Page 1 of 1
Take root without stand firm.
Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:16 am
by xzcion
Ok, my tree gets hit while rooted, and I chose not to use stand firm when I am knocked down, I assume the text of take root "A player that has taken root may not ... be pushed back for any reason" means that my choice means nothing, because I fall over in the square I am in anyway?
i.e. the effect of take root is not cancelled until after my tree is on the ground
Re: Take root without stand firm.
Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:17 pm
by Grumbledook
being knocked down cancels take root, so they can be pushed back if you elect to not use stand firm
Re: Take root without stand firm.
Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:24 pm
by Ulthuan_Express
xzcion wrote:Ok, my tree gets hit while rooted...
Who hits a treeman that's rooted?
Re: Take root without stand firm.
Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:59 pm
by GalakStarscraper
Ulthuan_Express wrote:xzcion wrote:Ok, my tree gets hit while rooted...
Who hits a treeman that's rooted?
Halfling on Halfling ... I actually did it to free up the Tackle zones for my Fling to run through rather than dodge through. But I've only had to do it once in my life.
Tom
Re: Take root without stand firm.
Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:09 pm
by Ulthuan_Express
GalakStarscraper wrote:Ulthuan_Express wrote:xzcion wrote:Ok, my tree gets hit while rooted...
Who hits a treeman that's rooted?
Halfling on Halfling ... I actually did it to free up the Tackle zones for my Fling to run through rather than dodge through. But I've only had to do it once in my life.
Tom
Once in the lifetime of an Iron Chef? I think that's at the same time as a blue moon during a month of sundays...

I was figuring casualty records, or breaking a well-anchored 'fling cage could have been the reason.
That, or insanity.
Re: Take root without stand firm.
Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:12 pm
by xzcion
ty all.
Now, please, go answer the questions in the other post :p
Re: Take root without stand firm.
Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:51 pm
by Darkson
Grumbledook wrote:being knocked down cancels take root, so they can be pushed back if you elect to not use stand firm
Surely that's incorrect? If they've Taken Root they can't be pushed back for any reason. So a Pow result on the block would result in a Push Back (which is ignored) and then a down, which would then unroot the tree. Electing to not use Stand Firm wouldn't do anything.
Re: Take root without stand firm.
Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:39 pm
by Grumbledook
then why didn't galak correct it?
spose it does say pushed back and then knocked down
so if you take the fact the knocked down part is what cancels take root, rather than the selecting for defender down they probably don't get pushed back
Re: Take root without stand firm.
Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:24 pm
by gandresch
Hi,
i would say, that the rule may be interpreted in several ways. I would have said, that a player may not be pushed and that a Push/Pow would result in only a "Pow" and so the player falls down in the same square. In this situation, the tree doesn't have the option to use SF - so is life with nega traits. The troll can't use Strong Arm on the gobo, if he has eaten the gobo before.
After all the things with Bloodlust, a clarification about this would be quite nice.
Interesting is, that the tree is not able to use DT and Wrestle, when taken root. DT ok (knew that one), but i didn't knew about Wrestle, because it would allow the tree to be placed prone with it's own skill. Therefor the tree is not allowed to use Wrestle and this results perhaps in a turnover - although it has Wrestle.
Greets,
gan
Re: Take root without stand firm.
Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 3:17 pm
by GalakStarscraper
Didn't see Grumble's post the first time.
Sorry ... yes I don't agree with Grumble.
Take Root does not allow you to be pushed back. That effect doesn't end until you are on the ground.
Galak
Re: Take root without stand firm.
Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:15 pm
by daloonieshaman
Yes according to the dice description (pg 10) you are Pushed Back then Knocked Down