Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:38 am 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:03 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Bristol
What happen if a player with claw block a chainsaw with more than armour 7 (human, dwarf, orc...).

Do claw apply before the +3 bonus of chainsaw?

I can understand that it is in that way but feels bit awkward. I can't see how the claw helps the chainsaw to break the armour combined.

The fluff is broken here XD

_________________
Image
Champion: Chimera Cup '17
Runner-Up: Exebowl '15; GertBowl '17; Exebowl '17
Stunty Cup: Exebowl '14; Bubba Bowl '17
Others: Crumb-bowl '16 (SChWing); SAWBBowl '17 (SChWing), Christmas Chainsaw Massacre '17 (Chainsaw CAS)
Wooden Spoon: Gert Bowl '14


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:23 am 
Kommissar Enthusiasmoff
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 11:24 am
Posts: 5547
Location: Swindon, England
No. Claw only applies if a player is knocked down during a block. The chainsaw test is done to see "if" a player gets knocked down.

_________________
NAF President
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League @ sawbbl.uk
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:40 am 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:03 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Bristol
sann0638 wrote:
No. Claw only applies if a player is knocked down during a block. The chainsaw test is done to see "if" a player gets knocked down.

Ah, cool. Same way that with MB.

And... Chainsaw and DP? Can they both be combined to have +4 in a foul?

_________________
Image
Champion: Chimera Cup '17
Runner-Up: Exebowl '15; GertBowl '17; Exebowl '17
Stunty Cup: Exebowl '14; Bubba Bowl '17
Others: Crumb-bowl '16 (SChWing); SAWBBowl '17 (SChWing), Christmas Chainsaw Massacre '17 (Chainsaw CAS)
Wooden Spoon: Gert Bowl '14


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:45 am 
Star Player
Star Player
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:39 am
Posts: 666
Location: Berlin, Germany
dreamscreator wrote:
What happen if a player with claw block a chainsaw with more than armour 7 (human, dwarf, orc...).

Do claw apply before the +3 bonus of chainsaw?

I can understand that it is in that way but feels bit awkward. I can't see how the claw helps the chainsaw to break the armour combined.

The fluff is broken here XD


The claw player blocks the chainsaw player (with AV8+).
If the chainsaw is knocked down, an armour roll is made with +3 for knocking the chainsaw down, ie 2d6 + 3 >7 to at least stun the chainsaw player.

dreamscreator wrote:
And... Chainsaw and DP? Can they both be combined to have +4 in a foul?


Yes, or +3 on the armour roll and then +1 on the injury roll

_________________
Image
Peddas Blood Bowl Blog


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:52 am 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:03 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Bristol
sann0638 wrote:
No. Claw only applies if a player is knocked down during a block. The chainsaw test is done to see "if" a player gets knocked down.

Pedda wrote:
The claw player blocks the chainsaw player (with AV8+).
If the chainsaw is knocked down, an armour roll is made with +3 for knocking the chainsaw down, ie 2d6 + 3 >7 to at least stun the chainsaw player.


This two are contradictory...

_________________
Image
Champion: Chimera Cup '17
Runner-Up: Exebowl '15; GertBowl '17; Exebowl '17
Stunty Cup: Exebowl '14; Bubba Bowl '17
Others: Crumb-bowl '16 (SChWing); SAWBBowl '17 (SChWing), Christmas Chainsaw Massacre '17 (Chainsaw CAS)
Wooden Spoon: Gert Bowl '14


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 12:24 pm 
Star Player
Star Player
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:39 am
Posts: 666
Location: Berlin, Germany
dreamscreator wrote:
sann0638 wrote:
No. Claw only applies if a player is knocked down during a block. The chainsaw test is done to see "if" a player gets knocked down.

Pedda wrote:
The claw player blocks the chainsaw player (with AV8+).
If the chainsaw is knocked down, an armour roll is made with +3 for knocking the chainsaw down, ie 2d6 + 3 >7 to at least stun the chainsaw player.


This two are contradictory...


Yes, they are. I think sann0638 missed that you wrote "block". If the chainsaw was attacking the claw player and then failed the kick back, ie rolled a 1, then claw would not be applied.

_________________
Image
Peddas Blood Bowl Blog


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 12:38 pm 
Kommissar Enthusiasmoff
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 11:24 am
Posts: 5547
Location: Swindon, England
I did. Pedda's right. I shouldn't write stuff at work, too quick...

_________________
NAF President
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League @ sawbbl.uk
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 12:51 pm 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:03 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Bristol
No probs.

I suspect that it was working as Pedda said. Logic by rule but bit awkward

_________________
Image
Champion: Chimera Cup '17
Runner-Up: Exebowl '15; GertBowl '17; Exebowl '17
Stunty Cup: Exebowl '14; Bubba Bowl '17
Others: Crumb-bowl '16 (SChWing); SAWBBowl '17 (SChWing), Christmas Chainsaw Massacre '17 (Chainsaw CAS)
Wooden Spoon: Gert Bowl '14


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:19 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2074
Location: Pasadena California
the fun is adding in mighty blow

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 9:24 pm 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:03 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Bristol
daloonieshaman wrote:
the fun is adding in mighty blow

MB help you with the injury but not breaking armour, and it's a shame.

_________________
Image
Champion: Chimera Cup '17
Runner-Up: Exebowl '15; GertBowl '17; Exebowl '17
Stunty Cup: Exebowl '14; Bubba Bowl '17
Others: Crumb-bowl '16 (SChWing); SAWBBowl '17 (SChWing), Christmas Chainsaw Massacre '17 (Chainsaw CAS)
Wooden Spoon: Gert Bowl '14


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 1:12 am 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23664
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Why? The Blocking player can still use MB.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)

Khorne and Bretonnian? Sorry, those don't exist - bring a real roster.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 2:38 am 
Veteran
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:03 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Bristol
My understanding is that you roll armour to know if the player is knock down, then you roll injury with MB.

Can you use MB against a player isn't knock down?

_________________
Image
Champion: Chimera Cup '17
Runner-Up: Exebowl '15; GertBowl '17; Exebowl '17
Stunty Cup: Exebowl '14; Bubba Bowl '17
Others: Crumb-bowl '16 (SChWing); SAWBBowl '17 (SChWing), Christmas Chainsaw Massacre '17 (Chainsaw CAS)
Wooden Spoon: Gert Bowl '14


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Claw + Chainsaw
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:34 am 
Star Player
Star Player
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:39 am
Posts: 666
Location: Berlin, Germany
dreamscreator wrote:
My understanding is that you roll armour to know if the player is knock down, then you roll injury with MB.

Can you use MB against a player isn't knock down?


It depends on what you're referring to?
For the chainsaw, then yes, mighty blow won't do you any good, since it's triggered for a block. For the claw player though, mighty blow is gold

_________________
Image
Peddas Blood Bowl Blog


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: