Page 1 of 6
The rule "must declare action before moving"
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 10:48 am
by franck_le_grand
I ask this question because in my league we don't. You can start move the player with the ball, and when you have finished moving you can say: "this guy throws the ball to that guy".
I just wanted to know how many of you actually use this rule.
IMO it ruins the fun a bit, as you in real life can start running, and then decide to throw the ball.
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 10:51 am
by DoubleSkulls
That's the rules, you have to declare actions.
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 10:53 am
by franck_le_grand
Yeah I know, but do you use it? That's the question
I mean you can choose not to use it, house rule it or whatever you want to call it.
Like when you play, you might allow a coach to take an action over if he askes you if it's allright.
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 12:23 pm
by McDeth
Absolutely, for example if a Bonehead fails his roll, then it is a distinct advantage if he can then decalre that action intended for the ogre on another player.
Also by declaring your play first, just because something doesn't quite go to plan, and you end up not blitzing or passing, then you lose that actiob for the turn also.
Its a written rule which needs to be adhered to, although i appreciate that some leagues house rule differently
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 12:24 pm
by McDeth
Absolutely, for example if a Bonehead fails his roll, then it is a distinct advantage if he can then decalre that action intended for the ogre on another player.
Also by declaring your play first, just because something doesn't quite go to plan, and you end up not blitzing or passing, then you lose that actiob for the turn also.
Its a written rule which needs to be adhered to, although i appreciate that some leagues house rule differently
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 2:11 pm
by Deathwing
McDeth is quite correct. Blitzing with an Ogre is a risky business. I in 6 times you're going to lose the Blitz action for that turn. Likewise, it's not free shot at a Blitz with a Stand Firm player who needs to dodge. If he fails his dodge and remains in his square then that is your Blitz action used.
Passing examples have already been given in the other thread.
So not declaring actions really can have quite an impact on gameplay. It's very much a deliberate rule and exists for very good reasons.
The trouble with discarding a staple rule for your league is that it's going to cause problems when you play people outside your usual league circle. It's way bigger than house ruling stuff like enforced pick-ups/catches or PO before the armour roll for example. Tweaking rules is one thing, discarding a deliberate and fundamental game mechanic is quite another.
Actually.............
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 7:48 pm
by Gorblitz!!
The living rulebook says that once per turn a player may blitz, not once per turn a player may declare a blitz.
An Ogre that fails a BH roll no longer causes a turnover so if you have an ogre, declare a blitz and bust yur BH roll then you move to the next player and declare another.
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 9:02 pm
by Longshot
i have to say Yes, but somethimes coaches dont mind.
Re: Actually.............
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 10:56 pm
by longfang
Gorblitz!! wrote:The living rulebook says that once per turn a player may blitz, not once per turn a player may declare a blitz.
An Ogre that fails a BH roll no longer causes a turnover so if you have an ogre, declare a blitz and bust yur BH roll then you move to the next player and declare another.
Apparenty not according to this poll or the rules for that matter.
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 11:10 pm
by Dave
We don't allways announce the action beforehand. Some are just waaay too obvious.
We allways do with Bonehead and stuff like that. If you don't you just encourage cheating (No I wasn't going to blitz with that silly Ogre, honest)
I voted Yes
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 11:11 pm
by MistWraith
We only requier a player declare a blitz action, not a pass.
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 11:42 pm
by Darkson
We declare all actions except basic moves, and if you don't declare you can only move, nothing else.
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 11:45 pm
by Ithilkir
Yup, we always played you must declare before doing anything with the player. Normally it was a case of fingers on the model and "Blitzes your thrower" or "pass on this guy, attempts to pickup ball.. *rolls* GHAH!!"
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 11:47 pm
by Ithilkir
I should also point out, we never forced the person to go through with the action, so you could decide not to throw the ball, but the action was wasted. Same as you never had to actually declare who you were passing to at the start of the action, just who the passer was
Well obviously, once you declared the actual pass and measured with the range ruler, you had to throw.. Or attempt to.
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 11:50 pm
by longfang
pick-ups arn't actions and don't need to be declared but letting your opponant know the intent is a safe way to play.