3rd edition BB teams and composition

Moderator: TFF Mods

popsical
Experienced
Experienced

3rd edition BB teams and composition

Post by popsical »

Hi folks, im new to 3rd ed BB, i played 1st and up till now 2nd edition.
I love 2nd edition dearly but finding opponents these days is really hard.

Ive taken a brief look at the free download rules of 3rd edition BB and it looks good.
However the team selection options are/seem limiting, as an example i have a mongrel horde style team and an ogre team which have a mixture of races in them. In the list options of 3rd ed it seems from my quick look that i cant mix players races as much as before.
Now before i get lambasted for doing such a thing, 2nd ed had rules for animosity and dislike that stopped players doing things with other races so you may have the best mix of stats but an elf would not pass to an ork etc, so it wasnt as beardy as it seems.

I love the way this meant the team diversity was almost limitless, my question is does 3rd ed cater for wacky combo players like me?

Reason: ''
Coach
Experienced
Experienced

Re: 3rd edition BB teams and composition

Post by Coach »

First of all welcome back to the game popsical!

Also the rules aren't really 3rd edition any more. That was what came in the box in 1994, though the game isn't much different now from the core rules back then.

No one really knows for sure what "edition" we are on any more, safest thing to say is the CRP rules (compeition rules pack) which is what it sounds like you have downloaded from Games Workshop.

To answer your question you can't mix races as before as that really unbalances the games and allows you to cicumvent the disadvantages that each race has.