Page 1 of 1
push the ball or the player?
Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2002 8:49 am
by Nagash
If you in a given block has the opportunity to push the blocked player into a square containing the ball or a player - are you free to choose?
in that case - what happens to the ball - does it scatter? or does it follow normal "block-push" routines?
thx,
Nagash
Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2002 8:54 am
by sean newboy
ball scatters
Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2002 11:56 am
by GalakStarscraper
And you HAVE to choose the square with the ball or a square with a player.
Galak
Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2002 12:06 pm
by nouge
The square with the ball counts as an empty sqaure for push backs - so you would have to push them there rather than into a player.
Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2002 3:05 pm
by DoubleSkulls
LRB 1.3 pp 11
Push Backs: A player that is pushed back as a result of a block must be moved one square away from the player making the block, as shown in the diagrams. The coach of the player who made the block may decide which square the player is moved to. The player must be pushed back into an empty square if possible. If all such squares are occupied by other players, then the player is pushed into an occupied square, and the player that originally occupied the square is pushed back in turn.
So it all depends on whether or not a square containing the ball counts as "empty".
I'd say so, as the rest of the text refers to players.
Ian
Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:40 pm
by Nagash
ianwilliams wrote:LRB 1.3 pp 11
Push Backs: A player that is pushed back as a result of a block must be moved one square away from the player making the block, as shown in the diagrams. The coach of the player who made the block may decide which square the player is moved to. The player must be pushed back into an empty square if possible. If all such squares are occupied by other players, then the player is pushed into an occupied square, and the player that originally occupied the square is pushed back in turn.
So it all depends on whether or not a square containing the ball counts as "empty".
I'd say so, as the rest of the text refers to players.
Ian
... but it doesn´t say specifically does it?
.. not meaning to be a rule-bender, but in some cases it could make a huge difference whether to scatter the ball or not.....
... something for the october review perhaps?
Nagash
Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2002 8:34 pm
by SixFootDwarf
A player can fill a square up....the ball cannot. I'd treat it as saying "push the opponent into any adjacent square not occupied by another player (standing or otherwise)".
Posted: Thu Oct 03, 2002 3:34 pm
by franck_le_grand
But can you choose who you want to push the pushedback player into, between a standing or a prone player or is there a surden order, like: Always push a player into a standing player instead of a prone player.
Posted: Thu Oct 03, 2002 3:53 pm
by GalakStarscraper
Okay several things
1) This does not need to go on the October list. The ball does not occupy a square ... if it did you could never enter the square. So for pushbacks the square is not occupied.
2) A player is a player whether prone, stunned, or standing. If you have a pushback where all squares have players then you can choose any of the 3 .. they are all equal.
Galak
Posted: Fri Oct 04, 2002 5:36 pm
by franck_le_grand
Thanks for the clarification!
