Page 1 of 1

Throw Team-mate and Always Hungry Questions

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 4:16 pm
by SkiJunkie
Okay, I'm finding the descriptions in the LRB1.3 under always hungry a bit weird.

On a 2-6 the player squirms free and is played prone in a random square. It says "do not roll for injury". Then the next paragraph says "make an armor roll for any player the squirms free". Seems like it should say something like "do not roll for injury unless the player fails his armor roll". Anyway, just wanted to clarify that the player that squirms free does get an armor roll right?

Also, since big guys can't use team reroll, you can't re-roll the always hungry roll or the squirms free roll except with pro right?

What about when the player is eaten? Can an apothecary be used to save the player?

The throwers turn ends when he either eats the player, the player squirms free, or he throws the player correct?

Lastly, does this use the pass action for the turn?

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 4:26 pm
by christer
Also, since big guys can't use team reroll, you can't re-roll the always hungry roll or the squirms free roll except with pro right?
I believe you could use leader as well.
The throwers turn ends when he either eats the player, the player squirms free, or he throws the player correct?
The throwers turn always end, no matter what happens.
Lastly, does this use the pass action for the turn?
Yes.

-- Christer, who needs to start a goblin team when this patch is released :)

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 5:07 pm
by Toby
Throw Team mate is a PASS ?
Does that mean you can't throw a player and then pass him the Ball ?

???

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 5:11 pm
by Deathwing
Toby wrote:Throw Team mate is a PASS ?
Does that mean you can't throw a player and then pass him the Ball ?

???
Correct, TTM is your Pass Action for the turn, so no you can't.

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 5:44 pm
by Toby
Since When ?

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 5:53 pm
by christer
LRB 1.2: p23, first paragraph, line 4-5:
The monster must take a Pass action
Been like that ever since at least 3rd ed (page 24 of the rulebook).

-- Christer

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 1:10 am
by Toby
If its a Pass, then its a completition if the little one Lands on his feet, right ?

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 1:44 am
by Dragoonkin
I'd say no, because it's a replacement for the Pass action, not a Pass in and of itself. But that's just my opinion.

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 1:56 am
by Toby
Well i think the action is worth a reward, and i think big guys should get SPPs.



Sidenote:
Since Ageing encourages retiering players, i think its a good thing to award more star player points.
(for example: Fouls, Throwing Team Mates, Pushed Back and Knocked Down into the Crowd)
I mean, retiering a player should be something where you have "one eye crying and one laughing".
Having more SPPs in the game would make it easier to retire injury plagued veterans.

A completion must be caught

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:09 pm
by Bevan
To qualify as a completion a pass must be accurate and the ball must be caught. If noone catches the little fella then the pass doesn't qualify as a completion. :D

On the other hand, throwing an accurate pass and having the goblin land on his feet is at least as hard as throwing a completion so it's worth considering as a house rule.

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 10:39 am
by voyagers_uk
I want to ask one thing on this subject, if the TTM action is fumbled and the player to be thrown fails his armour /injury roll and is a casualty is it a turnover if he wasn't holding the ball.

I know that it isn't if he fails his landing roll and stacks it, but what about the fumble, it doesn't say in the LRB and I just wondered as I am sure it will come up in the next game or so for me.