Page 1 of 1
Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:23 pm
by garion
Page 15 of the CRP
In the rare event that one team has no players to set up after
KO"d rolls, both teams' turn markers are moved forward along
the turn track two spaces and if one team could field at least
one player then that team is awarded a touchdown (however no
player receives Star Player points (see page 25) for this. If this
takes the number of turns to 8 or more for both teams, then the
half ends. If there are still turns left in the half, then continue
playing as if a drive has just ended (i.e. clear the pitch and roll for KO'd players).
One thing that has puzzled me a little about this is -
If a Chaos team scores to make the game 1-1 and they have somehow killed all of their opponents' players. The turn counters would normally then be on turn 7 and turn 8 of the second half in my example. Does the chaos team get awarded the bonus touch down and win the game? Or do the turn counters end the game first and as a result mean that because there is no chance to set up again then the game just ends.
I think they get awarded the touch down, game ends, Chaos win.
But I am a little confused about this rule. Because if I am wrong then in the very unlikly event that Skaven killed all their opponents' players and scored in turn 7 of the second half then they would not get a chance to score again even though they could do it if they had a Gutter Runner with Ma 10 and sprint. Because the turn counters would get moved forward and end the game before the touch down is awarded.
I hope someone can clear this up for me.
Thanks in advance

Re: Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:37 pm
by Jimmy Fantastic
It seems very clear to me that you would award the TD, move the turn markers to 10 and 9 and then end the game.I guess Galak may be able to clarify, but I really don't think clarification is needed.
Re: Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:40 pm
by Mirascael
What Jimmy says.
Re: Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:42 pm
by garion
I think so too. But it depends on the inflection of "and if"
If "and if" means that you have to have a turn left to set up in order to be awarded the touch down then no TD should count
If "and if" is just there to clarify that the touchdown is awarded to the team with fieldable players the a touchdown should count.
Re: Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 6:21 pm
by daloonieshaman
If there is a score and your normal due turn is 7 opponent turn 8
move you turn track forward 2 spots ~~ 8+1 you and your opponent 2 spots ~~ 8+2
is either team on turn 8 or more
yes = half ends
no = the team that could field scores a touch down

Roll KO's if no players. move TM 2 spaces (time yes/no) , set up again ..
chaos will not auto score in your example and the game would end in a tie
in your other example, the Skaven would not be given the chance to do a 1 turn TD
Re: Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 6:48 pm
by Darkson
Agree with Jimmy, disagree with daloonie.
Re: Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:32 pm
by daloonieshaman
to make matters easy darkson I agree to disagree early in this one ...

Re: Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:36 am
by DoubleSkulls
If either team has turns left to play then you set up.
If one team has no players the other team is automatically awarded a TD and the clock moved forward 2 turns.
So if you score on your T16, with your opponent having no players left, you'll get a bonus TD even though you couldn't normally move.
Seems a bit wrong, but that's how I interpret what we wrote.
Re: Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:52 am
by Buggrit
Then what you've written and what you meant are two different things....
As it's written it seems clear that you move the turn marker two turns and then score meaning that you can't score a bonus 'No Players TD' in either half if you've just cleared the field and scored in your own turn 7 or 8.
Re: Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 1:00 pm
by Xeterog
why is this even a question?
The 1st sentence says:
In the rare event that one team has no players to set up after
KO"d rolls, both teams' turn markers are moved forward along
the turn track two spaces and if one team could field at least
one player then that team is awarded a touchdown (however no
player receives Star Player points (see page 25) for this.
So, if one (or both, implied) teams has no players to set up on the LOS, you move the turn markers 2 space and IF one of the teams COULD field at least one player, that team is awarded a TD.
STOP
End of sentence.
NOTE: it does NOT say you set up..it says if you COULD field at least one player--there is no set up for kick off...does one of the teams have at least one player that can set up? if yes, you get a TD (this covers the extremely rare instance of both teams being cleared from the pitch...)
Now the 2nd sentence says:
If this takes the number of turns to 8 or more for both teams, then the
half ends
So, AFTER you've done the 1st sentence, THEN you check if the number of turns is 8 or more for BOTH teams, the half ends.
and the 3rd sentence says:
If there are still turns left in the half, then continue
playing as if a drive has just ended (i.e. clear the pitch and roll for KO'd players).
So, If AFTER S1 and S2 have been checked, there are more turns left in the half, then repeat the process.
Re: Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:13 pm
by Darkson
Bingo.
Re: Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:31 pm
by Buggrit
So in Theory Dwarves/Chaos can OTS a bonus Touchdown by grinding up the pitch and scoring on their turn 8 (assuming they recieved) killing or KO'ing all the opposing team and having them then fail to bring guys back to the pitch... Getting an extra touchdown and then kicking to the opposition (assuming they can then field players) at the start of the 2nd half... LOL
Re: Automatic Touchdown Awarded query
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:58 pm
by dsavillian
Buggrit wrote:So in Theory Dwarves/Chaos can OTS a bonus Touchdown by grinding up the pitch and scoring on their turn 8 (assuming they recieved) killing or KO'ing all the opposing team and having them then fail to bring guys back to the pitch... Getting an extra touchdown and then kicking to the opposition (assuming they can then field players) at the start of the 2nd half... LOL
I think if that happens in the first half, the number of touchdowns scored is the biggest cause for concern
