Throw Team Mate clarification

Don't understand a particular rule or just need to clarify something? This is the forum for you. With 2 of the BBRC members and the main LRB5/6 writer present at TFF, you're bound to get as good an answer as possible.

Moderator: TFF Mods

McDeth
Legend
Legend
Posts: 3016
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Worcester, England
Contact:

Post by McDeth »

Could someone please go through what the official rules for TTM. Right from the Big Guy picking the player up down to the stunty fellow landing.

What i need clarification on, is what actions require a dice roll ( IE Big Guy picking up stunty ). and also what failed actions cause a turnover ( IE Stunty fellow falling over without/with ball ). It seems that there has been some confusion in these areas, and i would be greatful for some sort of Official ruling on this

Reason: ''
Acerak
Rulz Guru
Posts: 801
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Amherst, NY
Contact:

Post by Acerak »

Here's the sequence:

1. Big Guy declares his Pass action.
2. Handle any racial characteristics related to moving the player.
3. If the Big Guy is not adjacent to the team-mate he is about to throw, move him there, handling any necessary dice rolls (dodge, GFI, etc.) as normal.
4. Measure distance from Big Guy to target square, using the range ruler.
5. If necessary, make Always Hungry rolls. If the player gets eaten, forget any of the remaining steps :smile:
6. Make Pass roll.
7. If the pass is a fumble, drop the player in his square and follow the directions in the DZ Playbook. If the pass is inaccurate, roll 3d8 for scatter and make a landing roll at +0. If the pass is accurate, make a landing roll at +1. (All landing rolls are subject to -1 for each enemy TZ on the square in which the player attempts to land.)

I think that's about it! This stuff is contained right in the rulebooks. And you suffer a turnover only if the player was holding the ball and falls (or gets devoured, I would add).

Hope this helps!

-Chet

Reason: ''
plasmoid
Legend
Legend
Posts: 5334
Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 8:55 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Landing face first.

Post by plasmoid »

As Acerak stated, failing your landing roll is not a turnover - unless you were holding the ball.

However, what about a fumbled pass or a pass where the gobbo scatters into another player.
IMO, in these cases you don't get a landing roll (not even an "automatically failed" one).
You just get knoced over.

That constitutes a turnover - right?
Martin

Reason: ''
Dangerous Dave
Super Star
Super Star
Posts: 1042
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Surrey

Post by Dangerous Dave »

One other question on this:-

Is it a turnover if a player (not holding the ball) is:-


a) Eaten

b) Avoids being eaten and squirms away (but is not thrown)


Finally, I'd like to claim the prize for the shortest Blood Bowl career:-


My Orc team were receiving and I had 1 turn left in the half so my Goblin makes his debut (first time on the pitch) and stands next to the Troll eagerly awaiting to be lobbed downfield (to hopefully receive a hand off). The Troll obviously had not been reading the script and decided that he needed his lunch.... so he picked him up and ate him. The Goblin never moved, nor performed an action in his career..... and my Troll doesn't even get a casualty! :(



Dave

As a footnote to this, the Orc team have hired a new Goblin.... called Tasty Morsel...... the Troll is feeling hungry again! :lol:

Reason: ''
User avatar
DaImp
Super Star
Super Star
Posts: 902
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Post by DaImp »

An odd question cropped up about this issue a few weeks ago.
One of the coaches in my league was wondering if it is legal for you to throw the Goblin/ Halfling at an opposition player. I couldn't realy give an official ruling, but I thought it should be possible, but would result in an automatic turn-over. Any thoughts?

Reason: ''
Jonathan Merry
Da Leeg Commissioner, Shaka Shield and SA Open Organiser
Image
User avatar
GalakStarscraper
Godfather of Blood Bowl
Posts: 15882
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Indiana, USA
Contact:

Post by GalakStarscraper »

Any thoughts?

Yup, page 24 of the Blood Bowl handbook:
"In addition, the team-mate must be thrown to an empty square"

Galak

Reason: ''
User avatar
DaImp
Super Star
Super Star
Posts: 902
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Post by DaImp »

lol
I knew I should have read the book before posting :oops:

Reason: ''
Jonathan Merry
Da Leeg Commissioner, Shaka Shield and SA Open Organiser
Image
Acerak
Rulz Guru
Posts: 801
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Amherst, NY
Contact:

Post by Acerak »

Whether the player is eaten, or squirms away, or is fumbled, it's not a turnover unless he's holding the ball.

-C.

Reason: ''
User avatar
Longshot
Da Capt'ain
Posts: 3279
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2001 12:00 am
Location: elsewhere
Contact:

Post by Longshot »

if he is eaten, that does not make a turnover????

Reason: ''
Lightning' bugs for the win

http://teamfrancebb.positifforum.com/
plasmoid
Legend
Legend
Posts: 5334
Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 8:55 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

What?

Post by plasmoid »

Hi Acerak,
the rules just say that failing a landing roll is not a TO.
Fumbled or colliding players don't get a landing roll.

So are you stating opnion or ruling?

Anyway, another TTM classic:
Does ending up eating turf when thrown interfere with the players ability to take an action?
It doesn't look like it to me, but it's interesting. :)

Reason: ''
Acerak
Rulz Guru
Posts: 801
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Amherst, NY
Contact:

Post by Acerak »

Hi Acerak,
the rules just say that failing a landing roll is not a TO.
Fumbled or colliding players don't get a landing roll.

So are you stating opnion or ruling?


I'm solidly of the opinion that it's not a turnover. Mind you, the Always Hungry trait says nothing about a turnover; that certainly clouds the issue!

We'll look to clean this up in October, but I think the spirit of the TTM rules dictate "no turnover without the ball."

-Chet

Reason: ''
User avatar
Lucien Swift
Super Star
Super Star
Posts: 1047
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Lustria
Contact:

Post by Lucien Swift »

ok....

...so what do we do until october then? just politely not throw goblins....

gimmie a rule 'till then!

Reason: ''
Acerak
Rulz Guru
Posts: 801
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Amherst, NY
Contact:

Post by Acerak »

I just did :)

But check with your commissioner. That's why you have him!

He's also good for answering questions like this:

"What happens to the ball if the ball-carrier is sent off for a foul?"

Cheers! :)

-Chet

Reason: ''
User avatar
Lucien Swift
Super Star
Super Star
Posts: 1047
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Lustria
Contact:

Post by Lucien Swift »

eh... you said it was your opinion, what i suppose i need to know, then, is if that is officially the same as a clarification... i mean, sure, you're a member of the school board and all, but are you ready to take on the burden of having us take your musings as writ?

i was just trying to separate chet from the wizard of oz :P

Reason: ''
Acerak
Rulz Guru
Posts: 801
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Amherst, NY
Contact:

Post by Acerak »

eh... you said it was your opinion, what i suppose i need to know, then, is if that is officially the same as a clarification... i mean, sure, you're a member of the school board and all, but are you ready to take on the burden of having us take your musings as writ?

No, I'm not. And that's my point. If the rules don't give you a clear answer - and in this case, you can easily argue that they don't - then you're out of "official" luck until October. You're not getting anything more than my opinion, or the opinion of any other coach.

You wanted something you could use in the meantime. I gave you something you can use. The Rules Review process is annual, not bimonthly :)

-Chet

Reason: ''
Post Reply