Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 10:25 pm 
Legend
Legend

Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 3:02 am
Posts: 3372
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
CyberedElf wrote:
Rolling to catch is never optional.
The one instance where rolling to catch is optional is after a failed catch where a re-roll is available. For example, a player with Catch may, I suggest, "decline" his second attempt to catch a Bomb.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Smeborg the Fleshless


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:26 am 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:03 am
Posts: 35
Steam Ball wrote:
I would had say all that too...
Quote:
A bomb may be intercepted or caught using the same rules for catching the ball, in which case the player catching it must throw it again immediately. This is a special bonus Action that takes place out of the normal sequence of play.

but it says "bonus action". Maybe that is why Mhorr asked? Maybe it should not say action? :-?

Exactly, that "special action" term made me think about their nega-trait.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:11 am 
Legend
Legend

Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 2:18 pm
Posts: 2035
Location: London, England
Catch certainly isn't an action, but the throw is?

I would hope so because I would love to see the neg trait roll before throwing :)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:52 pm 
Emerging Star
Emerging Star
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 6:56 pm
Posts: 420
Location: Ohio, USA
Chris wrote:
Catch certainly isn't an action, but the throw is?

I would hope so because I would love to see the neg trait roll before throwing :)


It does say the throw is an Action, but it's also a mandatory one per the rules, so I'm assuming that that means the Bone-head player isn't "declaring" it. Anyone disagree?

(Sorry to resurrect--working on an extensive FAQ for my league, which I'll post here for others to use or debate as they see fit.)

_________________
I was Puzzlemonkey, but now I'm Wifflebat. Please forward my mail...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 4:09 pm 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:03 pm
Posts: 172
Location: Bristol
Throw is an action, so you should roll bonehead, stupid or wild animal before throw the bomb.

In fact, if I am not wrong, if you throw a bomb and you catch it with an own player that already has done his action. He can't throw again the bomb and it explodes.

_________________
Image
Runner-Up: Exebowl '15 (orcs); GertBowl '17 (orcs)
Stunty Cup: Exebowl '14 (goblins); Bubba Bowl '17 (goblins)
Best race team: Cheesebowl '16 (orcs)
SChWing: Crumb-bowl '16 (goblins); SAWBBowl '17 (goblins)
Wooden Spoon: Gert Bowl '14 (goblins)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 4:41 pm 
Emerging Star
Emerging Star
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 6:56 pm
Posts: 420
Location: Ohio, USA
dreamscreator wrote:
Throw is an action, so you should roll bonehead, stupid or wild animal before throw the bomb.

In fact, if I am not wrong, if you throw a bomb and you catch it with an own player that already has done his action. He can't throw again the bomb and it explodes.


Well, I think that part's covered by "This is a special bonus Action that takes place out of the normal sequence of play."

There seems to be a pretty strong consensus in other discussions that the Bone-head roll is not needed; just wondering what the reasoning/ruling is.

_________________
I was Puzzlemonkey, but now I'm Wifflebat. Please forward my mail...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:00 pm 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:03 pm
Posts: 172
Location: Bristol
Wifflebat wrote:
Well, I think that part's covered by "This is a special bonus Action that takes place out of the normal sequence of play."

There seems to be a pretty strong consensus in other discussions that the Bone-head roll is not needed; just wondering what the reasoning/ruling is.


Mmmh, now I'm not sure. And I play usually with HMP bomber, but I think that never has been catch it by a Big Guy or my own players :lol:

_________________
Image
Runner-Up: Exebowl '15 (orcs); GertBowl '17 (orcs)
Stunty Cup: Exebowl '14 (goblins); Bubba Bowl '17 (goblins)
Best race team: Cheesebowl '16 (orcs)
SChWing: Crumb-bowl '16 (goblins); SAWBBowl '17 (goblins)
Wooden Spoon: Gert Bowl '14 (goblins)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 6:18 pm 
Super Star
Super Star
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1115
Location: The Twilight Zone
Wifflebat wrote:
dreamscreator wrote:
Throw is an action, so you should roll bonehead, stupid or wild animal before throw the bomb.

In fact, if I am not wrong, if you throw a bomb and you catch it with an own player that already has done his action. He can't throw again the bomb and it explodes.


Well, I think that part's covered by "This is a special bonus Action that takes place out of the normal sequence of play."

There seems to be a pretty strong consensus in other discussions that the Bone-head roll is not needed; just wondering what the reasoning/ruling is.


If the Big Guy had already failed their Bonehead roll, then they would not be able to catch the HMP. Otherwise, it is a bonus action OUTSIDE the NORMAL sequence of play Bonehead is not activated as you are not activating this player the same as any other player that the bomb may be tossed to.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:22 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:17 pm
Posts: 1
Steam Ball wrote:
CyberedElf wrote:
Steam Ball wrote:
IIRC, if they catch it, they must throw it. If they don't want to throw, just decline catching and enjoy the boom. Probably the rules are so to avoid wasting time with purposeless rolls.

Rolling to catch is never optional.

Well, then why the bombardier rule says "or is declined"?
page 63 wrote:
The bomb explodes when it lands in an empty square or an opportunity to catch the bomb fails or is declined (i.e., bombs don’t ‘bounce’).


Using DC to catch in the square next to the player is optional.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:18 pm 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15844
Location: Indiana, USA
Steam Ball wrote:
I would had say all that too...
Quote:
A bomb may be intercepted or caught using the same rules for catching the ball, in which case the player catching it must throw it again immediately. This is a special bonus Action that takes place out of the normal sequence of play.

but it says "bonus action". Maybe that is why Mhorr asked? Maybe it should not say action? :-?

probably should not say the word action ... I agree. But it definitely does not need any negatrait rolls to happen.

As for being able to not catch a bomb. I would argue that you can choose to not catch a bomb.

This is based on the text saying you can decline to catch a bomb in the skill. If you HAVE to roll to catch a bomb then you cannot decline to catch it and thus the sentence becomes meaningless and as a general rule ... I really tried to avoid meaningless sentences in the rules.

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:44 pm 
Veteran
Veteran

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 2:22 pm
Posts: 267
Location: Melbourne, Australia
You did? One day you'll have to explain those sentences under the heading Pass Block. No one I know has found meaning for them.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 2:50 pm 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15844
Location: Indiana, USA
Moraiwe wrote:
You did? One day you'll have to explain those sentences under the heading Pass Block. No one I know has found meaning for them.

Got a specific that you'd like me to attempt to explain? Not sure what you mean by the above

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:59 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:09 pm
Posts: 20
GalakStarscraper wrote:
Moraiwe wrote:
You did? One day you'll have to explain those sentences under the heading Pass Block. No one I know has found meaning for them.

Got a specific that you'd like me to attempt to explain? Not sure what you mean by the above


I think he is saying the Pass Block skill is useless, thus the rules text has no meaning. Not a serious criticism.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:25 pm 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15844
Location: Indiana, USA
iamcrazyjoe wrote:
I think he is saying the Pass Block skill is useless, thus the rules text has no meaning. Not a serious criticism.
I tried ... that is a tough skill to make good since passing is not a good strategy normally in the game. To make Pass Block valuable ... you need to make passing better and that is a tough game to do on a D6. Not saying it is poorly designed .. but within the limits of the system ... yeah you have Pass Block.

I think if you wanted to make Pass Block valuable ... you make it a reaction skill.

Defensive Read (instead of Pass Block) - GENERAL skill
When the opposing team is about to pass, hand-off or Throw Team-mate a player with this skill not in an opposing tackle zone may move up to 3 spaces anywhere on the field even if his Movement is less than 3. You may not make Leap, Dodge or Go For It rolls during this movement. This movement is not considered an action. This movement is made after the player or square that the ball/team-mate is targeting is selected but before the player with the ball/team-mate rolls for his action.


And the above change to Pass Block would remove sooooooo many rules issues that the current Pass Block creates.

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hailmary Goblin Bombardier
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:31 pm 
Ex-Cyanide/Focus toadie

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:55 pm
Posts: 2430
Location: Near Reading, UK
GalakStarscraper wrote:
To make Pass Block valuable ... you need to make passing better and that is a tough game to do on a D6. Not saying it is poorly designed .. but within the limits of the system ... yeah you have Pass Block.

**cough**

;)


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron