Page 1 of 3

Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 1:17 pm
by TalonBay
I just remembered something about the timing of using re-rolls and wanted to check I'm remembering correctly.

If you fumble a pick up and the ball bounces to another of your players you can re-roll the 2nd players attempt to catch it if he has catch but not using a team re-roll because your turn ended on the fumbled pick up, is that correct? Or is it the case that your turn doesn't end until the ball comes to rest?

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 1:46 pm
by DoubleSkulls
You can use a reroll to try and catch it, as you are quite right that the turn isn't over until the ball comes to rest and all dice rolls are made (e.g. armour, injury etc).

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 3:21 pm
by Darkson
I think you may be incorrect there - I'm sure this was discussed in another thread, and the use of a TRR after a turnover (but before the ball came to rest) was ruled out. It was all to do with whether you turn ended immediately, or after the ball came to rest etc.

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:40 pm
by daloonieshaman
The turn ends at the failed pickup. (no team turn re-roll for the bounce catch, the other guy can use Catch skill to attempt to roll a catch on a bounce), but it is still a turnover

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:03 pm
by DoubleSkulls
Interesting, I'd missed that one.
A coach that suffers a turnover is not allowed to take any further Actions that turn, and any Action being taken ends immediately even if it was only partially completed. Make armour and injury rolls for players that were knocked down, and if the ball was dropped then roll to see where it bounces to normally. Stunned players should be turned face up, and then the opposing coach may start to take his turn.
My interpretation of that is that the turns only end when the other one begins. So you'd finish moving the ball, unstun players and then your turn ends and the opponent's turn begins.

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 7:11 pm
by TalonBay
This was why I asked, I could sort of remember but wasn't clear what the argument was.

Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:11 pm
by landrover
But don't forget that it's only a turnover IF THE BALL TOUCHES THE GROUND. My caps cos I'm on the batphone. If your catcher fumbles it to another player on your team who catches it before it hits the dirt it's still your turn. Carry on!

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 6:39 am
by Nod_Hero
landrover wrote:But don't forget that it's only a turnover IF THE BALL TOUCHES THE GROUND. My caps cos I'm on the batphone. If your catcher fumbles it to another player on your team who catches it before it hits the dirt it's still your turn. Carry on!
Not quite, if we're talking about a failed pickup bouncing around.

Code: Select all

The following events cause a turnover:
3. A player from the moving team attempts to pick up the ball
and fails (note: failing a catch roll, as opposed to a pick up, is by
itself never a turnover) or
so as soon as the pickup fails, it's done.

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:07 am
by Darkson
If I remember correctly it came up during a discussion on the use of the wizard after your turn ended due to a turnover.

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:22 am
by DoubleSkulls
landrover wrote:But don't forget that it's only a turnover IF THE BALL TOUCHES THE GROUND. My caps cos I'm on the batphone. If your catcher fumbles it to another player on your team who catches it before it hits the dirt it's still your turn. Carry on!
You are living in the past... that isn't a turnover at all.

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:25 am
by plasmoid
We've always played it like DS says.
Even though you've suffered a turnover, it is your turn until the other guys turn has started. So team rerolls can still be used after the turnover. (IMO)

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:57 am
by daloonieshaman
If you look at the Action descriptions they all indicate that your Turn ends immediately. The Turnover summary says in fact you are done. Roll some stuff (get the ball to rest) and turn your players BEFORE your opponent is to start his turn.
It does not say:
fail your action, do a bunch of stuff, END your turn, opponents next turn

so to save you about 18 pages of discussion. NO you cannot use a team re-roll

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:07 am
by DoubleSkulls
The text I quoted only says the Action ends immediately. It doesn't say the turn ends immediately. Is there some other text you think supersedes that?

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 6:21 pm
by Xeterog
action ends..not turn. Your turn does not technically end until it's time for the opponent to move the turn marker.

let them use a RR if they want..since it's a failed pickup the turn is over anyway.

(just adding my opinion..too tired to actually look up the rules..but we have had this discussion before)

Re: Fumbled pick up and re-rolls

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 6:23 pm
by Xeterog
landrover wrote:But don't forget that it's only a turnover IF THE BALL TOUCHES THE GROUND.
nope, that has never been the case at all.

in fact from the original 3rd edition rules, there is a section about a pass that is inaccurate, bounces out of bounds (not scatters, hits the ground after scattering and bounces), gets thrown in by the crowd, but as long as one of the moving team's players ends up with the ball there is no turnover.