Page 1 of 2
question about "Always Hungry"
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:47 am
by lyannou
Hello,
i'am french and i have some problem to well understand the "always hungry" racial characteristic.
What happens if a player is eaten? Is he dead? Is it a turn over?
It's also written that if a player squirms free into q square occupied then the original occupant is pushed back and knocked over. Do i have to make an armour and injury roll for the original occupiant? Is he pushed like a block action or is he pushed randomly?
Thanks.
Yann
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 10:23 am
by Asmodan
lyannou wrote:
What happens if a player is eaten? Is he dead? Is it a turn over?
It is stated in the racial characteristic description that this laeds to fatal results, or in other words, he is DEAD.
It is also stated that the team does not suffer a turnover unless the player was carrying the ball.
See page 26 in the LRB for this.
Do i have to make an armour and injury roll for the original occupiant? Is he pushed like a block action or is he pushed randomly?
Yes you must roll an armour roll for both your player that squirmed free and for the player that got hit.
But you choose which square the original occupiant is pushed to (any free square next to him).
Asmodan
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 10:29 am
by lyannou
thank you.
Could i use apo to save the eaten player? If yes, what i have to do with this player: reserve, on the pitch where he was before eaten by the TTM player...?
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 10:33 am
by Asmodan
Good question that i never really thought about, but considering since he is eaten, he is in the stomach of the BIG GUY, i would think you can´t use your APO on him.
(could someone confirm this?)
Asmodan
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 10:58 am
by narkotic
I think this was asked some time earlier and the answer was yes.
It does not make any differecne if you die due to a block, failed dodge/GFI, running chainsaw or being rolled over by a deathroller.
An apothecary has many ways of helping the dead

(in case of the always hungry guy, just think he's making the eater vomit/puke out his victim etc.)
You place the player afterwards into the reserve box, like any other player who has been successfully cured of any damage by the help of the apothecary.
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 11:20 am
by Asmodan
Narkotic wrote:
You place the player afterwards into the reserve box, like any other player who has been successfully cured of any damage by the help of the apothecary.
When does you place a player in the reserve box after you healed him with the APO?
The LRB states that you leave him on the field with his face up after you healed him.
The second is that the APO can cure any injury, but this is not an injury as he is just automatically killed and never rolls for injury.
Asmodan
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 11:44 am
by narkotic
Asmodan wrote:Narkotic wrote:
You place the player afterwards into the reserve box, like any other player who has been successfully cured of any damage by the help of the apothecary.
When does you place a player in the reserve box after you healed him with the APO?
The LRB states that you leave him on the field with his face up after you healed him.
The second is that the APO can cure any injury, but this is not an injury as he is just automatically killed and never rolls for injury.
Asmodan
On the first one you're right, my fault, you leave him face up on the pitch. LRB p. 28.
Your second point is false IMHO, on p. 28 it says "the apothecary can attempt to cure any one injury (including death) that has been suffered". It does not say any one result from the injury table and furthermore why death from getting eaten should be different from death suffered by a chainsaw?
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 11:51 am
by Asmodan
My point is that normally when you can use the APO the player that gets injured is on the pitch in one of the squares, while here he is eaten, does not roll any injury roll, and is no longer on the pitch (but inside the troll/mino).
I could take wrong but since you can´t use the APO on crowd injuries i can´t see why you should be able to cure an eaten gobbo.
Asmodan
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 12:01 pm
by narkotic
There is just on-pitch and off-pitch. There is nothing like "on-pitch on square" and "on-pitch not on square" division. Crowd injuries are off-pitch and its clearly stated that you can't use the apo on them.
Eaten by a player is definitely on-pitch and it does not say that you can't use an apo. The fact that you have to roll for Always hungry and then squirm free instead AV and then Injury does not change this.
Whats wrong with the definition: "you can attempt to cure any injury/death your team suffers" and " you cannot attempt to heal any injury caused by the crowd after a player is pushed into them" both on p. 28. It says everything.
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 12:17 pm
by Asmodan
You have not convinced me as i think it sounds stupid to use the APO on a player inside the stomach of another (but so does some of the other rules).
If you could use it then what, you roll a scatter dice to see where he lands and then an armour roll?
That also sounds stupid.
Anyway i don´t see us getting anywhere with this discussion without anybody else saying their opinion so i will wait and see what others say.
Anybody??????
Asmodan
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 12:22 pm
by narkotic
Asmodan wrote:You have not convinced me as i think it sounds stupid to use the APO on a player inside the stomach of another (but so does some of the other rules).
If you could use it then what, you roll a scatter dice to see where he lands and then an armour roll?
That also sounds stupid.
No, you just place him in the square where he started from before he was seized before TTM (face up and without AV roll)
Asmodan wrote:Anyway i don´t see us getting anywhere with this discussion without anybody else saying their opinion so i will wait and see what others say.
You're right on this

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 4:13 pm
by Skummy
I had always assumed you could not use an apothecary on a goblin who had been eaten.
I'm still waiting to hear what happens to the troll who eats a gobbo with a running chainsaw, though...
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 4:28 pm
by Grumbledook
you can't throw players with secret weapons so its never going to happen
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 4:34 pm
by Skummy
You can't throw them? Nobbla Blackwort has always had Right Stuff...
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 5:00 pm
by Grumbledook
Just checked the rulebook and i was thinking of stunty
