net
@Lunchmoney_Al for me @ExilesBBLeague for #TeamExiles news


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 6:39 pm 
Rookie
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 12:19 pm
Posts: 54
Location: Paris, France
So why does Galak say that : "Diving Catch works well with Animosity for this reason"

It makes no sense...

_________________
Image
NAF Rewards Committee Member (2014)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 6:46 pm 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23664
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Because if you know you'll need to make an animosity roll to a player (say the DE passing to a Skaven on the Pact team), give the player Diving Catch, then pass the ball to an empty square next to them, meaning there's no Animosity roll.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)

Khorne and Bretonnian? Sorry, those don't exist - bring a real roster.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 6:52 pm 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15853
Location: Indiana, USA
ssb wrote:
So can you throw to an empty square ? Or not ?
Sorry ... the rules say you HAVE to throw it to a team-mate or not at all if you fail the Animosity roll ... so no ... you cannot throw it to an empty square after you fail.

Diving Catch is a better plan. Then you throw the ball to an empty square in the first place and never have to roll for Animosity (like Darkson said).

Galak

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 7:01 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 11:15 am
Posts: 2479
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Does that make sense? Anyone less than AG4 is still going to benefit just as much from the direct pass with extra arms on the receiver (2+ animosity, 2+ catch for AG3 receiver) as they would from throwing to an empty adjacent square with DC (no animosity roll, 3+ catch).

It strikes me that there's nothing in it, except that all of your sub-ST5 players have access to Extra Arms, whereas only two have access to Diving Catch. Its therefore significantly cheaper to take the EA. Nothing about DC stands out to me as being useful for pact TBH, over and above what you can achieve with it on other teams at least.

_________________
League and tournament hosting, blogging and individual forums - all totally free. For the most immersive tabletop sports community experience around, check out theendzone.co


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 7:04 pm 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15853
Location: Indiana, USA
It makes sense if you are worried about being able to always throw the ball to the player. EArms will do nothing to solve the issue with Animosity not throwing the pass. Diving Catch will.

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Animosity + pass in an empty square
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 7:15 pm 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:10 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Let's say you dump-off the ball to an empty square. Would this then give your opponent a chance to intercept? And would the ball not scatter three times from the empty space before the player with diving catch has a chance to nab it?

_________________
If you could be anyone would you be yourself? ~ yup it's mine!

Michael aka Da Big Green 'Un (commissioner Regina Flatland BB League - RFBBL)
http://www.reginaflatland.bloodbowlleague.com


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 7:22 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 11:15 am
Posts: 2479
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Yes (unless you throw to an empty square adjacent to you, ie not further away than the interceptor), and no (that's only if inaccurately passed)

_________________
League and tournament hosting, blogging and individual forums - all totally free. For the most immersive tabletop sports community experience around, check out theendzone.co


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 7:25 pm 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:10 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Shteve0 wrote:
Yes (unless you throw to an empty square adjacent to you, ie not further away than the interceptor), and no (that's only if inaccurately passed)


Of course. I think I should go back to bed. I am fumbling left and right today.

_________________
If you could be anyone would you be yourself? ~ yup it's mine!

Michael aka Da Big Green 'Un (commissioner Regina Flatland BB League - RFBBL)
http://www.reginaflatland.bloodbowlleague.com


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 7:26 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 11:15 am
Posts: 2479
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Tom - that still feels very situational, and there may equally well be times where you don't want the turnover (so the 2+,2+ would be favourable over a 3+ in that only 5 results in 36 cause a turnover without a reroll). There's not enough of a benefit over comparable skills, for me, to see it as a good pick or even synergistic... Id personally rather take Pro for the animosity player instead, and leader on a marauder. Just my two cents :)

_________________
League and tournament hosting, blogging and individual forums - all totally free. For the most immersive tabletop sports community experience around, check out theendzone.co


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: