Crazy (?) League Format Idea.

For Fantasy Football related chat that doesn't come under any of other forum categories.

Moderator: TFF Mods

plasmoid
Legend
Legend

Crazy (?) League Format Idea.

Post by plasmoid »

Hi all,
as mentioned elsewhere, I'll be starting a special league this august.
The league will have a pretty low activity level of 2 games per month (per coach), and the coaches are rookies (but not complete newbies).

The first (crazy) idea is to run this as a resurrection style league, albeit with some altered rules for team design (1.200K, 1 skill for each player, 2 skills for 1 player - up to 2 of the skills can be "doubles" skills).

The advantages of playing resurrection style is that no team can be devastated in a single unfortunate match, and that no team can outgrow the others. Also, it should remove any need to "time" your matches right, or avoiding opponents.

Once I'd decided to do the experimental league as resurrection style, and that each team should face eachother twice, the really"crazy" idea popped into my head:
The first time the coaches play against eachother, they'll be using their own teams. :?:
The second time, they'll swap teams!! :o

This will teach the coaches a lot about the strengths and weaknesses of the different teams. At the same time, it will say a lot about their skill. If a coach A can beat coach B, and then do it again under the exact reversed conditions, then there is a fair chance that coach A is truly the stronger coach.

Too crazy? ;)
Comments are welcome.

Reason: ''
jeffzimm1
Rookie
Rookie

Post by jeffzimm1 »

Sounds like your trying to measure coaching skill. I'd go ahead and create a certain amount of standardized teams. These teams would have the exact same skill at the start of the next match regardless of the outcome of any previous matches.

1. The teams would be varied (humans, orcs, elf, dwarves, etc.). A coach must play one game for each race, in other words, create an equal number of teams to coaches.