Page 1 of 2
when to declare passing actions
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 5:38 am
by Scott King
OK,
when do people declare their pass and blitz actions? I've always played that you declare the blitz before the player moves, but you can wait to declare the pass until you're actually ready to do it, so you can wait until he's got the ball before declaring. I think that there's something in the rule book to this effect, but since it's buried under two tonnes of boxes (I'm moving) I can't look it up. Or am I just going mad in my old age?
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 7:09 am
by nouge
You must declare which action a player is going to take
before carrying out the action. For example, you might
say, “This player is going to take a block action.”
That's a new addition for the 2k1 Living Rule Book, and it indicates pretty clearly that you've got to declare what kind of action each player is taking (move, block, blitz, pass, handoff, foul) before they do anything.
So you spend a lot of time saying 'uh, this is a move action...'

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 8:32 am
by DoubleSkulls
We play that move actions are presumed, so you only have to declare blitzes, handoffs, fouls and passes.
Also we tend to play that you can declare the action at any point during the player's action before you roll any dice. So if you were blitzing you'd have to declare the blitz before you made a dodge in the same action.
Ian
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 11:15 am
by GalakStarscraper
Actually no one I know of thinks you should have to declare move or block so we don't.
The declared actions are Blitz, Foul, Pass, Handoff .... if you play in a league with spellcasters then include Cast.
Galak
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 11:28 am
by Deathwing
How can you
not declare Block on the tabletop?
Our 'declaration' usually consists of pointing...
" 'e's 'itting 'im, 2 die.." 
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 11:47 am
by Relborn
with the new bonehead rules, you really should declare your actions before moving the players (at least for the bonehead players).
Otherwise you would weaken this ability very much ...
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 12:14 pm
by Valen
Therefore, if an ogre declares a blitz, but then rolls a one on his bonehead, does this waste your blitz for your turn?
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 12:16 pm
by martynq
Valen wrote:Therefore, if an ogre declares a blitz, but then rolls a one on his bonehead, does this waste your blitz for your turn?
Yes.
Martyn
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 12:38 pm
by Valen
Harsh!
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 12:51 pm
by Deathwing
Harsh? I don't think so. Same applies to dodging with Stand Firm on a Blitz, you fail the dodge, no turnover but that's your Blitz gone.
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 1:06 pm
by GalakStarscraper
Agreed not harsh at all .... I think of it more as BALANCED!
Galak
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 1:14 pm
by Valen
Showing my inexperience here, but I was not aware that stand firm stops you failing a dodge roll. What is this rule?
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 1:23 pm
by Deathwing
If a Stand Firm player fails a dodge roll he remains standing in the square he was dodging from. Check the Stand Firm description in the LRB.
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 1:26 pm
by Valen
Cheers, keep the lessons coming, I am really enjoying this.
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 2:11 pm
by Relborn
Yes and for all this reasons I think it is NECESSARY to declare the action before activating the player.