Team value, inducements & petty cash

Don't understand a particular rule or just need to clarify something? This is the forum for you. With 2 of the BBRC members and the main LRB5/6 writer present at TFF, you're bound to get as good an answer as possible.

Moderator: TFF Mods

Anacron
Rookie
Rookie

Team value, inducements & petty cash

Post by Anacron »

So this came up yesterday in our local league match.

The TV difference between my goblins and spleggy's dark elves was 220k in my favour. He declined to spend any of his own treasury on inducements, which meant it was my turn to pick them.

I went for Nobbla Blackwart and a bribe, which left 40k in inducements. I transferred 10k from my treasury, and used that to help purchase another bribe.

This is the way I've played inducements for ever (since I started playing BB in about 2004) and no opponent has had an issue with it. However spleggy pointed out that we (or well, I) should have transferred extra inducement spending money from treasury to petty cash first, and petty cash adds to TV. But this would mean the underdog transferring extra treasury cash would be completely pointless, as for every 10k extra you transfer (to spend on inducements) your TV difference decreases by 10k, making no overall difference in the amount of inducement cash available.

Having looked through the CRP (p24 of the PDF, which is marked as p28 on the footer) it looks like he may be correct and I just never read that bit properly! Or possibly something changed between when I started BB and the latest CRP. In the event we did it my way, because the other way makes no logical sense to me whatsoever, but it would be good to figure out for future league matches if this was wrong. :)