Page 1 of 2

Rerolling tentacles?

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 2:59 pm
by Zombie
The question seems simple enough, but is it? In 3rd ed and 4th ed, the answer would have been obviously yes. However, with the new description of the skill, it's not so obvious anymore.

Also, if you can reroll it, does your opponent then reroll his die as well, or only you?

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 3:03 pm
by Grumbledook
you only use tenticles in your opponents turn and you can't use rerolls in your opponents turn

or am i mistaken?

unless its from passblock :/

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 3:44 pm
by narkotic
hhhm, I'm not even sure if any player is entitled to re-roll his tentacles roll regardless of whose turn it is?
Why? Because IMHO it's a game mechanic and not a direct skill-check. Its basically a strength-to-strength contest. Do you allowed to re-roll fireball/lightning bolt AG checks? (even though a member of your team - wizard - makes an on-pitch roll) Are you allowed to re-roll the Kick-off result? (even though one of your player is doing the Kick). Following this approach I would say no - both players may not re-roll - but that's only an opinion.

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 3:45 pm
by Zombie
I meant the guy trying to escape from the tentacles. It's his turn, can he reroll it?

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 3:59 pm
by Grumbledook
don't see why not

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 4:11 pm
by Grumbledook
though thinking about it your affecting your opponents dice roll so i'm sure

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 4:27 pm
by wesleytj
narkotic wrote:hhhm, I'm not even sure if any player is entitled to re-roll his tentacles roll regardless of whose turn it is?
Why? Because IMHO it's a game mechanic and not a direct skill-check. Its basically a strength-to-strength contest. Do you allowed to re-roll fireball/lightning bolt AG checks? (even though a member of your team - wizard - makes an on-pitch roll) Are you allowed to re-roll the Kick-off result? (even though one of your player is doing the Kick). Following this approach I would say no - both players may not re-roll - but that's only an opinion.
if you use a wizzo during your own turn you can reroll it, however that's dumb because the best thing about the wizzo thing is the turnover potential...give yourself 2 turns in a row basically.

oh actually wizzes aren't supposed to be able to go during opponents turn anymore are they? we house ruled that tho, if the guy has to pay for one every time he uses it, it should damn well be worth it! :)

as for kickoffs, it's not during your turn.

with tentacles, it's almost always used during opponent's turn so unless something weird is going on you can't reroll it just for that reason alone.

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 4:41 pm
by narkotic
So, seeing these remarks, you all think, tentacles can be re-rolled, but only by the player whose team-turn it is... Doesn't this sound strange to you? :o

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 5:08 pm
by Zombie
In the current rules, only things that are part of player actions can be rerolled. That excludes wizards and apothecaries (they were included before).

Since nobody is understanding my question, let me rephrase. With the old tentacles, in order to escape, you had to roll under your strength. It's obvious that such a thing could be rerolled. With the new version, both players roll and add their strength. So when trying to escape tentacles, which is it?

1) You can't reroll because both you and your opponent have rolled a die.
2) You can reroll your die and the opponent must keep what he first rolled.
3) You can reroll your die and it forces the opponent to reroll his as well.

Right now, i'm leaning between options 1 and 2.

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 5:15 pm
by narkotic
Actually I understood your question :wink:

As I said earlier, I opt for choice 1)

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 7:29 pm
by Mestari
Zombie wrote: 1) You can't reroll because both you and your opponent have rolled a die.
2) You can reroll your die and the opponent must keep what he first rolled.
3) You can reroll your die and it forces the opponent to reroll his as well.
I'm eager to see what's the BBRC standpoint. My kneejerk reactions would rule for #2, but I'll have to think about it.

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 8:19 pm
by Balrog
I would say that the player moving away from the Tentacles can use a reroll to reroll his die alone. The Tentacle player cannot use a team reroll (because it's not his team's turn), but he could use Pro to reroll his own die.

Same thing goes for Pass Block, you can't use a TRR to reroll a failed dodge during a Pass Block move, but you can use Pro or the Dodge skill.

-Balrog

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 10:51 pm
by Cervidal
I don't know the answer to this, but the same question would apply to Shadowing, which works the same way as Tentacles now.

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2003 4:52 am
by Zombie
It shows how underused those two skills are, if the question has never come up before!

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2003 9:33 am
by Cervidal
Well, that's because it takes several other skills to support either. Stand Firm is usually fairly important, as is Block and a stat upgrade (Strength for Tentacles, MA for Shadowing). Shadowing also usually requires Tackle to be of much use.