High Elves, Tournaments, and the Passing Game

Discuss teams, ride/hotel sharing, trash talk, and event results here

Moderators: lunchmoney, TFF Mods

Zak Hazard
Rookie
Rookie

High Elves, Tournaments, and the Passing Game

Post by Zak Hazard »

So, I plan to attend the Chaos Cup in 2015, but since I've never been to a Blood Bowl tournament before, I'm going to be taking part in the Orclahoma Bowl/Spiky Cup in Oklahoma (which is closer to me) in the spring first, as a more gentle introduction to the tournament scene.

Here's my question. I had originally planned to take my Dark Elf team, but having recently acquired an unpainted High Elf team, I'm now itching to paint the team nicely and give it a good showing at the Orclahoma Bowl - and here's my dilemma. If I build a team around a passing game, which is really what the High Elves are for, am I going to lose every single game I play? I'm an average Blood Bowl coach, and (without trying to be over-humble) I don't expect to place in the top half. Truth be told, I'd be over the moon to place somewhere in the middle of the pack. However, is the passing game going to lead to me losing every match I play?

I play Blood Bowl for fun, and for me, the passing game is an enormous amount of fun. Passing plays don't always work, but when they do, they're great. Am I completely barking up the wrong tree for wanting to play a passing game in a tournament? Even if I am, is it still worth doing it if there's a chance that the running game (particularly if it becomes a grind) isn't going to be fun for me?

In case it matters, the team I was planning on taking is as follows:

6 Linemen
2 Blockers
2 Catchers
1 Thrower
2 Rerolls

Total - 990,000