Multipleblock question

Don't understand a particular rule or just need to clarify something? This is the forum for you. With 2 of the BBRC members and the main LRB5/6 writer present at TFF, you're bound to get as good an answer as possible.

Moderator: TFF Mods

User avatar
franck_le_grand
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2002 5:09 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Multipleblock question

Post by franck_le_grand »

Ok just two questions I had a disscussion about a couple a days ago:

Can you use MB on both players you knock down, or is this ristricted to only one use?

::AB::
::YX::

PLayer X is multiblocking A and B. Player Y is on the same team as the blocking player. All except X has guard, what happens? (A, B and Y are considered to have ST 3 and X ST 6). Do you get two or one dice for this roll?

I'd say two, but a coach a played against wouldn't be convinced so now I'm not that sure anymore.

Thanks

Le Grand

Reason: ''
sean newboy
Legend
Legend
Posts: 4805
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: West Palm Beach, florida
Contact:

Post by sean newboy »

2 dice. Guard does not help if your one of the guys getting mb'ed. NO u dont get to have +1 strength against a multiblocker, thats whacked!

Reason: ''
Hermit Monk of the RCN
Honourary Member of the NBA!
NAF Member #4329
Vault = putting in a 4 barrel Holley because the spark plugs need gapping.
User avatar
Darkson
Da Spammer
Posts: 24047
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 9:04 pm
Location: The frozen ruins of Felstad
Contact:

Post by Darkson »

I asked this (or a similar) question before. The 2 players you are MuBl are considered one for worling out dice and therefore lose the guard skill. I think I was also told that as AB are being blocked by Y, then X can assist even if he doesn't have guard as neither A or B can negate the assist, but I leave that for someone like Galak to confirm.

Reason: ''
Currently an ex-Blood Bowl coach, most likely to be found dying to Armoured Skeletons in the frozen ruins of Felstad, or bleeding into the arena sands of Rome or burning rubber for Mars' entertainment.
User avatar
GalakStarscraper
Godfather of Blood Bowl
Posts: 15882
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Indiana, USA
Contact:

Re: Multipleblock question

Post by GalakStarscraper »

franck_le_grand wrote:Ok just two questions I had a disscussion about a couple a days ago:

Can you use MB on both players you knock down, or is this ristricted to only one use?

::AB::
::YX::

PLayer X is multiblocking A and B. Player Y is on the same team as the blocking player. All except X has guard, what happens? (A, B and Y are considered to have ST 3 and X ST 6). Do you get two or one dice for this roll?
A and B are treated as one player so the fact that they have Guard doesn't matter. However, a player from your team cannot assist he is in both tackle zones of the players being Multiple Block'd (this clarification will probably be part of the October Review based on what I've been told). So NORMALLY Y could not assist.... however, he has Guard so he can.

So the answer its a two dice block, ST 6+1 assist vs ST 6 ... if Y didn't have Guard though it would have been a 1 dice block.

Galak

Reason: ''
User avatar
GalakStarscraper
Godfather of Blood Bowl
Posts: 15882
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Indiana, USA
Contact:

Post by GalakStarscraper »

I will note however the whole can Y assist or not (if he doesn't have Guard) argument has changed with its answer SOOOO many times in the last 4 years that my answer could be out of date again as I type. This is why it needs clarified so badly in this review.

But last I heard assists didn't count if you were in the TZ of both Multiple Block opponents.

Galak

Reason: ''
User avatar
Darkson
Da Spammer
Posts: 24047
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 9:04 pm
Location: The frozen ruins of Felstad
Contact:

Post by Darkson »

Ooops! :oops:

Reason: ''
Currently an ex-Blood Bowl coach, most likely to be found dying to Armoured Skeletons in the frozen ruins of Felstad, or bleeding into the arena sands of Rome or burning rubber for Mars' entertainment.
User avatar
Darkson
Da Spammer
Posts: 24047
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 9:04 pm
Location: The frozen ruins of Felstad
Contact:

Post by Darkson »

Franck, having re-read your original post, when you say "can you use MB on both players" do you mean Multiple Block or Mihty Blow?

