Page 1 of 1

Freebooters and Big Guys: How many?

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2003 8:00 pm
by JCook119
Hi folks,

A goblin player in our new league says that he can have 4+ Trolls on his team. While he agrees that the BG rules limit it to two, he claims that he can freeboot as many as he wants, because freebooted players do not count against any position limits (and BG limits, by his logic). I cannot find anything in the LRB to contradict this, but...

I say that he can only have two, plus Ripper Bolgrot or any other Star Player troll. Freebooting them doesn't matter, he still has to obey the BG limit. I also say that yes, freebooted players still have to obey the normal position restrictions for the particular team list that you are recruiting them for.

Which one of us is correct, or do we both need to go back to the Nuffle Academy for remedial lessons :)

Thanks,
James

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2003 8:23 pm
by Darkson
I'm pretty sure the rule is Freebooters count towards positions and BG limits, but Stars do not.

IE, a human team could have 1 rostered thrower, one freebooter and a star player thrower, but not a rostered one and 2 freebooted.

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2003 8:34 pm
by Skummy
I can't find it in the LRBB, but I'm sure that you can't freeboot extra positional players. The only way I can imagine this working for you would be if you rolled a "That boy's got talent".

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2003 8:41 pm
by High & Mighty
Freebooted positional players count against the limits but not star players. The relevant part of the LRB talks of being able to freeboot anyone who would normally play for your team.

So if you have four human blitzers, you cannot freeboot a fifth because he would not normally play for your team.

BUT, you can have four human blitzers and freeboot Griff because Star Players do not have positions. They were removed with the LRB. So you can have two BG on a gobbo team and then freeboot Morg and Ripper because neither is a Big Guy.