Dreadball vs Blood Bowl blog post

For Fantasy Football related chat that doesn't come under any of other forum categories.

Moderator: TFF Mods

faust_33
Star Player
Star Player

Dreadball vs Blood Bowl blog post

Post by faust_33 »

Okay, for those of you interested in reading my musings on Dreadball (1st Edition) vs Blood Bowl (2016), the blog post(s) are now up on my blog. It's in three parts, and the link below will take you to part 1 (then just follow along for the rest):

https://doubledowndice.wordpress.com/20 ... lood-bowl/

And as a disclaimer, I have never worked for any games company. I'm just a hobbyist who enjoys some fantasy football games from time to time, and everything there is from my personal experience and opinions.

Reason: ''
Darkson
Da Spammer

Re: Dreadball vs Blood Bowl blog post

Post by Darkson »

Good write up, and I think I pretty much agree with all of it, apart from the dice (that's a+0 for me).

I think some of the things you found as a negative for DB have been changed for DB2 (the cards are now just cards not randomisers, the addition of the Agility stat has differentiated the teams more) but I've yet to actually play the new version so I'm not going to claim that it has solved the issues. I think the newer models are better than the original DB range, but still not up to GW standards (even if I don't like many of the new GW teams!).

A minus for DB (in my opinion) is 3rd party support - even if you don't like a certain GW BB team (old or new) there's bound to be a 3rd party version out there that you will, and that (for me) is something DB is missing.

However, at the end of the day, I enjoy both games - although they're both "sports" games I find they scratch different itches, and that's a good thing imo.

Currently an ex-Blood Bowl coach, most likely to be found dying to Armoured Skeletons in the frozen ruins of Felstad, or bleeding into the arena sands of Rome or burning rubber for Mars' entertainment.
faust_33
Star Player