The rule "must declare action before moving"

For Fantasy Football related chat that doesn't come under any of other forum categories.

Moderator: TFF Mods

Do you use the rule: "must declare action before moving" in your league?

Yes
61
82%
No
12
16%
Didn't know that there was such a rule
1
1%
 
Total votes: 74

Ithilkir
Legend
Legend
Posts: 2546
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2002 10:04 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
Contact:

Post by Ithilkir »

Well to make myself more clear, it was more an example of how we played :) We always 'spoke' the action the players were doing :)

"Right... Lord Eaon blitzes.. Dodges on a 3+ *rolls and taps player along the board marking the route* and hopefully smacks your throw. Two blocking dice *rolls and groans* Ok.. re-roll. *rolls again* Bah.. pushback.. Ok, doesn't follow up and goes to pickup the ball on a 3+ *rolls and swears, rolling scatter dice and moving the ball* Right turn over, you."

Reason: ''
Cheers,
Stephen :: LRB 5.0 Background Editor
Blood Bowl 2005 & 2006 :: Winner of Most Casualties
The Lore of Nuffle :: The webs biggest BB flavour archive!
User avatar
Darkson
Da Spammer
Posts: 24047
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 9:04 pm
Location: The frozen ruins of Felstad
Contact:

Post by Darkson »

Here's how my high Elves did it in a recent game.

"Alendir to Blitz ball carrier, Dodges on 2+, rolls, right TRR, rolls, right, your turn." :lol:

ALL BLOODY GAME

And it seems my luck with HE has followed me into the LRB challenge league as well. Gave up 2 2nd half TD's cause my lineelves fluffed a 2+ pick up in turn 5, and a 2+ pass in turn 6 :pissed:

Reason: ''
Currently an ex-Blood Bowl coach, most likely to be found dying to Armoured Skeletons in the frozen ruins of Felstad, or bleeding into the arena sands of Rome or burning rubber for Mars' entertainment.
User avatar
Darkson
Da Spammer
Posts: 24047
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 9:04 pm
Location: The frozen ruins of Felstad
Contact:

Post by Darkson »

Ithilkir wrote:Well obviously, once you declared the actual pass and measured with the range ruler, you had to throw.. Or attempt to.
Actually, I'm not sure you have to pass even if you have measured, I know we didn't.

Reason: ''
Currently an ex-Blood Bowl coach, most likely to be found dying to Armoured Skeletons in the frozen ruins of Felstad, or bleeding into the arena sands of Rome or burning rubber for Mars' entertainment.
Ithilkir
Legend
Legend
Posts: 2546
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2002 10:04 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
Contact:

Post by Ithilkir »

Darkson wrote:
Ithilkir wrote:Well obviously, once you declared the actual pass and measured with the range ruler, you had to throw.. Or attempt to.
Actually, I'm not sure you have to pass even if you have measured, I know we didn't.
Oh that was just a house rule :) I should have been more specific

Reason: ''
Cheers,
Stephen :: LRB 5.0 Background Editor
Blood Bowl 2005 & 2006 :: Winner of Most Casualties
The Lore of Nuffle :: The webs biggest BB flavour archive!
Gorblitz!!
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:49 pm
Location: Augusta, GA

Throwing the ball

Post by Gorblitz!! »

Well obviously, once you declared the actual pass and measured with the range ruler, you had to throw.. Or attempt to.
The rulebook states that it is perfectly acceptable to measure the range to any player you wish to throw to.

Reason: ''
Jordell: Dodge to here on anything but a ...........DAMN IT!!
User avatar
Dave
Info Ed
Posts: 8090
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2002 8:19 am
Location: Riding my Cannondale

Post by Dave »

I got that same problem with my Wood Elves

They must be the best team in the world but with how I manage all those '1es' . . . . . . . .

Reason: ''
Image
User avatar
DaImp
Super Star
Super Star
Posts: 902
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Post by DaImp »

We have never used this rule in our league, although I have got into the habit of calling my actions before hand purely to keep inline with the official rules. I personaly don't like the rule, although I can appreciate the validity of it. But for me it breaks up the natural flow of a game where you have the opportunity to take advantage of unforseen occurences in your turn.

Reason: ''
Jonathan Merry
Da Leeg Commissioner, Shaka Shield and SA Open Organiser
Image
Marcus
Da Tulip Champ I
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Australian in London
Contact:

Post by Marcus »

Yep, gotta declare actions.

