Page 1 of 1

Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:29 am
by Scally09
Can you use a Team Re-Roll to catch a ball that lands in your players square on the Kick Off?

I'm unsure if it's actually your turn yet and if it is, that would be your Re-Roll used for your turn.

It came up at the weekend where a 1 turn-able Gutter Runner needed to catch the kick off to try and run the ball and 1 turn TD.

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:11 am
by lunchmoney
No you cant use a team reroll for catching the kick off. Team rerolls can only be used during your own turn and your turn has not yet started. However if your player had the Catch skill you can use that to re roll.

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:49 pm
by Smeborg
You cannot use a Team Re-roll, but you can use Catch and Pro, according to the rules.

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:15 pm
by Corvidius
Smeborg wrote:You cannot use a Team Re-roll, but you can use Catch and Pro, according to the rules.
Actually, not sure you can use Pro because a turn hasn't started yet and it says it can be used once per turn. I could be wrong.

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:06 am
by DoubleSkulls
pp18 "A team re-roll may not be used for any catch roll when the ball lands: however, players may use the Catch or Pro skill to reroll the catch roll."

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 2:06 am
by Smeborg
Unfortunately this is a rare example of a skill description falling partly in a place in the rulebook outside the Skill Descriptions!

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:31 am
by Corvidius
Thanks for clearing that up Doubleskulls.

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:58 pm
by nick_nameless
DoubleSkulls wrote:pp18 "A team re-roll may not be used for any catch roll when the ball lands: however, players may use the Catch or Pro skill to reroll the catch roll."
Maybe a slight tangent, but is it a fair assumption that you can use pro anytime a skill reroll is allowed?

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:25 pm
by Raziel_Spry
I would say so... Pro IS a skill reroll, isn't it?

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:48 pm
by DoubleSkulls
You can use it more than that
LRB6 wrote:Once per turn, a Pro is allowed to re-roll any one dice roll he has made other than Armour, Injury or Casualty, even if he is Prone or Stunned
So blocks, any agility roll, direction on the ball & chain, dauntless etc.

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:54 pm
by nick_nameless
Right, of course...But then I am talking about sticking re-rolls into odd places. Say you have a player with Leap, Pass Block and Pro (odd combo, I know). You're making a Pass Block move. You leap to get into the open and fail. Can you roll Pro here to re-roll the leap? The Dodge skill would allow a re-roll of a failed dodge in this case. Can Pro re-roll a failed dodge here?

Consider that a rhetorical question. I know that it can, I am just using it to make the point of Pro being used at a time that is not your own turn. And that's just one example. I am sure I can cook up more. The main point is that, even though the wording of Pro refers to "per turn", it seems that in practice you can also use it at any time when a skill re-roll might be appropriate.

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:06 pm
by Smeborg
nick - it's once per turn, not once in your own turn. So you can use the skill once in your turn, once in your opponent's turn, and also to catch a kick-off (which is not during a turn, but is the only such case, I think).

Hope that helps.

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:13 pm
by Corvidius
nick_nameless wrote:Right, of course...But then I am talking about sticking re-rolls into odd places. Say you have a player with Leap, Pass Block and Pro (odd combo, I know). You're making a Pass Block move. You leap to get into the open and fail. Can you roll Pro here to re-roll the leap? The Dodge skill would allow a re-roll of a failed dodge in this case. Can Pro re-roll a failed dodge here?

Consider that a rhetorical question. I know that it can, I am just using it to make the point of Pro being used at a time that is not your own turn. And that's just one example. I am sure I can cook up more. The main point is that, even though the wording of Pro refers to "per turn", it seems that in practice you can also use it at any time when a skill re-roll might be appropriate.
I would take the once per turn to mean once in your turn and once in your opponents turn. And from the fact that you can use it at kick off, once in the "turn" that kick offs are resolved. You could use pro to reroll Safe Throw in your own turn to keep hold of the ball, get blitzed and use it to reroll dump off and if you did fumble it and it bounced back onto you then potentially you can use it to reroll the catch (even though it was a turnover because of a natural 1). Am I wrong?

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 12:37 am
by DoubleSkulls
Once in your turn and once in your opponent's turn is correct. Your example seems to imply you could reroll a dump off, then a catch of a bouncing ball in the same turn - which you can't since you'd have already used it.

Re: Catching the Kick Off

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:15 pm
by nick_nameless
Yes, of course.

This falls into the same category of interpretation that some of my league mates were having trouble with recently in the reading of Grab (something about a Block Action being equivalent to throwing a block). If you just read what the rules say, and take them at face value of what they say, they probably answer the question.

Just as a Block Action is not exactly the same as throwing a block, 'Once per turn' is not meant to mean "once per your turn".

I'll try to apply that filter to my reading of the rules in the future :D