Page 1 of 1

The wizard spell out of turn

Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:35 am
by Greyhound
Hi,

I followed interestingly the Wizard Spell Casting sequence in this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=31543

and I was interested in understanding Tom's answer:
Wizards are ONLY used BETWEEN turns. So its not a turnover and the opponents turn has not started.
That made a lot of sense until I read the rule of the fireball again:
Fireball: Choose a target square anywhere on the pitch. Roll
one dice to hit each standing player (from either team) that is
either in the target square or a square adjacent to it. If the 'to hit'
roll is a 4 or more then the target is Knocked Down. If it is a 3 or
less he manages to dodge the fireball"s blast. Make an Armour
roll (and possible Injury as well) for any player that is Knocked
Down as if they had been Knocked Down by a player with the
Mighty Blow skill. If a player on the moving team is Knocked
Down by a fireball, then the moving team does not suffer a
turnover unless the player was carrying the ball at the time.
can someone explain to me how you get to "a player of the moving team" when you are out of sequence for the turn, as well as understanding the turnover possibility outside the turn sequence.
Does that mean that if you cast a fireball at the starts of your turn and knock over your ball carrier you get:
1) no impact, the rule is redundant since you haven't started your turn yet you can't turn over
2) you wasted your turn and you suffer a turnover.

Answer: Ideally just don't cast a fireball next to your ball carrier and stop asking questions I guess :lol:

Re: The wizard spell out of turn

Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:08 am
by Ullis
Given Tom's concise answer the rule seems redundant. However, if you look at the actual wording in the rulebook for the wizard's spell sequence which says:
Wizards may only cast spells at the start of his own turn before any player performs an Action or immediately after his own team's turn has ended even if it ended with a turnover.
The first part seems to imply that a team's turn has already started. "Before any player performs an Action" indicates that the wizard can be used after moving the turn marker and starting the 4 minute countdown. In this sense the rule is indeed important. If you have a cut throat league, you could end up scanning the pitch and wondering if you need the wizard while your precious 4 minutes are running.

You could have an AG1 player holding the ball on turn 8 with three opposing players tying him up. You could try a fireball and hope that your guy doesn't fall down while giving you the opportunity to blitz yourself free instead of dodging. In this case you might well want to fireball the ball carrier's square.

Re: The wizard spell out of turn

Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:35 am
by daloonieshaman
simple
you cast
1) Start of your turn (you are the moving team)
2) end of your turn (before opponent starts his)

If somehow, at the start of your turn, you decide to use the wiz, and end up nuking your guy with the ball, your turn is over

Re: The wizard spell out of turn

Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 6:24 am
by Greyhound
Ok so it's being used in my turn, at the start or the end, but still qualifies as "my turn" when I use it.

so it's still the way I had understood it the first time.

Re: The wizard spell out of turn

Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 6:39 am
by daloonieshaman
Greyhound wrote:Ok so it's being used in my turn, at the start or the end, but still qualifies as "my turn" when I use it.

so it's still the way I had understood it the first time.
as far as casting at the end of your turn goes, it is nobody's turn so no side suffers a turnover (your turn has just ended), if a guy was holding the ball and went down

Re: The wizard spell out of turn

Posted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 4:45 am
by Darkson
Greyhound wrote:Ok so it's being used in my turn, at the start or the end, but still qualifies as "my turn" when I use it.

so it's still the way I had understood it the first time.
Just seen this one.

A Wizard can be used at 2 points:
a) At the start of your turn (before any player takes an Action)
b) After your turns ends, but before your opponent starts their turn.

So if you use the Wizard, and manage to knock down your ball carrier:
a) is a Turnover, as one of your players is Knocked Down holding the ball ("A player on the moving team is Knocked Down (being injured by the crowd or being Placed Prone is not a turnover unless it is a player from the active team holding the ball)")
b) is not a Turn Over as its neither sides turn

If the Wizard is used in b) to Knock Down the opposing sides ball carrier, its still not a Turn Over, as the opposing sides turn hasn't started yet.