ECBBL house rules that, you have until dice have been rolled (and hindsight has been gained) to declare your action. Just smooths things out a bit. That means that you can start moving a player, go for a pickup and say "oh, pass action" before you roll the pickup. If you roll the pickup roll and then decide it's a pass then you're screwed, it's just move action.

The idea here being that no-one's gained any advantage until dice have been rolled so it's still all fair and keeps the game friendly. Once you've rolled the dice (and seen whether or not you have a free TRR) you get the benefit of hindsight so you're locked into the action.

Reason: ''
Marcus - [url=http://www.talkbloodbowl.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=42448#42448]Hall of Famer[/url] - [url=http://www.irwilliams.com/ecbbl/index.php]Edinboro Castle Blood Bowl League[/url]
Deathwing
The Voice of Reason
Posts: 6449
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
Contact:

Post by Deathwing »

The ECBBL method fills all the criteria and complies with the intent of the rule perfectly. Nobody here will pull you up on a Blitz or a Pass because you haven't declared it unless you've rolled dice.
And Gorblitz...you're just plain wrong, simple as that.

Reason: ''
Image

"Deathwing treats newcomers like sh*t"
"...the brain dead Mod.."
Gorblitz!!
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:49 pm
Location: Augusta, GA

wrong? I guess we just use different rulebooks.

Post by Gorblitz!! »

The living rulebook: It is perfectly acceptable to pre-measure the range to several players before you declare who you will throw the ball to.
I know rules get a little fuzzy sometimes but this seems fairly straight forward to me. But maybe Im still just plain wrong. :zzz:

http://www.games-workshop.com/Warhammer ... ook1.3.pdf

Page 13 involves rules for throwing the ball.

Reason: ''
Jordell: Dodge to here on anything but a ...........DAMN IT!!
Deathwing
The Voice of Reason
Posts: 6449
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: wrong? I guess we just use different rulebooks.

Post by Deathwing »

Ah, my mistake, I should have been specific, sorry! :oops:
I was actually referring to this post:
Gorblitz!! wrote:The living rulebook says that once per turn a player may blitz, not once per turn a player may declare a blitz.

An Ogre that fails a BH roll no longer causes a turnover so if you have an ogre, declare a blitz and bust yur BH roll then you move to the next player and declare another.

Reason: ''
Image

"Deathwing treats newcomers like sh*t"
"...the brain dead Mod.."
Gorblitz!!
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:49 pm
Location: Augusta, GA

Its all good, heres my take on the other topic.

Post by Gorblitz!! »

I just dont see in the LRB where it says that you are only allowed to declare one blitz action per turn.

Its says "Once per team turn a player on the moving team is allowed to make a special blitz move." If an Ogre declares a blitz and then blows his BH roll then that means no player from the moving team has made a blitz move. Another player from the moving team would then be able to make a blitz move because no blitz move had occured during their turn.

[/quote]

Reason: ''
Jordell: Dodge to here on anything but a ...........DAMN IT!!
User avatar
Grumbledook
Boy Band Member
Posts: 10713
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:53 pm
Location: London Town

Post by Grumbledook »

The ogre used the blitz up, just because he didn't move and throw a block doesn't mean he hasn't used the action up.

Same with throwing, you can use a pass action up and still not actually throw the ball.

It might not make the most sense to some people but its a game mechanic more than anything.

Reason: ''
Gorblitz!!
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:49 pm
Location: Augusta, GA

I think this is a bit different then throwing

Post by Gorblitz!! »

If you declare a pass action and you end up not throwing anything it is normally because your player committed a turn ending error (Failure to PU the ball, Falling after a failed dodge, Fumble the pass). Blowing a BH roll doesnt cause a turn over anymore so I think they need to clarify the "declare" rule. If a BH player declares a pass action and then goes dumb I dont think your pass action is used up either.

Declare vs Carrying out. Im just more generous than other folks I suppose.

Reason: ''
Jordell: Dodge to here on anything but a ...........DAMN IT!!
Deathwing
The Voice of Reason
Posts: 6449
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: Its all good, heres my take on the other topic.

Post by Deathwing »

Gorblitz!! wrote:I just dont see in the LRB where it says that you are only allowed to declare one blitz action per turn.
But not everything needs spelling out. It doesn't say that you can't move your opponents pieces around while he's not looking either!
If you could declare as many Blitz actions as you wanted per turn there'd be no point in declaring them at all!!!
Think about it. Why does the 'declaring actions' rule exist?

Reason: ''
Image

"Deathwing treats newcomers like sh*t"
"...the brain dead Mod.."
Post Reply