Page 1 of 1
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2001 3:53 pm
by Prowler
If i fail to use Pro(I roll 1,2 or 3) may i use a team re-roll so re roll the original dice roll (not the pro roll)
many rolls...

Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2001 4:13 pm
by Deathwing
No. DZ p12.
"On a roll of 1, 2, or 3 the original result stands and may <i>not</i> be re-rolled with a skill or team re-roll."
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2001 4:32 pm
by Prowler
Thanks
Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2001 11:35 am
by Deathwing
No prob. Anyway, should you be posting that question on the <i>Skills</i> Questions forum? Pro is a <i>trait</i>!
<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Deathwing on 2001-07-01 12:36 ]</font>
Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2001 11:44 pm
by Deathwing
Just for the record, that last post was made before the name changed, OK?

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2001 6:11 am
by Prowler
On 2001-07-02 00:44, Deathwing wrote:
Just for the record, that last post was made before the name changed, OK?
Yeah yeah, we belive you...
_________________
"This is the play for today..."
<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Prowler on 2001-07-02 07:12 ]</font>
Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 5:10 pm
by Piepgrass
If you are very desperate you can use a team reroll to reroll the result of the Pro skill.
Not the brighest of things to do, but i once found out that i should have used the normal reroll the hard way. Fortunately the reroll on the pro paid off.
Regards
Piepgrass
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 6:47 pm
by SixFootDwarf
Actually Piep I dunno if that's allowed....using a re-roll to re-roll a pro roll. I'm not positive, mind you, but it would make sense.
There's a few things like that in our league that you just can't re-roll:
1. pro rolls-trying to re-roll a roll that'll give you a re-roll...ugh. A tad beardy
2. apothecary rolls-the doc only gets one shot
3. Safe Throw rolls-if you could re-roll it, there would never be an interception.
4. you can't use Pro to re-roll stupidity or bone-head.
The Bible (aka the rulebook) says re-rolls can be used to re-roll an action carried out by a player. I dunno if using a skill technically counts as an "action". Maybe Chet'll know.
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:39 pm
by longfang
SixFootDwarf wrote:The Bible (aka the rulebook) says re-rolls can be used to re-roll an action carried out by a player. I dunno if using a skill technically counts as an "action". Maybe Chet'll know.
Top marks to 6FD.....A++
Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2002 1:21 pm
by Acerak
There are a couple different ideas behind "action," just as there are a couple different ideas behind the concept of "level" in D&D. Yes, you can use Pro to re-roll any one die roll made by your player except an armor or injury roll. I'll see about getting this cleared up in the future.
Oh - if you want Safe Throw to be a bit less certain, make it a 4+ roll instead of a 2+ roll. That still gives it bite, but means that even with a re-roll it's got a decent chance to fail. (And you won't always have a re-roll available.)
Cheers!
-Chet
Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 7:01 am
by Thadrin
Just as a matter of interest, would anyone else support this:
Pro may not be taken by a player with fewer than 31 SPPs.
(3rd SP roll).
These guys are meant to be fairly rare. The skill is meant to represent veteran cunning after all.
Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 8:09 am
by DoubleSkulls
I don't think its necessary to limit Pro to 31 Spps. Now it can't be used to reroll armour/injury I haven't seen it taken to much. I suspect Big Guys may want it, but otherwise there are generally more useful 1st & 2nd skills.
Unless your league is seeing pro frequently taken as a 1st skill I can't really see what the problem is.
Ian
Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 8:52 am
by Thadrin
its the next skill on the list for my Slayers: rerolling those failed Dauntless rolls could be crucial.
Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 12:29 pm
by GalakStarscraper
Hey Chet ... clarification is needed on this one.
I was sure I had read somewhere that current thought was that you COULD use a team re-roll to reroll a failed Pro roll (ie the 4+ roll). Now if you were willing to do this in the first place you should have burnt the reroll on the original roll ... understood. But I swear I remember reading that nothing prevents you from re-rolling Pro ... if not like to add an more official verdict to my mental notebook.
Galak
Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:52 pm
by SixFootDwarf
Exactly, Thad. Pro on the Slayers comes SO in handy. Both of my MB, Piling On, Tackling Slayers have Pro too...just for the "what-ifs". If you get 2 straight push backs but don't wanna burn a re-roll on something so trivial, Pro it. If you fail, no sweat. If not, it's Hammer Time!!

I generally only Dauntless a guy if I have the assist(s) to make it a 2 dice block afterwards. So if I fail the Dauntless it's still only a 1 dice hit instead of 2 his choice.