Page 1 of 1

Wizard Your Own Players (non-ball carrier)

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:00 am
by Iranian Spy
I feel like there's a simple answer for this but I can't seem to find it after looking at the rule book. Any help is much appreciated!

My opponent wants to use the Wizard Fireball spell on 4 of my players and one of his. He rolls to hit and nails 1 player of his (not carrying the ball) and 3 of mine. Considering that he has just nailed his own dude at the start of his turn, does he turn over?

I checked the turnover section of the rulebook and it says that since he's not carrying the ball, it is not a turnover. However, I'm pretty sure that when a bomb scatters and hits your own player that it is a turnover... though perhaps that's another query in itself.

Can anyone give a definitive answer?

Re: Wizard Your Own Players (non-ball carrier)

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:54 pm
by phil78
Pretty sure the holding the ball bit is only refering to players who are placed prone.
The turnover rule is simply "A player on the moving team is Knocked Down"

Re: Wizard Your Own Players (non-ball carrier)

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:34 pm
by GalakStarscraper
phil78 wrote:The turnover rule is simply "A player on the moving team is Knocked Down"
However the rule is overridden by this text in the rulebook:
If a player from the moving team is Knocked Down by a fireball, then the moving team does not suffer a turnover unless the player was carrying the ball at the time.

Wizard Your Own Players (non-ball carrier)

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 2:40 pm
by murley
The rule is deprecated in my opinion.

The wizard is used "before your turn or after" so no turnover is possible ;P

Re: Wizard Your Own Players (non-ball carrier)

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:16 pm
by phil78
Galak wrote:However the rule is overridden by this text in the rulebook:
I need to learn to read better :lol:

Re: Wizard Your Own Players (non-ball carrier)

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:27 pm
by Iranian Spy
So either way it's koshur to blow up your own players (without the ball) - sexy.

The only point of contention that seems to remain is if he's a ball carrier or not but I'll let ya'll duke that one out. Thanks for the input folks!

Re: Wizard Your Own Players (non-ball carrier)

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:57 pm
by Darkson
murley wrote:The wizard is used "before your turn or after" so no turnover is possible ;P
Not quite, it's used at "the start of your turn", not "before", so if you manage to fireball the ball carrier at the start, then you turnover.

Re: Wizard Your Own Players (non-ball carrier)

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:28 pm
by GalakStarscraper
murley wrote:The wizard is used "before your turn or after" so no turnover is possible ;P
Not fully correct. It happens at the START of your turn (your turn has started) or AFTER your turn has ended but before your opponent's turn starts.

In one instance it is during a turn and in the other it is between turns.

Galak