Page 1 of 2
How should bloodlust and hypnotic gaze be handled?
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:07 am
by Wismerhill
Since hypnotic gaze ends your turn imedeatly i ask myself if you can use ist after making your bloodlust move.
The question arose in our league play and i had problems answering it. My guess was you cant use it cause your turn would end but im not really sure.
How do you handle this? Is there an official statement for this topic?
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:18 am
by DoubleSkulls
You can use HG at the end of a blood lust move - since the effect of BL is to cause you to convert your action into a move action - and you can HG at the end of a move action.
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:20 am
by Darkson
Code: Select all
Hypnotic Gaze (Racial Characteristic)
The player has a powerful telepathic ability that he can use to stun an
opponent into immobility. The player may use the hypnotic gaze at the
end of any Move action on one opposing player who is in an adjacent
square. Make an Agility roll for the player with hypnotic gaze, with a -1
modifier for each opposing tackle zone on the player with hypnotic gaze
other than the victim's. If the Agility roll is successful, then the opposing
player loses his tackle zone and may not catch or pass the ball, assist
either player on a block or foul, or move voluntarily for the rest of the
team turn. If the Agility test is failed, then the hypnotic gaze has no
effect.
It doesn't say it ends your turn, it says you use it at the end of any Move action.
Bloodlust allows you to use a Move action before biting a thrall.
So yes, Hypno Gaze can be used during Bloodlust.
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:17 am
by Joemanji
As they say, you can absolutely use HypnoGaze during a Bloodlust move.

Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 1:02 pm
by Wismerhill
Ok, thank you. Its quite fundamental since the bloodlust move is not so useless after all if you can steal tackle zones with it.
Re: How should bloodlust and hypnotic gaze be handled?
Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:48 am
by gandresch
Hi,
what comes first, BL or HG?
When i use HG on a player and BL comes after this skill use, i am able to hypnotize a player and then be send off without perhaps even being able to bite a thrall.
If the bite comes first and HG is handled as the last thing during a turn, then i break the rules of the BL skill, which says, that it is used at the end of the action.
I would go with HG as the last skill to use, even after BL, because it just makes more sense.
Greets,
gan
Re: How should bloodlust and hypnotic gaze be handled?
Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 6:14 am
by alternat
gaze first, then bite.
Re: How should bloodlust and hypnotic gaze be handled?
Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 10:39 am
by Grumbledook
the only things you do after the bite are passes, hand offs and scoring as per the bloodlust rule
everything else you do before you bite, so gaze then bite as already stated
Re: How should bloodlust and hypnotic gaze be handled?
Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 9:37 pm
by Podfrey
Think about it.
Bloodlust. 1. Move Action. HG. Remove TZ. No thrall to bite. Sent to Reserves. Turn over. Opponent regains TZ on next action.
In practice of little use. Perhaps for the old comedy HG the waiting catcher but that's about it.
Re: How should bloodlust and hypnotic gaze be handled?
Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:29 pm
by daloonieshaman
Podfrey wrote:Think about it.
Bloodlust. 1. Move Action. HG. Remove TZ. No thrall to bite. Sent to Reserves. Turn over. Opponent regains TZ on next action.
In practice of little use. Perhaps for the old comedy HG the waiting catcher but that's about it.
Opponent does not regain tackle zones until the vamps new turn
How can he pass or move (along with the other stuff) if it is not his team turn?
Re: How should bloodlust and hypnotic gaze be handled?
Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:19 am
by alternat
daloonieshaman wrote:[quote=""Bum Monkey""]Think about it.
Bloodlust. 1. Move Action. HG. Remove TZ. No thrall to bite. Sent to Reserves. Turn over. Opponent regains TZ on next action.
In practice of little use. Perhaps for the old comedy HG the waiting catcher but that's about it.
Opponent does not regain tackle zones until the vamps new turn
How can he pass or move (along with the other stuff) if it is not his team turn?[/quote]
opponent regains TZ when activated, in his own turn. Cannot catch passes before activation, but can do it after.
Re: How should bloodlust and hypnotic gaze be handled?
Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:23 pm
by Grumbledook
what alternat said
that means they can have no tackle zone for more than one turn, they get it back when they start their next action or the drive ends
Re: How should bloodlust and hypnotic gaze be handled?
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:57 am
by daloonieshaman
flat out don't agree
language is clear in the skill
then the opposing player loses his tackle zones and may not catch, intercept or pass the ball, assist another player on a block or foul, or move voluntarily until the start of his next action or the drive ends
You cannot Pass, Move unless it is your team turn
what is the point of stating you cannot pass or move when you state he can do it right after being hyponed on his very turn(In Your Opinion)
Wrong
so Wrong
Hey play your way
Re: How should bloodlust and hypnotic gaze be handled?
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:43 am
by Greyhound
daloonieshaman wrote:what is the point of stating you cannot pass or move when you state he can do it right after being hyponed on his very turn(In Your Opinion)
Wrong
so Wrong
Hey play your way
To prevent the player to use
Dump Off ,
Pass Block,
Shadowing.
The wording says activate, and you can activate them in your turn. Although this has some implication.
For instance most negatrait happen when you activate: Really Stupid, Wild Animal, Blood Lust, so the opposing player does not always activate these players first. If he turnover before he has time to activate the hypnosed character then they would remain hypnosed for a while.
Furthermore you may want that player to act after the others for instance he may be the ball carrier and you want to blitz people in his tackle zone first. Until such time this player will not give assists which could be a problem.
Re: How should bloodlust and hypnotic gaze be handled?
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 2:05 am
by daloonieshaman
you still miss my original question
if he cannot move or pass while hypo ... when can he do that during the vamp turn?
I know, I know, .... on his up coming turn. whoot whoot!
so you are saying that he cannot do something until it is his intimidate team turn when he activates using an action that he cannot unless he activates? huh?
doesn't make any since to not be able to do something you cannot do unless you activate