Page 1 of 1

Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:25 am
by Welshy
If this skill is used on a dodge roll and this didge is re-rolled (via TRR or skill) is the -2 modifier applied to the reroll as well?

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:53 am
by Fat_Emrys
Yes (and the DT player stays prone even if the reroll is high enough for DT not to affect it).

There's a possibly clearer confirmation here

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 11:06 am
by Grumbledook
Any skill that effects the first roll will effect any rerolls

you can use diving tackle on the second roll even if you didn't use it on the first as well

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:24 pm
by alternat
Grumbledook wrote:you can use diving tackle on the second roll even if you didn't use it on the first as well
and generally you don't, since if you don't DT and the opponent have to use the reroll, this means that the dodge was a failure in itself

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:34 pm
by Grumbledook
not sure what you are getting at there saying generally you don't?

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 1:13 pm
by alternat
Grumbledook wrote:not sure what you are getting at there saying generally you don't?
if I didn't use DT on the fisrt dodge roll, this means that
- I wish to let my opponent go away safe (he made his dodge)
- my opponent fell to the ground (he failed)

in the first case, my opponent most likely won't use his dodge reroll.
in the second, most likely he will, and I can use DT to make him fail again.

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 2:06 pm
by duckwing
alternat wrote:
Grumbledook wrote:not sure what you are getting at there saying generally you don't?
if I didn't use DT on the fisrt dodge roll, this means that
- I wish to let my opponent go away safe (he made his dodge)
- my opponent fell to the ground (he failed)

in the first case, my opponent most likely won't use his dodge reroll.
in the second, most likely he will, and I can use DT to make him fail again.
And what do you mean by saying that you generally don't use DT if the opponent uses a RR to roll the dodge roll again?

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 10:14 pm
by alternat
duckwing wrote:And what do you mean by saying that you generally don't use DT if the opponent uses a RR to roll the dodge roll again?
oh, com'on... you understood perfectly what I meant.

do you like gamebooks?
ok

1) opponent roll to dodge
- opponent fails, go to 2
- opponent succeeds, go to 4

2) opponent should fall to the ground
- opponent doesn't use a reroll, go to 3
- opponent already used his reroll, go to 3
- opponent uses a reroll, go to 1

3) opponent falls, I roll for armor, maybe injury and possibly casualty. I don't need to use DT. Turnover.

4) I declare DT, go to the ground in his square and opponent adds +2 to the roll needed to dodge
- go to 1

as you can see, I can reach point 4 (use of DT) only if my opponent succeed in his first dodge, or fail and chose to reroll.
if he do it with a skill, or with a TRR, just doesn't matter.

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 10:20 pm
by Grumbledook
i think what you said wasn't clear as a response to what i said

you just confused matters by essentially agreeing with what i put ;]

i disagree with you saying that generally you don't use diving tackle on the first roll, I think that is perhaps where the miscommunication came in as that was what it sounded like you were saying

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 10:45 am
by alternat
Grumbledook wrote:i think what you said wasn't clear as a response to what i said

you just confused matters by essentially agreeing with what i put ;]

i disagree with you saying that generally you don't use diving tackle on the first roll, I think that is perhaps where the miscommunication came in as that was what it sounded like you were saying
yes, maybe it could be read as a contradiction, while I was only supporting your statement.

but you'd agree that if you don't use DT on the first roll it is because you don't need to, not because you don't want to. :wink:

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:06 pm
by duckwing
alternat wrote:
duckwing wrote:And what do you mean by saying that you generally don't use DT if the opponent uses a RR to roll the dodge roll again?
oh, com'on... you understood perfectly what I meant.

do you like gamebooks?
ok

1) opponent roll to dodge
- opponent fails, go to 2
- opponent succeeds, go to 4

2) opponent should fall to the ground
- opponent doesn't use a reroll, go to 3
- opponent already used his reroll, go to 3
- opponent uses a reroll, go to 1

3) opponent falls, I roll for armor, maybe injury and possibly casualty. I don't need to use DT. Turnover.

4) I declare DT, go to the ground in his square and opponent adds +2 to the roll needed to dodge
- go to 1

as you can see, I can reach point 4 (use of DT) only if my opponent succeed in his first dodge, or fail and chose to reroll.
if he do it with a skill, or with a TRR, just doesn't matter.
I did not acutally. This "make your own adventure"-gamebook :lol: only confused me more as to what your point was. But I went back to read your first post, and I think what you mean was that most of the cases where you use DT is when you opponent has already failed a dodge (whithout you needing to use DT) and then re-rolled the dodge (either with a team RR or the skill Dodge). Am I correct?

Not that it matters in the larger scheme of life :P

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:21 pm
by alternat
duckwing wrote:I think what you mean was that most of the cases where you use DT on a second roll is when your opponent has already failed a dodge (whithout you needing to use DT) and then re-rolled the dodge (either with a team RR or the skill Dodge). Am I correct?
yes, including my fix.
the argument was all about the second roll.
Not that it matters in the larger scheme of life :P
maybe it does for grumbledook... :D

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 10:33 pm
by duckwing
alternat wrote:
duckwing wrote:I think what you mean was that most of the cases where you use DT on a second roll is when your opponent has already failed a dodge (whithout you needing to use DT) and then re-rolled the dodge (either with a team RR or the skill Dodge). Am I correct?
yes, including my fix.
the argument was all about the second roll.
Then I understand. I don't agree- I think about half the times you use DT on the second dodge roll is when you used it on the first roll, forcing your opponent to use his re-roll - but unless someone has done a any statistical research in the matter we'll never know :)

Re: Diving Tackle - some clarification sought

Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:46 pm
by funnyfingers
I think he is just saying that since you can choose to use DT after seeing the roll, that you don't necessarily need to use DT on the first roll anyway. Though the word generally makes it seems like it is a choice not to use it when in fact it is all up to the dice. You would use DT on a 3 AG dodger's first roll 66% of the time (hardly generally). If you used it you can say it always applies to the second roll.

If you don't use it on the first, you use it 66% of the time for the second.

Again I think the confusion was saying generally like as in a rule of thumb or a suggested tactic.