Reason: ''
Currently an ex-Blood Bowl coach, most likely to be found dying to Armoured Skeletons in the frozen ruins of Felstad, or bleeding into the arena sands of Rome or burning rubber for Mars' entertainment.
User avatar
GalakStarscraper
Godfather of Blood Bowl
Posts: 15882
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Indiana, USA
Contact:

Post by GalakStarscraper »

Darkson wrote:Ooops! :oops:
Like I said ... flip a coin ... 50% of the time over the last several years you'd have been right, Darkson and you still might be.. :lol:

Galak

Reason: ''
User avatar
Valen
Walking on the beaches...
Posts: 8673
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 1:33 pm
Location: Blackburn, Lancashire

Post by Valen »

Darkson,

If Franck did mean mighty blow, can you use this on both players? :-?
I think yes, you have hit both so why not!

and,

Galak,

Where exactly can you assist a multiple block from then, presuming you don't have guard, is it just like normal rules, therfore the assister just has to be in one of the players being blocked tackle zones?

Reason: ''
Image

I'm coming at you with razor blades and lemon juice... I'm talkin' pain, boy. Searing, mind-numbing pain!!!
User avatar
GalakStarscraper
Godfather of Blood Bowl
Posts: 15882
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Indiana, USA
Contact:

Post by GalakStarscraper »

Valen wrote: Where exactly can you assist a multiple block from then, presuming you don't have guard, is it just like normal rules, therfore the assister just has to be in one of the players being blocked tackle zones?
Correct one of your players against to one player can lend an assist.

Galak

Reason: ''
User avatar
Vitalis
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2002 6:43 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

This can't be right!?!?

Post by Vitalis »

If Franck did mean mighty blow, can you use this on both players?
I think yes, you have hit both so why not!
I've allways :o played that Mighty Blow could only be used on one of the two victims. Given the new working of Mighty Blow this should read: +1 to armour roll on A or B OR +1 to injury roll on A or B.

Please correct me, if I'm way off here :o (Yes: I use glasses :wink:)

Reason: ''
User avatar
Darkson
Da Spammer
Posts: 24047
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 9:04 pm
Location: The frozen ruins of Felstad
Contact:

Post by Darkson »

So is the following correct (ignoring guard skill)

--XY-
--1B2

B is multi-blocking X and Y. 1 cannot assist as he is in X and/or Y TZ. 2 can assist as he is only in Y's TZ.

Reason: ''
Currently an ex-Blood Bowl coach, most likely to be found dying to Armoured Skeletons in the frozen ruins of Felstad, or bleeding into the arena sands of Rome or burning rubber for Mars' entertainment.
User avatar
GalakStarscraper
Godfather of Blood Bowl
Posts: 15882
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Indiana, USA
Contact:

Post by GalakStarscraper »

Darkson wrote:So is the following correct (ignoring guard skill)

--XY-
--1B2

B is multi-blocking X and Y. 1 cannot assist as he is in X and/or Y TZ. 2 can assist as he is only in Y's TZ.
Based on the last official emailed ruling I had this was correct. Its on the list for the BBRC to official clarify so hopefully this one will get a better answer in a month or two.

Galak

Reason: ''
User avatar
franck_le_grand
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2002 5:09 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Post by franck_le_grand »

ooops! I'm sorry when I wrote MB I meant mighty blow. Stupid one I made there! sorry guys. Thanks for the replys on the other question. Now my freind can see that I was right!

But still about the mighty blow, can you use it once or twice!

I'm on vacation so that's why I'm only writing now.

Le Grand

Reason: ''
nouge
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2002 2:33 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by nouge »

Since skills can only be used once per action, I would say you can use Mighty Blow only once, even on a Multiple Block.

Reason: ''
Post Reply