Goblin and reroll questions

Don't understand a particular rule or just need to clarify something? This is the forum for you. With 2 of the BBRC members and the main LRB5/6 writer present at TFF, you're bound to get as good an answer as possible.

Moderator: TFF Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
Nighthawk
Emerging Star
Emerging Star
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 3:29 pm
Location: Your endzone

Goblin and reroll questions

Post by Nighthawk »

Hi there,

I just finished a game with my Goblin team which resulted in a lot of questions

1) The goblins were allowed to roll on the handicap table (surprise :) ). The roll indicated "Knuckledusters" which gives one player the advantage of using mighty blow. But... you cannot use the MB skill for a player with ST 2. Giving it to the trolls is pointless, since they already have the skill. Is this handicap roll just wasted or am I still allowed to give it to a goblin since it is not technically the 'real' MB?
2) After my fanatic had resolved his moves and blocks, he collapsed. Can I use a team reroll to reroll this?
3) Can I use a TR to reroll the result of the collapse (cardiac arrest/knackered)? I guess not since it's some kind of injury roll.
4) Does a collapsed fanatic result in a turnover? I'd say yes but still, I'm not sure.
5) Can I use a reroll for the apothecary roll in my own team turn?

The reason why I'm asking about the rerolls is because the LRB says you can reroll 'actions', which I translate as blocks, passes, etc..., in your own team turn. The above cases do not fall into these actions but I could be misinterpreting the reroll section.

Could somebody shed some light on this? Thx

Nighthawk

Sidenote: concerning the fanatic I had a bad luck streak by rolling three '1' in a row : 1 collapse - 1 cardiac arrest - 1 apothecary failure :(

Reason: ''
User avatar
gallowin
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2002 5:55 am
Location: Austin TX

Post by gallowin »

The Fanatic is worn out, but will recover in time for the next match. Apothecaries cannot be used to heal collapsed Fanatics. A collapsed Fanatic being knocked over counts as a turnover.
This is a quote from LRB 1.3 on page 30. In my league we've been allowing TRR of the collapse roll and thus the B&C has been playing every game. This burns re-rolls but for the most part keeps them from dying. So far he's be KO & busted by the ref. We also restrict weapons heavily thus allowing the use of TRR evens things a bit.

Reason: ''
User avatar
Nighthawk
Emerging Star
Emerging Star
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 3:29 pm
Location: Your endzone

Post by Nighthawk »

Thanks gallowin,

Looking up your quote I also looked up the apothecary rules to check about the TR and noticed something I didn't know either (no apothecary roll for crowd injuries). :o

I though changes between LRB version were noted in blue?? Apparently this is not done on a consistent base. I have a printed v1.2 with some pages reprinted from v1.3 (based on the blue changes). It appears I missed a lot of new stuff. :(

Is there anywhere a complete (!) listing of all changes? I printed some lists I found over the net but those didn't mention the apothecary thing either.

Any idea's on questions 1, 3 & 5?

Nighthawk

Reason: ''
Daguun
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 3:07 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Post by Daguun »

1) That one is tricky. A fair player should let the goblins reroll another handicap (it's not as if the goblins were a great opponent). I'm not sure about the actual ruling but it might well be that one goblin gets Mighty Blow without being able to use it.

3) No. TRRs can only be used on actions carried by a player. This is certainly not an action.

5) No again, though sometimes it would be nice to be able to reroll the apothecary. :wink:

--
Daguun.

Reason: ''
User avatar
Ghost of Pariah
Legend
Legend
Posts: 2249
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 7:36 am
Location: Haunting the hallowed halls of TBB!
Contact:

Post by Ghost of Pariah »

The goblin isn't actually getting Mighty Blow but instead he's using "knuckledusters" which (I think) are brass knuckles. A goblin can use brass knuckles and therefore can have the handicap.

This is just my take on it. I have nothing to back this ruling up as official.

Reason: ''
Traitor of the NBA!


I hate you all!
User avatar
Nighthawk
Emerging Star
Emerging Star
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 3:29 pm
Location: Your endzone

Post by Nighthawk »

As you say, it seems logical he can use the knuckledusters, regardless of his ST.

I can't imagine a handicap roll depending upon the race. Just wanted to know your opinions.
Thx

Reason: ''
User avatar
gallowin
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2002 5:55 am
Location: Austin TX

Knuckledusters, 3 & 5

Post by gallowin »

Pariah wrote:The goblin isn't actually getting Mighty Blow but instead he's using "knuckledusters" which (I think) are brass knuckles. A goblin can use brass knuckles and therefore can have the handicap.

This is just my take on it. I have nothing to back this ruling up as official.
KNUCKLEDUSTERS: A player of your choice in your team counts as having mighty blow for this match only.
The player doesn't actually get Mighty Blow, just counts as having mighty blow for the game. I agree with Pariah, give the peck some brass knuckles. Remind your opponent to wear a cup. (A coach in our league has 9 casualties in 2 games with his goblins)

To answer questions 3 & 5, both fall under the "TRR only used for player's actions" clause. No way should you re-roll apothecary or the result of the collapse. IMO your apoth is a re-roll to prevent an injury and this would be re-rolling a re-roll.

Reason: ''
Post Reply