Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Failed pickup at end of game
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 12:33 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 6:59 pm
Posts: 14
So it's turn 8, the ball is in the end zone. I go to pick it up and fail. Does the game end immediately or do we roll for scatter and wait til it lands before the game ends?

In the "Picking Up the Ball" section of the rules it states "If the player drops the ball then their team suffers a turnover and their turn ends immediately". But on Page 19 in the "Turnovers" section it says "The turnover does not take place until the ball finally comes to rest."

So I'm assuming the answer is "scatter first, then game ends", which, in theory, could give your player another chance to catch the ball if it managed to bounce back to them (after a failed catch by an adjacent player or throw in from crowd), and score a td.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed pickup at end of game
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 12:37 pm 
Super Star
Super Star
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:40 am
Posts: 1010
Location: Chorley, Lancashire
Dropped pick up ball will end the game, that is a turn over

Failed catch you would scatter as someone else on your team could catch the ball before it came to rest.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed pickup at end of game
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 1:28 pm 
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 11:10 am
Posts: 1681
Location: Bristol, UK
Deleted: I was talking rubbish

_________________
Time flies like an arrow, Fruit flies like a banana.
Image


Last edited by Loki on Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed pickup at end of game
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:13 pm 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23581
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
Potential TD.

The turn doesn't end until the ball comes to rest, so if you're lucky enough for it to scatter into the square of a team-mate in the EZ who catches the ball you score.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed pickup at end of game
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:18 pm 
Kommissar Enthusiasmoff
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 11:24 am
Posts: 5423
Location: Swindon, England
Wasn't this clarified before? Not that it's on my list...

_________________
NAF President
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League @ sawbbl.uk
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed pickup at end of game
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:22 pm 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23581
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
I thought so to, so went hunting, but it was a Failed GFI to score that scattered to a team-mate (not that that makes any difference):
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=41277&start=30#p742069

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed pickup at end of game
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:28 pm 
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 11:10 am
Posts: 1681
Location: Bristol, UK
Darkson wrote:
I thought so to, so went hunting, but it was a Failed GFI to score that scattered to a team-mate (not that that makes any difference):
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=41277&start=30#p742069


Yep but Tom's comclusions are still valid...

GalakStarscraper wrote:
Went through to make sure I read everything and this would be my ruling:

1) Nothing on page 8 says the TURN ends immediately ... its say the ACTION ends immediately and that the TURN enters into a wrap up process.

2) In addition to not saying explicitly that the turn ends immediately, it in fact says that many things happen BEFORE the turn ends as a wrap-up to the turn. Making it clear that there are many events that take place before the turn ends.

3) When we read page 15 and see the text "at the end of any of your players' Actions". We look at the items from 1 and 2 above.
a) Is the Action ended, YES.
b) Is the turn ended when the player has the ball in his possession, NO.
So that would mean that the condition for the touchdown has been met.

As another look at it: Move the GFI to the other end of the pitch and now have an opponent catch the ball. Would you argue that this is not TD? I would say the wording of the rulebook makes it clear that it is a TD. So in effect saying the scenario under discussion is not a TD would suggest rules in direct opposition to each other for how TD scoring works. That was definitely not the spirit of the game design.

A 2nd another way to look at this ... the game was not designed to have inconsistent rulings just based on what turn it is. If the scenario happened on turns 1 to 7 ... no one would argue that a TD has been scored. So to say that Turn 8 has a different ruling was really not in the spirit of the game design. However ... I do not think this is an issue as to my read a TD is scored with the current wording in the rulebook.

Galak


That's was from CRP was original question related to BB2016?

_________________
Time flies like an arrow, Fruit flies like a banana.
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: