Rat Ogres - Are they worth it?

Want to know how to beat your opponents, then get advice, or give advice here.

Moderators: Valen, TFF Mods

Warp Fiend
Rookie
Rookie

Post by Warp Fiend »

I am new to coaching Skaven, I actually have yet to play a game with them yet. I was pretty excited about having a Rat Ogre on my team until I read the rules for them and saw the whole Wild Animal rules. I am using the 3.5 rules (I guess officialy called the 2k1 rules) in my league. So do you all think that the Rat Ogre is worth the cost and the risk of turnovers if he is outmanned and is forced to make a bad block where you can't use a reroll? I know I will try to hire the star player as I don't believe he is a Wild Animal, but I am a little uncertian as to whether or not I will want to hire a regular one... Thanks!

Reason: ''
gken1
Legend
Legend

Post by gken1 »

the new rules really do put a damper on him. Especially the no reroll rule. I buddy bought one for his skaven team expecting it to be the power that it needs to keep from getting smashed. The first game it caused 4 turnovers. 2 on double skulls, 1 on a failed dodge after blitzing, 1 on forgeting to move him first. He still got beat on too since after the turnover all his players were still standing next to enemy players.

Definitely need to get this guy block or it could be a long season.

Norse
Da Organiza

Post by Norse »

Block is one of the keys, as is clever placement..

Initially I would use him as a 'midfield' defender, using his speed and strength to keep opponents away from your end-zone. If you deliberately target low AV opponents you have a good chance of picking up casualties quickly. Always leave a linerat or 2 standing next to him.. they cannot assist him, but they CAN prevent multiple assists against him... Sneaky, huh?