Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Passing IN tackle zones
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:45 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:46 am
Posts: 40
Location: Rotherham, UK
Im just checking we played this right last night...

Human (AG3) Thrower has the ball, hes in 3 HElf tackle zones, his pass is measured to be a 'Long-Bomb' so would need a 6.

* Because of the 3 TZs the Thrower was in we ruled that anything LESS than a 5 was a FUMBLE (1 auto fail - 2,3,4 because of the 3 TZs)

* A 5 (in this case) would be an inaccurate pass

* A 6 would be an accurate pass

The Thrower rolled a 3 then another 3 (Pass Skill) so we declared it a FUMBLE... did we get it right? Hope so...

Cheers


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Passing IN tackle zones
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:51 pm 
Veteran
Veteran

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 10:21 am
Posts: 264
Yes and no.

Yes: 3 reroll 3 is a fumbbl.
No: A 5 is not inaccurate but also a fumbbl, because the modifier for the long bomb is -2 (and with the 3 TZs makes the modifier for the roll -5). Roll 5-5(modifier)=0=Fumbbl.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Passing IN tackle zones
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:59 pm 
Super Star
Super Star
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:27 am
Posts: 839
Location: Glasgow
AG3 gives a default roll of 4+.
This is then modified by -2 for Long Bomb and -3 for the Tackle Zones.
In order to roll 4+ when the die has a -5 modifier, you need a 9, which is obviously impossible but a 6 still succeeds because a six is always a success.
A Fumble occurs when the roll, before or after modifiers, is 1. With a -5 modifier, a six or less would give a modified result of 1.
So, you would be Accurate on a six, and Fumble on any other result. It would not be possible to be Inaccurate in this case.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Passing IN tackle zones
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:26 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:46 am
Posts: 40
Location: Rotherham, UK
straume wrote:
Yes and no.

Yes: 3 reroll 3 is a fumbbl.
No: A 5 is not inaccurate but also a fumbbl, because the modifier for the long bomb is -2 (and with the 3 TZs makes the modifier for the roll -5). Roll 5-5(modifier)=0=Fumbbl.


Ah so the TZs effect BOTH the FUMBLE and PASS calculation... I see where we went wrong. Thankfully we got the right result if not the right way of working it out... :lol:

Cheers!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Passing IN tackle zones
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:27 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:46 am
Posts: 40
Location: Rotherham, UK
Vanguard wrote:
AG3 gives a default roll of 4+.
This is then modified by -2 for Long Bomb and -3 for the Tackle Zones.
In order to roll 4+ when the die has a -5 modifier, you need a 9, which is obviously impossible but a 6 still succeeds because a six is always a success.
A Fumble occurs when the roll, before or after modifiers, is 1. With a -5 modifier, a six or less would give a modified result of 1.
So, you would be Accurate on a six, and Fumble on any other result. It would not be possible to be Inaccurate in this case.



Thanks for clearing it up


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Board index » Blood Bowl » Rules Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot]

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: