Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Gaze and Right Stuff
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 10:11 am 
Experienced
Experienced

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:15 am
Posts: 152
Location: Cologne, Germany
Short Puzzler we had in our tournament this weekend...

Is a gazed goblin allowed to roll the dice for landing when being thrown?


Right Stuff
Quote:
When a player
with this skill is thrown or fumbled and ends up in an unoccupied square,
he must make a landing roll unless he landed on another player during
the throw


Hypnotic Gaze
Quote:
If the Agility roll is successful, then the opposing player
loses his tackle zones and may not catch, intercept or pass the ball,
assist another player on a block or foul, or move voluntarily until the start
of his next Action or the drive ends


We think, that being thrown is no voluntary move so he must roll to land as it is written in the description of Right Stuff though it feels quite odd that he can land while dreaming of a vampire :D
Though we got an opinion from another player that when gazed the goblin can do simply nothing before doing something on its own, even if it is being thrown (which would be more...logical...i must admit)

If he is allowed to land, and lands successful - is he still being gazed after landing? (thats the thing that puzzled me most - i think yes but i am not sure)
Did we get it right?


Last edited by Arioso on Mon Oct 06, 2014 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaze and Right Stuff
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 10:32 am 
Super Star
Super Star
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:27 am
Posts: 820
Location: Glasgow
My feeling would be that he has to make a landing roll due to the 'must' phrasing in Right Stuff.

_________________
Image
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaze and Right Stuff
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 12:32 pm 
Star Player
Star Player
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 1:47 pm
Posts: 588
Location: Melbourne, Australia
He's not moving voluntarily, so yes he can make a landing roll. He is still gazed, but if its your turn he can be activated as normal.

_________________
minimakeovers.wordpress.com


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaze and Right Stuff
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 5:09 pm 
Super Star
Super Star

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 7:55 pm
Posts: 849
I think he must roll to land, although I like the idea of him not, or even putting up no struggle if the Troll attempts to eat him!

Although goblins are frustrating enough to play at the best of times, so its probably best if there are no instakills like that...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaze and Right Stuff
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:28 am 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 3:32 am
Posts: 17
Aliboon wrote:
I think he must roll to land, although I like the idea of him not, or even putting up no struggle if the Troll attempts to eat him!

Although goblins are frustrating enough to play at the best of times, so its probably best if there are no instakills like that...


Yeah the Troll eating question is a good one. If he can not take any actions voluntarily that would prevent him from wriggling free from a hungry Troll.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaze and Right Stuff
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:32 am 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23632
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Wriggling is not an action.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaze and Right Stuff
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 3:16 pm 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15848
Location: Indiana, USA
Darkson wrote:
Wriggling is not an action.


Thank you Darkson ... I think I've just now recovered from laughing at that quote.

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: