Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:30 pm 
Kommissar Enthusiasmoff
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 11:24 am
Posts: 5707
Location: Swindon, England
Search abilities failing:

If two slann catchers on the same team are adjacent to the ball, I have always played that neither of them can use it, but re-reading the rulebook says that if there are two "attempting" to use it then neither can, which implies that one of them could not attempt to use it and the other could.

Has this been clarified before?

_________________
NAF President Emeritus
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League @ sawbbl.uk
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:46 pm 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23725
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Yes, by the rules saying that unless stated, no skill use is mandatory. The rule is written in that way in case of the event of both teams having a DC player in range of the ball.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)

Khorne and Bretonnian? Sorry, those don't exist - bring a real roster.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 7:39 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 11:10 am
Posts: 1792
Location: Bristol, UK
Darkson wrote:
Yes, by the rules saying that unless stated, no skill use is mandatory. The rule is written in that way in case of the event of both teams having a DC player in range of the ball.

+1

_________________
Time flies like an arrow, Fruit flies like a banana.
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 7:51 pm 
Kommissar Enthusiasmoff
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 11:24 am
Posts: 5707
Location: Swindon, England
Makes sense, I wonder where I got the clash from.

_________________
NAF President Emeritus
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League @ sawbbl.uk
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 3:37 pm 
Emerging Star
Emerging Star
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 6:56 pm
Posts: 433
Location: Ohio, USA
Another necro here--anything preventing each of them from using the skill in turn? We know two players can't use it at the same time (preventing opposing teams from fighting over the ball), but do we think that applies to any multiple applications of the skill to the same pass?

_________________
I was Puzzlemonkey, but now I'm Wifflebat. Please forward my mail...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 7:13 am 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2077
Location: Pasadena California
during kickoff when I am trying to steal the ball from you by kicking it near the LoS and I get lucky and it comes down next to the guy I have on the line
or blitz
or throwins
or "punts"

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 7:55 am 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23725
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Is there a question in there? If you (as the kicking team) use DC with a player in your own half to catch the ball, it's a touchback as the ball has landed in your own half.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)

Khorne and Bretonnian? Sorry, those don't exist - bring a real roster.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 7:58 am 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23725
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Wifflebat wrote:
Another necro here--anything preventing each of them from using the skill in turn? We know two players can't use it at the same time (preventing opposing teams from fighting over the ball), but do we think that applies to any multiple applications of the skill to the same pass?

Once a player uses DC it's a failed catch, which means the ball now bounces so the 2nd player can't use DC.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)

Khorne and Bretonnian? Sorry, those don't exist - bring a real roster.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:36 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2077
Location: Pasadena California
Darkson wrote:
Is there a question in there? If you (as the kicking team) use DC with a player in your own half to catch the ball, it's a touchback as the ball has landed in your own half.

I am trying to find the exact wording but I cannot find my basic rules

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:55 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2077
Location: Pasadena California
Quote:
A kick off must land in the opponent's half of the pitch. Assuming the ball lands in the receiving team's half of the pitch, then it will either land in an empty square or a square occupied by a player. If the ball lands in an empty square, it will bounce one more square. If the ball lands on a square occupied by a player, the player must try to catch the ball. If the ball scatters or bounces off the pitch or into the kicking team's half, the receiving coach is awarded a touchback and must give the ball to any player in their team.


Hmmm
The ball comes down in a square next to the line
A kicking teams player uses diving catch and snags the ball
Because the ball did not scatter or bounce into the kicking team's half it is clearly not a touchback

Hmmm

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 11:34 pm 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23725
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
DC means the ball was caught in the DCs square, which means it lands in the kicking teams half which is a touchback. First line you quoted - "must land in the opponent's half" - if you use DC on the line it didn't.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)

Khorne and Bretonnian? Sorry, those don't exist - bring a real roster.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 2:23 am 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2077
Location: Pasadena California
I have to read diving catch again

By definition of kickoff the ball lands in a square occupied by a player they must attempt to catch it

So by that definition the ball "lands" in the empty square next to the line and is either caught by the D.C. Or it bounces
Again unless he fails to catch it and it bounces across the line there is no touchback

I see where you are thinking that the player pulls it to he square and you perceive it "landing" in his square needless to say I do not agree with your precption of the ball "landing"

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 8:19 am 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23725
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Then you can disagree with the FAQ as well:
Quote:
Q: If a player from your team fails to catch a ball from a kick-off, and the ball
bounces over the line of scrimmage is it a touchback?
A: Yes, any event that causes the ball to go out of bounds or over the line of
scrimmage during a kick-off results in a touchback

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)

Khorne and Bretonnian? Sorry, those don't exist - bring a real roster.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:19 pm 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15870
Location: Indiana, USA
Darkson wrote:
A: Yes, any event that causes the ball to go ... over the line of
scrimmage during a kick-off results in a touchback
This

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Diving Catch - 2 players with the skill
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 11:13 pm 
Star Player
Star Player
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:29 pm
Posts: 609
Question: If the ball is going to land between two pieces on opposing teams that have DC, who decides if they're going to use it first or not? Person 1 might want to use it but person 2 might not. Or vice versa.

_________________
Image
-=The Elflympic Games=-
1st x1 3rd x1 Stunty Chamption x3
Anything But A One! Podcast - Updated Weekly
Support us on Patreon


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: