Page 1 of 1
Doubting my own judgement, help please
Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2003 9:33 am
by Lycos
ok, I'm reasonably new to this game and been playing with a friend having downloaded the LRBv2. A few rules have come up but a quick check on this site has usually sorted it.
However, last evening another friend played his first game with us and his reading of this rule was totally different!!
When leaving/moving into a tackle zone, I have always read it that you have to roll for EVERY square you move to thats in a TZ. So if my human catcher goes down the "wing" he passes an orky lineman, I throw 3 times to keep moving.... thats how we have read it.
But my mates interpretation was that he throws once per the whole move and when we had a quick read of the rules, I couldnt find a definative answer to counter his point?
Maybe an experienced Pro out there could just clear that one up?

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2003 9:52 am
by Valen
You have too make a dodge role every time you leave a tackle zone!
xx3
xx2
xO1
xxC
Therefore if the Catcher (C) moves from his square down the wing to square 1 then 2 then 3 past the Orc (O) then he makes three dodge rolls!
The first two with a -1 for the tackle zone you are dodging into!
I hope this clears it up for you!
Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2003 10:05 am
by The 7th Duke
Well, I'm no Pro - just been playing awhile...
Check out the example from the LRB (sorry, I've only got a copy of 1.3 on my computer), but here's the gist of it:
"SLOW MOTION REPLAY
Jim: There goes Dieter Blunt, of the Reikland Reavers and it
looks to me, Jim, like he’s going to try to move through the
tackle zones of two Orcland Raiders players! First he tries to
move to square 1. Dieter has an Agility of 3, which means
that he needs to roll a basic 4 or more to dodge successfully
out of the square. He gets a +1 to the roll for making a dodge,
but has to subtract -2 because there are two Orc tackle zones
on the square he is moving to, for a final modifier of -1. Dieter
makes the move – the crowd holds its breath – and the dice
roll is a 5, which means that Dieter successfully dodges into
the square!
Bob: Too right! Dieter moves to square 1 and decides to keep
on going to square 2. Dieter must still make a Dodge roll,
though there aren’t any tackle zones on square 2, because
he is leaving the tackle zones on square 1. There are no
tackle zones on square 2, which means that Dieter gets a +1
modifier to his dice roll. OH NO! Dieter rolls a 1 and comes
crashing down. Now he’s lying prone in square 2, and what’s
more that counts as a Reavers turnover, so it’s the Orcland
Raiders to move next!!"
You can see that they make a dodge roll for each square dodged to. And that's how we've interpreted the rules as well...
Hope that helps

Thanks guys
Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2003 10:11 am
by Lycos
Good, I thought we had it right - you know how it is- someone puts a really persausive arguement and you start to think, well maybe I mis read it.
Thanks for that.
Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2003 10:23 am
by The 7th Duke
You're welcome Lycos...
Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2003 10:58 am
by DoubleSkulls
Remember that players effectively have 8 TZ's not one.
Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2003 9:56 am
by D'Arquebus
To give your other coach a another rules based response go to page 9 of the LRB version 2.0. Directly below the picture of the "tackle zone map". Those three paragraphs spell it out pretty clearly.