Page 1 of 1

Lost tackle zones and assists

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2002 4:40 am
by nouge
I'm pretty sure this must be old ground for many of the people here, still it's something I find a bit weird...

When an ogre or troll loses their tackle zones from Bonehead/Really Stupid, they still seem to be able to assist in blocks according to the block wording. But they can't cancel out other people's assists:
In order to make an assist, the player:

1. Must be adjacent to the enemy player
involved in the block, and...

2. Must not be in the tackle zone of any other
player from the opposing team.
This just seems to be the opposite to what should be the case, logically (if logic has any part to play in this matter :) ).

Is this a screw up in the blocking wording, or is this how it's supposed to be played?

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:02 am
by Daguun
You're right. They still can assist though they lost their TZs.
I find it weird also.

Remember you can houserule it :P

--
Daguun

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2002 7:39 am
by Zombie
That's how it is, it's how it's supposed to be played, and it's how it's been for a very long time. I may have found it weird also the first game or so, but i quickly got used to it. It's been years now, and i find it perfectly normal. Maybe they srewed up with my mind. Or maybe it just doesn't matter much either way and that's why i don't mind to keep it the way it is.

Edit: typo.

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2002 11:05 am
by GalakStarscraper
Actually we did a big poll of Blood Bowl coaches on this one several months ago.

About 80% of coaches play and believe that the player with the lost TZ should NOT be able to assist.

This is one of the items on the list for the BBRC to consider for October. Zombie was one of the very few coaches in the survey who knew the correct rule for this one. Even Neo believed the Ogre shouldn't assist.

Galak