Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GFI and the "unmodified 6" rule
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 11:55 am 
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 1:12 am
Posts: 1582
Is a 6 always a successful roll when trying to GFI?


[Edit] Made the topic title a little clearer, helps with searching - Darkson


Last edited by Darkson on Thu Aug 31, 2017 1:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Made the topic title a little clearer, helps with searching


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GFI
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 12:08 pm 
Super Star
Super Star
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 8:25 pm
Posts: 1099
Location: Chelmsford, Essex (UK)
GFIs are not modified. You only fail a GFI on a roll of a 1.

_________________
Image
Have played 22 out of the 24


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GFI
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 12:17 pm 
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 1:12 am
Posts: 1582
Yes in blizzard and on some stadiums and with special play cards you can go any number of GFI with modifiets


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GFI
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 12:18 pm 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23581
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
I think the question is related to this: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=44335 where GFI are modified.

Looking through the books (CRP and BB2016) it looks like the "1 is a fail, 6 is a pass" is only listed on pages where it's talking about Agility rolls (pass, catch for example) so I don't think it does, but I sort of recall it being mentioned somewhere else in the rules, but I'm not sure.

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GFI
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 12:46 pm 
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 1:12 am
Posts: 1582
GOING FOR IT!When a player takes any Action apart from a Block, they may try to move one or two extra squares over and above the number that they are normally allowed to move – this is called ‘going for it’ or GFI. NOTE: if a rule refers to a player’s ‘normal movement’ do not include the one to two GFI squares. Roll a D6 for the player after they have moved each extra square. On a roll of 1 the player trips up and is Knocked Down in the square that they moved to. Roll to see if he was injured. On any other roll the player moves without mishap. If the player is Knocked Down then his team suffers a turnover and their turn ends immediately.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GFI
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 1:39 pm 
Experienced
Experienced
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:42 pm
Posts: 96
stashman wrote:
GOING FOR IT!When a player takes any Action apart from a Block, they may try to move one or two extra squares over and above the number that they are normally allowed to move – this is called ‘going for it’ or GFI. NOTE: if a rule refers to a player’s ‘normal movement’ do not include the one to two GFI squares. Roll a D6 for the player after they have moved each extra square. On a roll of 1 the player trips up and is Knocked Down in the square that they moved to. Roll to see if he was injured. On any other roll the player moves without mishap. If the player is Knocked Down then his team suffers a turnover and their turn ends immediately.


Yes but that can be changed by things like a Blizzard weather condition or the Go The Extra Mile heroic feat.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: One-turn Pitch-Clear
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 4:42 pm 
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 1:12 am
Posts: 1582
Call for Milo and JT

Is a natural 6 always a successful roll when GFI no matter how many extra steps you take with the card?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GFI and the "unmodified 6" rule
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 10:52 pm 
Ex-Cyanide/Focus toadie

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:55 pm
Posts: 2446
Location: Near Reading, UK
Loving the potential exploit someone came up with on FB if it is the case that a 6 always succeeds for a GFI...
Quote:
Anybody can one-turn touchdown, but can you one-turn pitch-clear? I think so...

Go The Extra Mile (Heroic Feat)
Play at the start of any of your turns, before any of your players takes an Action.
Pick a player on your team. Until the end of your turn, that player can Go For It any number of times. Each attempt after the second (or third, if they have the Sprint skill) has a cumulative -1 modifier to the dice roll to see whether they fail.

Kingmaker Play (Benefits of Training)
Play at the start of any of your turns, before any of your players takes an Action.
Pick a player on your team and make an Action with them. Each time you make a dice roll for that player this turn, you can choose the result instead of rolling (make any Armour rolls and Injury rolls as normal). However, you suffer a turnover immediately after that player finishes their Action.

Now.... let's say you have a player with Ball & Chain on your team. Assuming you're lucky enough to draw these two cards, this is a one-turn pitch-clear, correct?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GFI and the "unmodified 6" rule
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:22 am 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15848
Location: Indiana, USA
After reading the discussion on Facebook and going back through the rulebook, I see a strong argument that a 6 can fail for a GFI roll if the modifier is -5. Since the base rules didn't have the possibility the rule of 1 and 6 was not written into the GFI rules. The rule of 1 and 6 is only listed and discussed for AG rolls. So with all that in mind ... I would have to agree that a 6 can fail a GFI if there is a -5 or more modifier to the roll.

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GFI and the "unmodified 6" rule
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:57 am 
Veteran
Veteran

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 2:22 pm
Posts: 273
Location: Melbourne, Australia
dode74 wrote:
Loving the potential exploit someone came up with on FB if it is the case that a 6 always succeeds for a GFI...


On facebook? I posted it on TFF, and someone copied it over. Actually, it was posted on Ausbowl first, the idea being a combined Melbourne Blood Bowl League effort - we're so proud.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GFI and the "unmodified 6" rule
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 5:36 am 
Da Spammer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:04 pm
Posts: 23581
Location: Fundamentaling for the BB Illuminati
dode74 wrote:
Loving the potential exploit someone came up with on FB if it is the case that a 6 always succeeds for a GFI...

*cough* viewtopic.php?f=20&t=44335 *cough*

_________________
SWTC 2017 Stunty Cup winner - never again (until next time!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GFI and the "unmodified 6" rule
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 9:25 am 
Ex-Cyanide/Focus toadie

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:55 pm
Posts: 2446
Location: Near Reading, UK
See, when people post these things in the wrong sub-forum they get missed :P


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: