Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 4:20 pm 
Star Player
Star Player

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 4:43 pm
Posts: 682
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
I will keep posting new questions and answers from time to time.
Please comment on possible mistakes (including spelling) or elaborations.
Galak refers to GalakStarscraper (former BBRC member)
DoubleSkulls refers to DoubleSkulls (BBRC member)

DISCLAIMER:
These answers are not official but my interpretation of answers given by various people (including myself) in this forum as long as they are not turned down by a member of the BBRC or Galak.
If you disagree please post and explain why you disagree.
All answers are related to the Blood Bowl Competition Rules aka LRB 6


OLD RULES THAT NO LONGER APPLY
Big guys requires double amount of SPP in order to gain skills.
Big guys may remove negative traits on doubles star player rolls.
Players injured by the crowd may not be healed by apothecary.
Big guys take up more than 1 square.
You may only use 1 skill per action.
You may only use each skill once per action.
Thrudd the Barbarian.



GENERAL
NEWQ: What happens if a stat gets reduced to 0 due to injuries?
A: No stat may fall below 1, so ignore the stat decrease (the MNG is still on though)


NEWQ: I'm having trouble with the AG roll mechanic. Is there a simpler method?
A: Roll a D6:
1 equals failure
6 equals success
anything else
....dice+modifiers+AG
........>= 7 equals success
........< 7 equals failure.
Note! Does not apply to passing and AG7 dodging (Deathroller)


Q: My friend set up with 12 players on the pitch, what should we do?
A: If by accident, remove any surplus players as soon as possible; If by intention, find someone else to play with.

Q: Do player value go down if the player gets injured?
A: No.

Q: If I forget to declare an action like Pass before moving a player may I do it later on?
A: Strictly by the book, no, but most leagues allows it as long as you have not rolled any dice.

Q: If I call an illegal procedure during a players action, may the opponent finish that action or does he has to act now?
A: He has to act now, even part way during an action (AV-/injuryrolls must still be taken, the ball must come to rest before he has to act).

Q: May I choose to fail or give up a roll, eg. a catch roll or an injury roll?
A: No.

Q: If I gain a reroll as a result of an Illegal Procedure, how long can it be used?
A: Until halftime or the end of the match depending of which half you gained it in.

Q: May I choose a different action than Move Action when standig up from prone?
A: Yes, you may choose any action except Block Actions (without Jump Up).

Q: It is possible for a teams team value to drop below 1000K?
A: Yes it can fall below (Player death is a main cause of this), you could even start a team with a value below 1000K if you start with money in the treasure (common among Halfling players like Galak).

Q: Is declaring an Action enough for the opponent to correctly call an illegal procedure?
A: No, you have to move a player or roll a dice.

Q: I have read an article in Blood Bowl Magazine/Specialist Games newsletter, is it official?
A: Only the current LRB is official.

Q: If a player misses a game due to Miss Next Game does his price still affect the team value?
A: No.

Q: May I re-roll the Armour/Injury roll after a block, when fouling (also when rolling doubles), when using stab or a chainsaw?
A: Only when making a block may you re-roll an armour or an injury roll by using the Piling On skill.

Q: When does a player count as leaving a tacklezone?
A: As soon as he leaves a square in a players tacklezone even if it is to another square in the same players tacklezone.

Q: When I work out my Team Value, how much is a team re-roll worth if it is bought at twice the price?
A: It is worth the same as a team re-roll bought at team creation, ie. an Elven re-roll is worth 50K in Team Value no matter when you bought it.

Q: It is legal to have a star player and a big guy in the same team?
A: Yes.

Q: Page 26 of LRB states that "A coach may choose to give his player a new skill (as described above) instead of a characteristic increase." Does this apply only to players with the max +2 to that char, or for ANY player that rolls a stat increase?
A: Any players.

Q: What happens if all my player by one way or another is removed from the field?
A: Nothing, you just keep on playing. Your turns are quite short though.

Q: Am I allowed to use team re-rolls or Pro in order to re-roll the result on the casualty table?
A: No, that is what you have an apothecary for.

Q: Are teams allowed to share or borrow gold from each other?
A: No, but it is a common houserule.

Q: What happened to the Death Zone supplement?
A: It is now integrated into the Living Rulebook.

Q: When does I get to stand up my prone players?
A: When you want to take an Action (other than Block) you start the Action by standing the player on his/hers feet.

Q: The Living Rulebook says that secret weapons are only expelled from game at touchdowns or half time ends, does this cover fouling?
A: No, all secret weapon players are expelled as normal when they foul (including the Deathroller).

Q: It is a rule that if I roll an unmodified 1 you always fail, but what if I only need a 1 to succeed?
A: A 1 is still automaticly a failure as a 6 is automaticly succes.

Q: Is this game alot of fun?
A: Definitely yes.

Q: Does the scrimmageline move if the ballcarrier is knocked down?
Q: Do we make a new Kick-Off if the ballcarrier is knocked down?
A: Allthough they have a lot in common Blood Bowl is not American Football. Play doesn't stop until a touchdown is scored or the halftime ends.
Try telling a 9' Black Orc that he may no longer hit anybody because someone dropped the ball (as if he cares).

Q: Which re-rolls may be carried into overtime?
A: Any unused re-rolls may be carried into overtime including Leader, trophy and those gained from the Kick-Off table.


PASSING AND HAND-OFFS
NEWQ: When does the ball scatter/bounce and how many times?
A: The ball scatters to represent inaccuracy at passes (3d8), kick-off (d8+d6) and throw-ins (d3+2d6) ie. not hitting the intended target, it bounces when it hits the ground from scatter (even from an accurate pass) or is dropped by a player until it ends in an empty square.


Q: May I catch a bomb if I hold the ball?
A: Yes.

Q: Can diving catch be used on interception attempts?
A: No.

Q: If I pass the ball to a player, do I have to move that player as the next thing or may I wait?
A: You may wait.

Q: May I premeasure the range of a pass with the range ruler at any point during my turn or only when taking a Pass Action?
A: Strict reading only when taking a Pass Action but nothing stops you from memorising passing ranges in squares and counting squares so it has no point keeping it up.

Q: If I pass the ball to an empty square is it always a turnover?
A: Only if the ball does not bounce into the hands of one of your players or is not snatched by one of your Diving Catch players.

Q: When do I declare a Pass/Hand-Off Action? At the start of the action, when I aquire the ball or when I make the pass/hand-off?
A: At the start of the action.

Q: If the receiving player's square is under the line at the end of the range ruler, is this out of range for the thrower or is any part of the long bomb section good enough?
A: It is out of range.

Q: If my AG6 player attemps a long pass (-1 modifier) and rolls a 2, what happens?
A: He fumbles the ball, due to fumbles an AG6 player is no better than an AG5 player at passing the ball.

Q: Do I get completions for a succesful hand-off or if one of my players catch an incomplete (Hail Mary) pass?
A: No

Q: Can I take a Hand-off Action and in the same turn take a Pass Action or is the Hand-off Action considered as the Pass Action for this turn?
A: A Hand-off and a Pass Action is 2 different Actions of which you are allowed one of each in each turn.

Q: What is the basic modifier for catching an accurate pass in pouring rain?
A: 0 (+1 for accurate, -1 for pouring rain).

Q: Is Disturbing Precence cumulative?
A: Yes.

Q: Does Disturbing Precence still effect ballhandling if the players is lying down?
A: Yes.

Q: Once a player hurls a Hail Mary Pass, because it is automatically inaccurate, does this mean a turnover occurs?
A: Only if it is not caught by a member of your team, try using diving catch.

Nerves of Steel:
Q: Does Nerves of Steel ignore Disturbing Precence?
A: No.

Q: Does Nerves of Steel ignore 1 or all tackle zones?
A: All.

Q: May I use Nerves of Steel when attempting to pick up the ball?
A: No, use Big Hand instead.

Pass Block:
Q: How many Pass Blockers can move when a pass is declared? Is it just one or all that are elligable?
A: All elligable.

Q: A player with both Disturbing Precence and Pass Block may move up to three squares when the opponent declares a pass, as long as he is able to exert a -1 modifier on either the thrower or the catcher. True or false?
A: False, see the Pass Block skill description.

Q: Can I make a Pass Block, when the opponent player makes a Dump-Off?
A: Yes, allthough not with the player blocking the opponent who makes the Dump-Off (it would get to complicated) and if the Pass Blocker falls over it is a turnover after the whole block-Dump-Off-Pass Block thing.

Q: Am I allowed to stand up or go for it during a Pass Block?
A: No to both.

Throw Team-mates:
Q: May I take the Pass and Accurate skills on my Treeman and use it on Throw Team-mate?
A: Yes.

Q: My Goblin fails landing after a Throw Team-mate but his armour is not broken, may he still take his Action if he hasn't done so allready?
A: Yes, the same goes if he lands succesfully.

Q: Why does the Ogre big guy have Throw Team-mate when they don't play on teams with right stuff?
A: Because Humans may freeboot Puggy Baconbreath with Right Stuff.

Q: Please explain the connection between Throw Team-mate and a passing Action.
A: When you throw a team-mate (with/without the ball) you may not throw the ball or another team-mate in the same turn (but you may take a Hand-off Action).

Q: Does Very Sunny affect Throw Team-mate?
A: Yes.

Q: If my Troll manages to make an accurate Throw Team-mate and the Goblin (with or without the ball) lands on his feet, is it a completion?
A: No, only passing the ball earns you completions. Besides Throw Team-Mate can never be accurate.


BLOCKING AND BLITZING
Q: When rolling to use Jump Up, to tackle zones apply?
A: No.

Q: Can I move a player to assist a block, then move the same player to assist another block etc. until all of the player's MV is finished in the same turn?
A: Nope. Once the player has finished (moved to the first assist) he cannot move again until your next Team Turn.

Q: Is the Move Action of a fanatic considered a Blitz?
A: No.

Q: It is impossible to use grab to set a player in crowd because the crowd is not an eligible empty square?
A: Yes

Q: May I block a player with a Ball & Chain?
A: Yes.

Q: May I block one of my own players?
A: Only with a Ball & Chain.

Q: If I or the opponent uses Wrestle or I uses Piling On on the blockingpart of a blitz, may I stand up again if I have enough movement?
A: No.

Q: When I blitz someone, do I have to follow up in order to move further after the block?
A: No, but the block still cost you 1 point of movement regardless of you following up or not.

Q: Does the Block skill confer any other advantages other than the both players down result on the Block Dice?
A: No it does not (and some people complain about that being too much!).

Q: If I hit the enemy ballcarrier enough for the ball to scatter and it scatters into one of my players and he fails to catch it, is it a turnover?
A: No, see page 7 for a complete list of turnovers

Q: May I combine Dauntless and Horns?
A: Yes you may combine Dauntless and Horns so that you have to roll 1 less to beat the opponents strength.

Q: If I declare a Blitz Action, can I just move and not block?
A: Yes, this is often used by Wild Animals.

Q: If a chainsaw wielding player throws a normal block and knocks both players down, does he get +3 to the opponents AV-roll?
A: A chainsaw wielding player may not throw a normal block.

Q: May I choose not to use the skills Block, Tackle or Dodge when blocking/being blocked?
A: Yes.

Q: May I MOVE and then use a chainsaw or Stab in the same turn?
A: Only as part of a Blitz Action.

Q: Can a block be thrown diagonally?
A: Yes.

Q: If my Treeman (ST6) blocks an opponent of ST3 do I roll 2 or 3 Block Dice?
A: 2, you need ST7 for a 3 dice block against ST3.

Q: If an opponent tries to block one of my players but rolls nothing but skulls may I use Mighty Blow and/or Claw and do I earn SPP if I cause a casualty?
A: Yes to both.

Q: If I go for it during a Blitz Action in order to block someone and fail, where do I fall over?
A: In the square you where leaving.

Q: May I throw the blockingpart of a Blitz Action without moving first?
A: Yes, you may throw the block at any point during the Blitz Action.

Q: I would like to blitz someone but the ball is in the square from which I would like to block, may I block the opponent before trying to pick up the ball?
A: No, you have to pick it up first.

Q: If I try to block an opponent with Foul Appearance and fail, may I block someone else instead?
A: No.

Q: May I re-roll a missed Foul Appearance roll?
A: Yes.

Q: If a player is knocked over with the ball, from where will the ball bounce?
A: The square where the player lands in.

Push backs:
Q: When I push back a player with Side Step, must I decide to follow up before the Side Step player choose the field he want's to pushed to?
A: No, you decide after he chooses.

Q: Do I have to choose a standing player before a player lying down when doing a chainpush?
A: No.

Q: May I choose to push an opponent into another player instead of into the crowd?
A: No, you have to push him into the crowd if there are no empty squares available (and he is standing next to the sidelines).

Q: When a player with Strip Ball blocks a player with Stand Firm and the ball and gets a push-back result, what happens to the ball?
A: The Stand Firm player drops it and it bounces unless he has Sure Hands.

Q: If a player holding the ball is pushed into the end zone whilst holding the ball, is it a TD, even if he is knocked over and drops it?
A: No.

Q: When pushing back is the square containing the ball considered empty or occupied.
A: Empty.

Q: If I have both Stand Firm and Side Step may I choose which skill to use when being pushed back?
A: Yes.

Q: May I use Side Step or Stand Firm while stunned or prone?
A: No.

Dump-Off:
Q: If I use Dump-Off to pass the ball succesfully into the hands of another player waiting in the end-zone, do the blocking player still get to hit me before the touchdown?
A: Yes, but nothing more.

Q: May I use Dump-Off if my opponent uses Stab or a Chainsaw against me?
A: Yes by clarification of Galak.

Q: Do I get a -1 for the blitzing players tacklezone?
A: Yes.

Q: Am I allowed to target an empty square or an opponent with Dump-Off?
A: Yes.

Q: If the intended receiver is just adjacent to the player with dump-off, may I declared a hand-off instead?
A: No.

Q: May I use the Pass skill to re-roll the Dump-Off?
A: Yes.

Q: Do I get 1 SPP for an accurate Dump-Off caught by a team-mate?
A: Yes.

Q: When a player blitz another player with Dump-Off, at which time the player may pass the ball : before the move of the blitzing player or after the move?
A: During the Blitz Action: after announcing the blockingpart of the Blitz Action but just before rolling the Block Dice (and Daunless dice and Foul Appearance dice).

Frenzy:
Q: From the way it is described I read it as you must attempt to use the skill as often as possible, hitting every turn you can. Am I wrong?
A: Yes you are wrong, Frenzy has no effect on the players ability to choose actions.

Q: Do I have to go for it in order to throw the second block?
A: Yes (the use of sprint is optional though).

Q: When a player with Frenzy blocks a player with Stand Firm and gets a "pushed" result, may he throw a second block?
A: Yes he may.

Q: If my Troll Slayer blocks an opponent and roll a both down, may he use Frenzy to throw a second block?
A: No.

Q: When I use Frenzy or Multiple Block do I have to roll for Dauntless/Foul Appearance for the second block?
A: Yes to both.

Q: Do I have to choose a blockdice that pushes back my opponent when Frenzying?
A: No, you are still free to choose any blockdice.

Q: I cannot use Frenzy on a Multiple Block but do I still have to follow up?
A: No, Multiple Block cancels all aspects of Frenzy, so according to Multiple Block description you are not even allowed to follow up.

Q: If I block an opponent with the ball and push him into the endzone is it a touchdown even I have Frenzy and is able to block him a second time?
A: It is a TD. Also you do not get to throw the 2nd Frenzy block as a touchdown is a turnover.


MOVEMENT AND PICKING UP THE BALL
Q: Do I have to move if I take a Move Action.
A: No, this is preferred by vampires who need to gaze players next to them.

Q: If a player of mine has both Tackle and Diving Tackle, may he use Tackle on the same dodge as he just modified with Diving Tackle?
A: Yes.

Q: Do I have to dodge in order to move into a players tackle-zone?
A: No.

Q: Do I have to dodge in order to perform a Leap?
A: No, just make an AG-roll with no modifiers.

Q: If I am dodging from one square to another square in the same players tacklezone and he uses diving tackle does I still get -1 for his tacklezone?
A: Yes you do, and also if you re-roll the dodgeroll.

Q: Does EVERY player who is alongside a Beast of Nurgle have to make the tentacles roll or is it just the first one who tries to move out?
A: Every player.

Q: May I use Sure Feet when doing a Sprint (3rd go-for-it)?
A: Yes.

Q: How does Stunty work?
A: It ignores tacklezones, so an AG 3 Stunty would make 3+ dodges anywhere. Diving tackle, Tails, etc still modify the roll.

Q: Can I use the Leap skill to jump over an empty field?
A: Yes you may Leap into any square up to 2 squares away no matter which opstacle (if any) is in the way.

Q: Do I have to pick up the ball?
A: If one of your players actively moves into the ball he has to pick up the ball, if you are being pushed into the ball you may not pick up the ball (it will scatter).

Q: If I try to pick up the ball and fail but someone else from my team manages to catch it is it a turnover?
A: A failed pick up is allways a turnover no matter where the ball ends up.


RACE SPECIFIC
Q: May Khemri use a Necromancer?
A: No.

Q: When picking a Journeyman as an Undead coach, do I have to choos Skeletons or Zombies?
A: You are free to choose either of both.

Q: Are the Goblins/Halflings no longer allowed to field Ogres?
A: Yes, Goblins are only allowed Trolls and Halflings are only allowed Treemen.

Q: Do various undead follow normal rules about injuries (like "Gouged eye") or raise the dead?
A: Yes, treat it like wear and tear or magical interference.

Q: The Human and Orc thrower has the same price, but the Human has superior MA, is this a typo?
A: Maybe, but is has been around so long that it is unlikely to change.

Q: Are there any big guys for Dwarves, Amazon, Necromantic, Vampire, (Dark or High) Elf?
A: No.

Q: Are the stats for Amazon typos?
A: No, they are deliberately all alike (6 3 3 7).

Q: May my Vampire bite a Thrall from the opponents team if I play against another Vampire team?
A: No.

Q: Are Lizardmen broken?
A: Only against unexperienced coaches.

Q: If my Treeman gets a +1 MA does he still have to roll to stand up?
A: Only if he takes root after being knocked over (MA = 0 when taking root).

Q: If a Vampire bites a stunned Thrall and manages to stun him again may I still turn him face up at the end of the same turn?
Q: If a right stuff player gets stunned during landing may I turn him face up at the end of the same turn
A: No you have to wait until your next turn.


SETTING UP AND KICK-OFF
NEWQ: Do you roll for KO-ed players for both teams before setting up defensive players for a new drive?
A: Yes


Q: How does Blood Lust work during Kick-Off results?
A: Perfect defence, no Blood Lust, Quick Snap, no Blood Lust, Blitz, Blood Lust as in a normal turn.

Q: When a 10 is rolled on the Kick-Off table, is it possible for the kicking team to enter the opposing half and catch the ball (classed as a bouncing ball?), or do you count the ball as not having landed until the end of the blitz turn?
A: The ball doesn't land until after the blitz turn is over.

Q: You are also allowed one Blitz Action in the free turn. If the block of this Blitz Action knocks down an opposing player, freeing up the tackle zone on someone else, are they then entitled to move?
A: No.

Q: What happens when I receive a touchback from a Kick-Off, but I have no players to give the ball to?
A: Place it in any square on your half of the pitch (by Galak). Note that you may also give the ball to a stunned player, he just automaticly drops the ball. Also note you may no longer start a drive without players on the pitch (see LRB page 15)

Q: My opponent fails to catch a Kick-Off that has scattered to the scrimmageline and now it enters my half, what happens?
A: As soon as the ball leaves the opponents half of the field it is a touchback, both when it enters your own half or scatters into the crowd.

Q: May I set up more than 3 players on the line of scrimmage?
A: Yes.

Q: After the Kick-Off sequence, does normal play resume?
A: Yes.

Q: During setup I am only allowed to put 2 players in each widezone, but what after Kick-Off?
A: After Kick-Off there is no restriction, there may be as many as 11 players from each team in a widezone.

Q: Do I lose the game if I cannot put any players on the field at Kick-Off?
A: No, the game goes on by special rules. Read page 15 in the LRB.


COACHING STAFF AND INDUCEMENTS
Q: May I reroll the result of the apothecary?
A: No, the apothecary is a reroll in itself and dices may only be rerolled once.

Q: If my wizard fireballs after my turn fireballs the opponent ballcarrier, knocking him down, it is a turnover?
A: No, the wizard is still part of your turn, not your opponents.

Q: May I use my apothecary to heal a player with Regeneration (Troll/Vampire)?
A: Yes.

Q: Is there a limit to how many Assistant Coaches or Cheerleaders a team may have?
A: No, they do all add to Team Value though.

Q: I have 4 Black Orcs of which one has a Miss Next Game injury. May I hire a mercenary Black Orc?
A: Yes.


MISC. SKILLS, TRAITS AND SECRET WEAPONS
NEWQ: Am I allowed to use more than one bribe to avoid being sent off?
A: Yes, if a bribe fails you may add as many bribes as available and/or needed to convince the ref to let your player stay in the game using them one at a time until you roll a 2 or more. Take it as bargaining the price with the ref.


Q: Do players with Ball & Chain gain SPP for casualties caused?
A: Only when attacking players who stand up, since it is regarded as a normal block.

Q: May my Deathroller take and use skills like Jump Up or Leap and can he use an Apothecary?
A: There is no restriction on skill choises for a Deathroller and any Dwarf Apothecary is also part time mechanic.

Q: May I use Piling On after a Stab attack?
A: No.

Q: If a Secret Weapon of mine is KO'ed, when do I apply a bribe, before or after the roll to recover from KO?
A: Before.

Q: Is it a turnover if I knock down one of my own players with a bomb (including the bombardier)?
A: Yes.

Q: May I choose NOT to use a skill?
A: Yes (except frenzy).

Q: How long does a Hypnotic Gaze last?
A: Until the affected player takes an action.

Q: May I re-roll a Tentackle-roll with Dodge?
A: No.

Q: May I foul an opponent who lied down voluntarily, for example with Piling On?
A: Yes, and it is recommended.

Q: May I use Pro to re-roll Regeneration?
A: No, it says so in the skill description of Regeneration.

Q: If I re-roll an armour roll with Piling On may I use Mighty Blow on the re-rolled result if I didn't use it on the first?
A: Yes, you have not used your skill (Mighty Blow) until after the dice are set, and you chose to re-roll them.

Q: How many times may I use Regeneration?
A: Once for each casualty you suffer.

Q: How many of my Vampires may use Hypnotic Gaze in one turn?
A: All of them, if it is your own turn.

Q: May I use Hypnotic Gaze at the end of every Move Action (including opponents) or just the Vampires own?
A: Just the Vampires own.

Q: May I use Hypnotic Gaze at the end of a Pass Block?
A: No, only at the end of a Move Action (a Pass Block is not an Action).

Q: Can I declare the use of Kick after the Kick-Off scatter roll?
Q: Can I declare the use of Mighty Blow after the armour roll?
Q: Can I declare the use of Diving Tackle after the dodge roll?
A: You may always wait until after the dice have rolled before applying a skill, this also covers Mighty Blow, Diving Tackle, Break Tackle and Kick.

Q: When using Hypnotic Gaze, can the Vampire assist, catch etc.?
A: The Hypnotic Gaze is supposed to be instant, after this the Vampire may do anything a normal player may do.

Q: Is there another way than through SPP in order to gain skills?
A: No

Negative Traits:
Q: Is a player who has failed a Bone-head/Really Stupid allowed to catch the ball?
A: No.

Q: Do a player who fail a Bone-head/Really Stupid roll drop the ball?
A: No.

Q: Before Kick-Offs are all Bone-heads "cleared" or do players with Bone-head that has failed still have Bone Head?
A: All failed Bone-head/Really Stupid are cleared at Kick-Offs.

Q: When the Beast of Nurgle goes stupid, does it lose it’s tentacle ability?
A: No, but when having no tackle zone, the Beast has nowhere to use its tentacles, so effectively yes.

Q: If a Troll eats a Goblin, does that earn him 2 spp for a casualty caused?
A: No.

Q: Does the Treeman lose his Action if he rolls a 1 for Take Root? If a coach declared a Pass Action with a Treeman, can he still pass, just that he can't move 2 squares before passing?
A: He just can't move as part of the Action.

Q: Must a Treeman roll for Take Root to stand up after falling from a block, since he has gained his 2MA back?
A: Yes.

Q: May I use a team re-roll to re-roll a failed Blood Lust?
A: Yes.

Q: Must I roll for Bone-head/Really Stupid/Wild Animal/Blood Lust/Take Root just to stand up (and do nothing else) from facing up?
A: Yes you must, since you need an Action even for just getting on your feet (defaults to a Move Action).

Q: May I use Pro on failed Bone-head/Really Stupid/Wild Animal/Take Root?
A: Yes you may.

Q: Does a Wild Animal lose his tackle zone if he fails his roll?
A: No.

Q: When does I have to roll for Bone-head, Really Stupid, Wild Animal, Blood Lust or Take Root?
A: At the start of any Action, which does not include catching the ball, assisting a block and Pass Block.

Q: If a Vampire ends his Blood Lust Action in the opponents end zone with the ball and a Thrall next to him which he bites, does that make a touchdown?
A: Yes, the description of Blood Lust is pretty clear on this matter.


MINIATURES
Q: I dont like the models of team XXX, can I convert my own?
A: Like any other GW game you are indeed allowed to convert your own models, just make sure that it is easy to recognice different positions.

Q: What are the basecolors for different positions from 2nd ed?
A: Blitzer=Red ; Catcher=yellow ; Thrower=white ; Blocker=green ; Lineman=gray ; any other=purple

: Do I have to paint my miniatures?
A: No, but it makes the game more fun (some tournaments do require painted miniatures).

Q: I have just bought the mutated Skaven/Chaos miniatures. How do I get to field them.
A: Either by not playing WYSIWYG (what you see is what you get) and use them as ordinary players or advance normal players with SPP and exchange miniatures.

_________________
Licensed Rules Lawyer


Last edited by slup on Mon Jun 21, 2010 8:38 pm, edited 11 times in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:23 pm 
Star Player
Star Player
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:29 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Binghamton, New York, US
Wow, a lot of Q&A here :o

Thanks for posting it though.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:44 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:47 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Berlin, Germany
Thanks a lot slup! This was the list I was asking You for. It was over the years I visited the old SG-Forum really helpful and an important source of avoiding rules-discussions in our matches.

_________________
Pete - The Big Dwarf
Show me a drinking elf - I´ll invite him


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 11:10 pm 
Star Player
Star Player

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 4:43 pm
Posts: 682
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Dwarfpete wrote:
Thanks a lot slup! This was the list I was asking You for. It was over the years I visited the old SG-Forum really helpful and an important source of avoiding rules-discussions in our matches.


Sorry for the delay

_________________
Licensed Rules Lawyer


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 12:08 am 
Da Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 1:55 pm
Posts: 8222
Location: Back in the UK
Great to see this material still available. I've stickied it.

_________________
Ian 'Double Skulls' Williams


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:56 pm 
Da Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 1:55 pm
Posts: 8222
Location: Back in the UK
Edited initial post to add multiple bribe clarification.

_________________
Ian 'Double Skulls' Williams


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:11 pm 
Star Player
Star Player

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 4:43 pm
Posts: 682
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
DoubleSkulls wrote:
Edited initial post to add multiple bribe clarification.


Added AG-roll and reworded bribe (not better just my own words ;) )

_________________
Licensed Rules Lawyer


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:53 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 4:31 pm
Posts: 18
Q: Does a Goblin who ends up in the crowd still suffer from +1 to injury due to his Stunty trait?
A: Yes.

This seems outdated :)

_________________
[b]Icepelt is my Hero[/b]


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:57 pm 
Star Player
Star Player

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 4:43 pm
Posts: 682
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Koigokoro wrote:
Q: Does a Goblin who ends up in the crowd still suffer from +1 to injury due to his Stunty trait?
A: Yes.

This seems outdated :)


Removed

_________________
Licensed Rules Lawyer


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:40 am 
Veteran
Veteran

Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:52 am
Posts: 216
Location: Aiea, HI
Is this a contradiction?

Quote:
Q: What happens when I receive a touchback from a Kick-Off, but I have no players to give the ball to?
A: Place it in any square on your half of the pitch (by Galak). Note that you may also give the ball to a stunned player, he just automaticly drops the ball. Also note you may no longer start a drive without players on the pitch (see LRB page 15)

Q: Do I loose the game if I cannot put any players on the field at Kick-Off?
A: No, the game goes on. Read the FAQ in the LRB.


And wow, we've been playing Mighty Blow wrong for over a year. That skill just got even more annoying. Must have been using a Mordheim carry over on declaring before rolling and never noticed that was incorrect.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:44 pm 
Star Player
Star Player

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 4:43 pm
Posts: 682
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Pagan wrote:
Is this a contradiction?

Quote:
Q: What happens when I receive a touchback from a Kick-Off, but I have no players to give the ball to?
A: Place it in any square on your half of the pitch (by Galak). Note that you may also give the ball to a stunned player, he just automaticly drops the ball. Also note you may no longer start a drive without players on the pitch (see LRB page 15)

Q: Do I loose the game if I cannot put any players on the field at Kick-Off?
A: No, the game goes on. Read the FAQ in the LRB.


And wow, we've been playing Mighty Blow wrong for over a year. That skill just got even more annoying. Must have been using a Mordheim carry over on declaring before rolling and never noticed that was incorrect.


It is a contradiction and it is now fixed, thanks for spotting it.
The Mighty Blow mistake is quite common, notice the same covers Break Tackle.

_________________
Licensed Rules Lawyer


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 1:21 am 
Experienced
Experienced

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:25 pm
Posts: 91
Quote:
NEWQ: How does the AG roll work?
A: Roll a D6:
1 equals failure
6 equals success
anything else
....dice+modifiers+AG
........>= 7 equals success
........< 7 equals failure.
Exceptions: passing and AG7 dodging (Deathroller)


Did the official rules change? Or is this a "simplified" way of calculating the result? IIRC, on the Agility Table, both a 6 AG and a 7 AG (or ST 7 used as AG with Break Tackle, for example) would give an unmodified 1+. And then it is this 1+ that is modified. Therefore, AG 7 is not any more useful than AG 6. A current or former BBRC member could chime in here, but my guess is that this was intentional. Plus the wording for fumbles might have to change as well. I find this particular answer to add confusion and not reduce it.

Perhaps the answer could read something like:

Look up the player's AG on the Agility Table and find the corresponding D6 Roll Required for success. Roll d6. A natural 1 always fails and a natural 6 always succeeds. On a roll of 2 through 5, apply all of the modifiers for the attempted act. If the result is equal to or greater than the D6 Roll Required, the player succeeds in the attempted act. (For AG Roll modifiers refer to the section of the rules that cover the attempted action.)

Once coaches get this concept down, they can usually figure out what they need for success before they roll.

- JPS


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:05 am 
Star Player
Star Player

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 4:43 pm
Posts: 682
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
JPS wrote:
Quote:
NEWQ: How does the AG roll work?
A: Roll a D6:
1 equals failure
6 equals success
anything else
....dice+modifiers+AG
........>= 7 equals success
........< 7 equals failure.
Exceptions: passing and AG7 dodging (Deathroller)


Did the official rules change? Or is this a "simplified" way of calculating the result? IIRC, on the Agility Table, both a 6 AG and a 7 AG (or ST 7 used as AG with Break Tackle, for example) would give an unmodified 1+. And then it is this 1+ that is modified. Therefore, AG 7 is not any more useful than AG 6. A current or former BBRC member could chime in here, but my guess is that this was intentional. Plus the wording for fumbles might have to change as well. I find this particular answer to add confusion and not reduce it.

Perhaps the answer could read something like:

Look up the player's AG on the Agility Table and find the corresponding D6 Roll Required for success. Roll d6. A natural 1 always fails and a natural 6 always succeeds. On a roll of 2 through 5, apply all of the modifiers for the attempted act. If the result is equal to or greater than the D6 Roll Required, the player succeeds in the attempted act. (For AG Roll modifiers refer to the section of the rules that cover the attempted action.)

Once coaches get this concept down, they can usually figure out what they need for success before they roll.

- JPS


Note the last line:
Exceptions: passing and AG7 dodging (Deathroller)

Your suggestion reads allmost like the one in the LRB and if that causes confusion reprinting it won't make any sense ;)
This is an attemp to make a alternative model for the AG-roll and besides the exceptions will give you the same result.

_________________
Licensed Rules Lawyer


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:15 pm 
Experienced
Experienced

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:25 pm
Posts: 91
Quote:
Your suggestion reads allmost like the one in the LRB and if that causes confusion reprinting it won't make any sense


Point taken.

slup wrote:
This is an attemp to make a alternative model for the AG-roll and besides the exceptions will give you the same result.


Understood. I also like the method. But, I think it should be clear that it is an alternate method and not the official mechanic. I play in a league with mostly newbies - including the commissioner - and could see how the lack of that distinction could lead to some major arguments when it came time to deal with the noted exceptions.

Maybe the question could be restated, instead of the answer?

"Q: I'm having trouble with the AG roll mechanic. Is there a simpler method?"

And then start the answer with: "For most AG rolls . . ."

- JPS


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q&A from specialist Games Forum
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:17 pm 
Star Player
Star Player

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 4:43 pm
Posts: 682
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
JPS wrote:
Quote:
Your suggestion reads allmost like the one in the LRB and if that causes confusion reprinting it won't make any sense


Point taken.

slup wrote:
This is an attemp to make a alternative model for the AG-roll and besides the exceptions will give you the same result.


Understood. I also like the method. But, I think it should be clear that it is an alternate method and not the official mechanic. I play in a league with mostly newbies - including the commissioner - and could see how the lack of that distinction could lead to some major arguments when it came time to deal with the noted exceptions.

Maybe the question could be restated, instead of the answer?

"Q: I'm having trouble with the AG roll mechanic. Is there a simpler method?"

And then start the answer with: "For most AG rolls . . ."

- JPS


Done :)

_________________
Licensed Rules Lawyer


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: