Page 1 of 1

Turnover?

Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 2:29 pm
by Pushag
Just wondering about a situation regarding turnover.

If it is Player A:s turn and he blocks an opponent that holds the ball, the player in the other team falls and drops the ball. The ball bounces to one of A:s players who MUST try to pick up the ball (right?). If A:s player fails to pick up the ball and the ball scatters to an unoccupied area is it then turnover? or can player A continue his turn?

The rules says that it is turnover when a player fails to pick up the ball, but is the situation above an exception?

Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 2:34 pm
by neverdodge
No, it is not a turnover, as in this situtation, there isn t a pick up . It s a catch.

You only suffer a turnover if the ball is lying on the ground still, and one of your player try to pick it up.

Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 2:35 pm
by martynq
The ball bouncing to one of your own players is not a pickup roll but is instead a catch roll. (You catch a bouncing ball, not pick it up!) This is not a turnover if you fail to catch it since the only relevant turnovers are:

(1) failing to pickup the ball
(2) failing to have a pass you have made be caught at the end.

Neither apply for catching a bouncing ball in the situation you describe.

Hope that helps!

Martyn