Wood Elf/Elves Tacticum

Want to know how to beat your opponents, then get advice, or give advice here.

Moderators: Valen, TFF Mods

El_Jairo
Veteran
Veteran

Wood Elf/Elves Tacticum

Post by El_Jairo »

Maybe I missed it by bad searching but I'm lacking any dedicated thread to Wood Elf League Tactics.

I'm new to wood elves as my main team has been for Dark Elves for a decade now. In 40k my preferred race is Dark Eldar and I have the impression that Wood Elves have the same glass cannon feel.

My first question to you, the wise Wood Elf coaches, is: why would you take Block over Wrestle on a LineElf? As I see it Block is for ball-carriers and guard front liners. Since guard needs a double on a Wood Elf, I'm not planning on it with AV7 limiting the lifetime of a liner to max 2 skills?

So I have my money on Dodge, followed by Wrestle.

Now that I write this down, I do think Line Elfs need to do a lot of screening, so for this task Block is more efficient if multiple players want to break through your line. On the other hand wrestle stops the blitzing player in his movement...

So no, I have a hard time on picking Block Over Wrestle on high MA Liners.

PS: I started off with 1 WD Treeman and 9 Liners 2 TRR and 3FF for a short league and won my first game 5-0 vs Chaos, due to Fame +2 and Throw a rock KO on CW.
My impression is that the Treeman serves as the perfect roadblock to push the action towards the side-lines, where higher MA pays off.

Reason: ''
mattgslater
King of Comedy
Location: Far to the west, across the great desert, in the fabled Land of Comedy

Re: Wood Elf/Elves Tacticum

Post by mattgslater »