Page 1 of 1

Can you pass and hand off in the same turn

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2003 7:58 pm
by littlemute
I know the answer from years of play, but there's this little line that some players I know have been clinging to in defense of not being able to do both in one turn in the rule book. It says "A hand off is a type of very short pass" prompting them to say it's a pass and takes up your pass action for the turn.

I need arguements against this misinterpretation.

Thanks.

lm

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2003 8:13 pm
by Milo
You may make 1 Pass action AND 1 Handoff action per turn.

If you need backup for this beyond the ruling of a BBRC member, use this:

"Handing off the ball is an action, like Move, Blitz, Pass,
etc. You may only declare one hand-off action per turn."

It specifically mentions a "Hand-Off" action and states that you may only make one Hand-Off action per turn. On page 8, it clearly defines the "Pass" action and states that you can only make one Pass Action per turn. Nowhere in either set of rules does it state that the Hand-Off action counts as a Pass action, or vice versa. They are two separate actions.

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2003 8:39 pm
by ZanzerTem
Do you get SPP's for an accurate handoff? NOOOOOO......

Do you roll to see it a handoff is accurate or not? NOOOOOO.......

Can you fumble a handoff? NOOOOOO.......

Do you use the range ruler for a handoff? NOOOOO.......

Under passing, you have to measure the distance, then roll to see if the pass is accurate. You don't do that, therefore it's not a pass action. If it was, they would just say, "If the reciever of the pass is adjacent to the passer, do not roll to see if the pass is accurate. Consider the pass automatically accurate and continue as normal."

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2003 8:51 pm
by littlemute
Oh yeah! That works! Thanks.

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2003 9:49 pm
by narkotic
Here is another post that addressed the same question, and pages full of discussion...

viewtopic.php?t=4002

Please, check the board via the search function first before posting "basic" questions. Most of them have been answered / discussed more than once.

No offense meant, I did the same mistake myself before :wink: