Page 1 of 1

Some questions

Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2003 5:24 pm
by Pushag
Me and my friends just started a league (LivungRulebook 2). We have some discussions in the league regarding some rules, hopefully someone can help me with these questions.

1. Handoff.
Does a handoff count as a pass? Or can I make a handoff to a player and then run away and make an ordinary pass to another player in my team?

2. Dodge
Can I use the dodgeskill-reroll everywhere? Or must I dodge out from a tacklezone? Can I use it if im dodgeing past him, entering another square of his tacklezone? Or must the square the im dodging to be entirely free from tacklezones to be able to use it?

3. Reroll judge
Can I reroll the judgeroll? In other words; if im ending up with a diceroll of 1 after i have fouled a player can I use a reroll to maybe get another result?

4. Missed pass
If a pass to a player misses, does the ball "stay in the air" during the 3 "scatter" dicerolls and lands after that to finally make one more scatter on the ground?

Re: Some questions

Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2003 5:56 pm
by Skummy
Pushag wrote:1. Handoff.
Does a handoff count as a pass? Or can I make a handoff to a player and then run away and make an ordinary pass to another player in my team?
No, a handoff is a distinctly different action from the pass. You can do both in a turn, but remember you have to delare your action before moving.
Pushag wrote:2. Dodge
Can I use the dodgeskill-reroll everywhere? Or must I dodge out from a tacklezone? Can I use it if im dodgeing past him, entering another square of his tacklezone? Or must the square the im dodging to be entirely free from tacklezones to be able to use it?
You can use the dodge skill to reroll any one dodge a turn, and it can be used if you're dodging into no tackle zones, or into ten. The only limitations on dodge are that it can be used once a turn, and can't be used when dodging away from a tackle player. It can be used when dodging into a tackle player's tackle zone, though.
Pushag wrote:3. Reroll judge
Can I reroll the judgeroll? In other words; if im ending up with a diceroll of 1 after i have fouled a player can I use a reroll to maybe get another result?
No, a reroll can only be used to retry a player's action taken on the field. Your wizard, coach, and apothecary aren't players, so they can't reroll their actions. You also can't reroll the deviation of the ball or a scatter, since these are not a player's action either.
Pushag wrote:4. Missed pass
If a pass to a player misses, does the ball "stay in the air" during the 3 "scatter" dicerolls and lands after that to finally make one more scatter on the ground?
The ball isn't really in any one place during the scatter dice rolls on an inaccurate pass. The players it passes over can't try to intercept or catch the ball, and it only comes in play on the final scatter, when a catch attempt can be made for a player who's under it. If nobody is there, then the ball bounces once, and anyone it bouces to can try to catch it as well.

Re: Some questions

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2003 9:38 am
by DoubleSkulls
Skummy got it all right - but I'll clarify the answer.
Pushag wrote:1. Handoff.
Does a handoff count as a pass? Or can I make a handoff to a player and then run away and make an ordinary pass to another player in my team?
Handoffs are separate actions to passes. You can make both in one turn. So your example is correct.
Pushag wrote:2. Dodge
Can I use the dodgeskill-reroll everywhere? Or must I dodge out from a tacklezone? Can I use it if im dodgeing past him, entering another square of his tacklezone? Or must the square the im dodging to be entirely free from tacklezones to be able to use it?
Every player has 8 Tacklezones (one in each square). So you must roll to dodge moving out of any tacklezone (tacklezones on the square you are moving to carry a penalty on the dodge roll). Dodge skill can be used once to reroll a failed dodge.
Pushag wrote:3. Reroll judge
Can I reroll the judgeroll? In other words; if im ending up with a diceroll of 1 after i have fouled a player can I use a reroll to maybe get another result?
No. You can only reroll "player" dice rolls and that's a coach roll.
Pushag wrote:4. Missed pass
If a pass to a player misses, does the ball "stay in the air" during the 3 "scatter" dicerolls and lands after that to finally make one more scatter on the ground?
That's right. If the 3 scatters end up in a square occupied by a player then he gets a catch attempt.

Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 3:51 am
by 'Ed Basha'
basically the 3 scatter rolls are to represent the ball veering off course and landing somewhere....so yes they are in the air...then it lands...if that square is empty, it will bounce once