Formations and Player Movement

Want to know how to beat your opponents, then get advice, or give advice here.

Moderators: Valen, TFF Mods

Nestyr
Experienced
Experienced

Formations and Player Movement

Post by Nestyr »

Hi all,

I don't see this discussed very often, and there is never anything stickier about it...

I've been playing Blood Bowl for many, many years, and I have finally come to the realisation that my downfall in this game is a lack of tactics regarding formations and player movement during a drive.

I am well familiar with the rules of the game, how everything works, how many dice to roll for a block, working out the number needed to make a successful dodge, etc, but I really seem to fail when it comes to setting up on attack or defence.

I'm aware of basic set ups such as a 3-4-4 defence against fast teams, and such. However, once I've done this, I'm often at a loss as to where to go from there.

On attack, I try to send two or three players through, to give myself options as to where I can get the ball to. On defence, I try to cover gaps in my line, and send a couple of players after any strays that get through. That's about the extent of my tactics - everything else is just a response to what my opponent does, which means I am hardly ever on the offensive.

It would appear that I am not very strategic in this regard.

Does anyone have any tactics, suggestions, or other helpful comments on this? It would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Nestyr

Reason: ''
"Icepelt cannot be my hero, but I wish Games Workshop could".
swilhelm73
Star Player
Star Player

Re: Formations and Player Movement

Post by swilhelm73 »

That is a big, big ask.

To pare it down a bit what team are you playing? What TV? Who are your opponents.

Smeborg
Legend
Legend

Post by Smeborg »

Nestyr - a good question. I think it is best approached as a big picture, and that you should look for a small number of general concepts that work for you.