Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Choose not to use Mighty Blow?
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 12:27 am 
Emerging Star
Emerging Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:39 am
Posts: 455
Location: Norsca
Can a player choose not to use Mighty Blow on a block, if he has it?

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Choose not to use Mighty Blow?
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 12:53 am 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:30 am
Posts: 4834
Location: Atlanta, GA., USA: Recruiting the Walking Dead for the Blood Bowl Zombie Nation
Bakunin wrote:
Can a player choose not to use Mighty Blow on a block, if he has it?


Page 14 of Icepelt under skills says yes.... Unless something in the skill description overrides this....

_________________
LRB6/Icepelt Edition: Ah!, when Blood Bowl made sense....
GW attacked the community;
NAF supports GW;
elF them both!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Choose not to use Mighty Blow?
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 8:19 am 
Experienced
Experienced

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 12:44 pm
Posts: 150
Sure, why not, skills are optional. (in crp at least, and have not seen that it has changed)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Choose not to use Mighty Blow?
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:15 am 
Super Star
Super Star

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 4:12 pm
Posts: 966
Trying to be nice to those poor little stunties eh?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Choose not to use Mighty Blow?
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 1:33 pm 
Super Star
Super Star

Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 10:38 am
Posts: 927
Itchen Masack wrote:
Trying to be nice to those poor little stunties eh?


I've benefited from this, my opponent rolled 9 on the injury roll vs one of my skinks. He also wanted me to beat my next opponent to improve his own chances at the playoffs. So he decided not to use MB, took the BH, and I had the player the next game.

There's an incredibly rare situation if a player has both Stunty and Thick Skull. By the Stunty description, 7 on the injury roll is a KO, and with Thick Skull, 8 is Stunned. If you roll a 7 on the injury roll, it's better to not use Mighty Blow and take the KO, rather than using it and stunning your opponent.

A more bloodthirsty choice is if you're actively attempting to kill a Stunty player, for a bounty or something. If you roll 8 on the injury roll, Mighty Blow would turn that to 9 (auto BH) - the player is then "safe". If you choose not to use MB, the opponent is KO and might come back, potentially giving you another shot at getting a "real" casualty.

_________________
"It's 2+ and I have a reroll. Chill out. I've got this!"
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Choose not to use Mighty Blow?
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 4:14 pm 
Experienced
Experienced

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 12:44 pm
Posts: 150
Also sometimes opponent players can tactically obstruct more or be used for chainpushing if they are stunned and not KOd.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Choose not to use Mighty Blow?
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:52 pm 
Super Star
Super Star

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:05 pm
Posts: 771
Itchen Masack wrote:
Trying to be nice to those poor little stunties eh?

most often case, i do not used mighty blow, is related to push-push process. (like one-turn touchdown)
sometime, you need a square to busy, to be able to do the next chain-push.

not using mighty blow, might help NOT to break the oponent armor, or NOT to KO him, on a pow

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: